We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #5 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Chester Arthur House in Logan Circle is conveniently located close to the convention center yet walkable to Georgetown. We were in town for a convention and were very pleased with the location. We had a spacious room with a step down small bathroom. Comfortable bed. Our hosts Eric and Carl were very accommodating and helpful with directions, etc.. Breakfast was good starting each morning with a fresh fruit, french toast or quiche, etc. coffee,
The only negative thing I have to say is overall the house in my opinion needs to be brightened up and appears a bit 'tired' in need of a few interior repairs that probably need to be professionally addressed in order to keep with the lovely character of the house.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

We appreciate so much the compliments. Just want to mention that since this guest stayed, several rooms along with the two front parlors have been “brightened-up” with fresh coats of paint and repairs where needed, all professionally done. Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 260 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

The old home is lovely but if you don't sleep with a bit of noise, ask for the quieter rooms at the back of the house overlooking the garden.
Logan circle is a great spot to stay, lots of food options & activity into the night, a very vibrant area.
Your hosts and breakfast are also great, I just wish those creamy breakfasts really were fat free!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Located in a quiet historic district you aren't far from all the fun things to see and do. Don, the owner is a wealth of info and the hosts Carl and Eric start your day with fabalous breakfasts. It is a short walk to the bus stop or the rail which will take you all over the city or most places are in walking distance. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littletiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Where to begin?

Well, let's start with the innkeeper himself. Don was cordial, welcoming, full of information and a teller of wonderful stories. He made sure we were comfortable and helped us whenever we needed.

The breakfasts were great. The decor was awesome. The comfort level was fantastic. And the house is just so unique. It was so much better than staying in a hotel. It's just such a fantastic place. I can't gush enough about it. The feel of the house is something you CANNOT get anywhere.

Value is amazing

Did I mention how great Don was?

Also, wonderful location. Safe. Accessible to everywhere.

I just got home and couldn't be happier. This is a must-book place. I will be back.

--A.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AC2009_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My coworker and I were attending a conference in DC, so our husbands came along and we decided to book rooms here, since it was so close to the convention center. We were so happy to have stayed here! The house itself was easy to find, and very well-situated: it was close enough to walk to any public transit (we utilized the subway system frequently, but there was a bus stop right outside the front door had we chosen to use it), but it was in a quiet section of neighborhood. Located in a circle, there is a lovely little park in the middle that seemed to be the spot where professionals spent time with their dogs after the workday. The rooms were large and had very high ceilings. There's a tv as well as wi-fi in the rooms. The showers were wonderful, as was the amount of storage for clothing and items. There was even a small fridge in each room (Which was a great surprise!). The owner, Don, very clearly loves the home and is passionate about maintaining it. The gem of the stay was the breakfast each morning. (Be aware, for those who like sleeping in, the breakfast is served at 8, but it's worth getting up for!). Eric and Carl are fantastic chefs and such friendly people, and Don has all sorts of interesting stories of his work in photography, journalism and radio. If you like the B & B experience, you can't ask for better than the Chester Arthur House. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Magnolia room is quiet and shaded by the tree located right outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorduroyArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Wonderful folks , interesting & beautiful home , warm memories ..
We will return for another stay .

Jim

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I came to Washington DC to celebrate my 60th birthday. We stayed at the Chester Arthur House for 2 nights. We had a great time. Don, Eric and Carl were super. It was quite an experience to live in a home built in the 1880's. Don gave us some suggestions on where to eat and what to visit. The place is about a half hour walk to the the major museums. The breakfast was great. I would recommend getting the parking option. Finding parking in DC can be a challenge. It was fun staying in a home built during the 1800's.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredguy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,295 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 142 in Washington DC
1,768 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
677 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Dupont Circle
Swann House
Swann House
#6 of 35 in Washington DC
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $131 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing