We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #5 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I came to Washington DC to celebrate my 60th birthday. We stayed at the Chester Arthur House for 2 nights. We had a great time. Don, Eric and Carl were super. It was quite an experience to live in a home built in the 1880's. Don gave us some suggestions on where to eat and what to visit. The place is about a half hour walk to the the major museums. The breakfast was great. I would recommend getting the parking option. Finding parking in DC can be a challenge. It was fun staying in a home built during the 1800's.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredguy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I visited Washington DC over the Holidays and we stayed a week at the Chester Arthur House. We loved every minute of it. The rooms were great, filled with historic decour. The morning breakfasts were scrumptious and the conversations with the owner, Don, and two gentlemen who work there, Eric and Carl were informative and helpful to navigating the city. My husband and I would most definitely recommond a visit to the Chester Arthur house.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Check in 01/19/2011, eight nights, almost a year ago
We thought the location was pretty good, if one heads towards the Whole Foods area, about 5 -7 short blocks away. The subway is about the same distance, maybe further. We walked to the mall and everywhere else. The building is old: it looked and felt old. but it had its' charm. We stayed upstairs in a large room overlooking the circle, noise was not an issue. It could have been a bit more clean, though I am not saying it was dirty.
Breakfast was an odd situation for us, in that it was served promptly at 8AM, with very little wiggle room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdwood2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Chester A. Arthur House is a grand old Victorian beauty with lovely architecture and some fine antiques. We liked the diverse neighborhood, and we were within walking distance of the stately mansions, museums, and embassies along quiet streets in Kalorama and Georgetown. A long walk along the Potomac to the Kennedy Center for a fascinating tour was a highlight. Our host suggested several restaurants in the direction toward Dupont Circle; also there's a huge Whole Foods market close by. Bus service and taxis from Logan Circle are handy; the Metro is about six blocks away.

As a B&B, some repairs and upgrades are due in the room where we stayed. As an example, the worn bed linens should be replaced; housekeeping could be better. We wanted separate beds, and chose the room with a pull-out bed. The regular bed was quite comfortable; the old pull out was not. Street noise is definitely a factor if you choose a front room. The closed drapes and blinds don't cut it, thus we turned on the air conditioner fan which ameliorated the problem. Breakfast was good, and the camaraderie with the hosts and guests was fun. The winter rate was a bargain. This B&B has amazing Victorian ambience, but the basics could be improved.

Room Tip: The room in the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PennsylvaniaViolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2012

We’re very grateful for the compliments. We are steadily upgrading and restoring, while trying to retain the ambience of a 118-year-old house. We agree some of the linen sets were eligible for replacement when they were here, and we have done that. The pull-out bed is actually not old, is in like-new mechanical condition, and others have remarked on how surprisingly comfortable they found it. But a pull-out will never be as good as one of our regular beds with their thick premium mattresses.

The street noise is normal for a house located in downtown DC. Different people have different tolerance levels for city life. But we have just installed a “white noise machine” in that room for use if desired. For those who request it, we can also supply disposable earplugs. As this guest noted, our rear bedroom (Magnolia Room), which faces off the street, is quieter, as is the front room on the third floor (Highlander Room) because it is further off the street than the original master bedroom these folks stayed in.

We are planning a round of freshening-up throughout the whole house in January, when the traffic slows down a bit: some repainting and a bunch of small maintenance jobs. The house should be sparkling (in a Victorian way, of course) for the spring rush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for three nights in Sept, 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Carl and Eric were very friendly and helpful. The B&B is an old restored Victorian home, beautiful if showing its age a little. We had a large spacious front room overlooking the street, however if you are a light sleeper I would not recommend this room as it can be a little noisy with the street traffic. Breakfasts were delicious. The home is approx a 25-30 minute walk from the National Mall.
The cost was less than staying in a hotel in downtown DC especially when you consider breakfast. And the ambiance of a old home and conversation with other guests preferable to a hotel. Would certainly recommend Chester Arthur House B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this B & B. It was great! Even though this is a large Victorian home, it felt very cozy. The rooms are all decorated with period furniture and each room has a private bath; a bonus in the B & B world. The hosts were very gracious and welcoming. I was treated as a valued guest, but felt like family. Eric and Carl were very personable and friendly; eager to share their knowledge of the DC area. The breakfasts were delicious and it was wonderful talking to the other guests. I have often stayed at a hotel during my visits to DC, but the only thing that would entice me to stay at one again would be the availability of a pool. It is located within walking distance of many points of interests as well several good restaurants. I really enjoyed this experience and felt it was a great value!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

After shopping around for a hotel located in walking distance to the National Mall, we chose to stay at this B & B. The nightly rate for this B&B was about the same as the no-thrills, one and two star hotels, and much, much cheaper than the nicer brand-name hotels.

We stayed for 6 nights in October 2011, and we would recommend the Chester Arthur house.

Our hosts, Eric and Carl, were friendly, informative, accommodating, cordial, and fantastic chefs. Each breakfast was delicious, perfectly prepared, and would rival the best D.C. restaurants. The fresh blueberries over French toast, the Eggs Lorraine and other dishes were fantastic, and my wife’s special dietary request was met and served to her every morning.

The house is an old, beautiful home. While some guests may be turned off by the older, worn furnishings, or the squeaky floors and doors, we found the house to be full of charm, beauty, and character. Most of the decor, hard-wood floors, light fixtures, and furnishings are original to this 125-year-old home. Yet, our room had the modern comforts of cable TV, wi-fi, air-conditioning, a small refrigerator, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board. You have to realize that this is not a modern hotel, rather it’s somebody’s home--a very old home.

We felt like welcomed guests in this house, and we found all guests to be quiet and respectful of each other. At first, we thought it may be uncomfortable to share a dining room table with strangers each morning, but we met some wonderful people from across the U.S., Canada and Germany. Each morning we all shared our previous day’s adventures and exchanged sightseeing tips and ideas with each other.

Our hosts also accommodated our special request regarding towels, as fresh towels are provided on every third day. We, however, asked for fresh towels each day, and each day our host graciously left a set of fresh towels in our bathroom.

The home is about a 20-25 minute walk to the National Mall, and there are some great places to eat near Logan Circle and around Dupont Circle, which is only a 15 minute walk from the B&B. Luna Grill in Dupont Circle was our favorite.

The area felt safe and appeared to be safe when walking at night.

This was our first time staying in a B&B, and our hosts made our stay very enjoyable and pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carvair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
487 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,137 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,257 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
528 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $166 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing