We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice, homey feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celia's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celia's Place
Save
You added Celia's Place to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, homey feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This isn't a high-end, clinical hotel...it's more like staying at someone's home. The room is very comfortable and clean, and having a sitting room was great. (Plus, there are books everywhere!) The location couldn't be better. I was able to walk everywhere and didn't have to use the metro, so even if this place might be pricier than others, you save money that way. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazmac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
14
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location was excellent, within walking distance to main attractions, restaurants and mini marts.our host Celia made us feel very welcome and comfortable staying in her home.The rooms were small however well appointe, homely and clean. This was our first experience at a B and B and would definitely return and also recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My second stay at Celia's to join in the celebration of the 50th Anniversary March on Washington. and as great as the first. Perfect location, lovely home, delicious breakfast, and very, very gracious and helpful hostess! This is an ideal location for visiting the Capitol!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meganthemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was in DC for the birth of my granddaughter. I stayed with Celia for three very busy weeks and she could not have been more accommodating! I was able to travel with my bike. The public pool is located next to Eastern Market. A fitness center is two blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location can't be beat. I was there for business and needed to spend time on Capitol Hill. The inn is across the street from one of the Library of Congress buildings, a 5 minute walk to the House office buildings, and a 10 minute walk to the Senate office buildings. Celia is a wonderful host. Breakfast is simple, but exactly what I wanted--fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, hot coffee, toast, juice, etc. The price is excellent for the location. I recommend this place for solo stays although the bed would be small for couples. The sitting room attached to the bedroom is a big plus, although wifi signal is weak there. The bathroom being attached to the hallway rather than the bedroom isn't ideal. The home is very, very charming and it provides for a unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wappoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent five nights at Celia's Place in late May 2013. Did some B&B research to find it, but had no idea it would turn out to be SUCH an interesting experience. Two blocks from the Capitol and four blocks from Capitol South Metro station, it is also within easy walking distance of the Eastern Market and several excellent restaurants on 7th and 8th Streets. The home is full of art of all kinds and fascinating photographs; accommodations were perfect for a solo traveler. Guests must be aware that the stairs are pretty narrow, so large luggage could be a nuisance. The double bed is ideal for one person. Bedroom leads to another sunny reading room in which guests have access to a washer and dryer. Cute back yard was filled with flowering plants and four sun chairs that would have been wonderful to relax in with a book or glass of wine if I'd had time. Breakfast was a yummy mix of fresh fruits, with Greek yogurt, and several breads from Firehook Bakery--the walnut cranberry was scrumptious! Good coffee too. Enjoyed talking with Celia each morning and loved playing with the braver of her two gorgeous black cats, Maggie. Celia gave me some excellent suggestions on highlights to see during my stay; she has traveled widely and that provided more good conversation. Two framed book covers let me know that Celia is an author; not until I returned home was I able to research more and find out that she has written four books! Conveying these discoveries to two of my close friends in CA, I was astonished when they claimed her as a classmate from the University of Texas, Austin!! I'm amazed that sheer chance led me to this B&B and I hope to stay with Celia again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMH1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent warm welcome with a delightful hostess. Well situated Bed and Breakfast. Wonderful private quarters in a period house.Healthy breakfast. Walking distance to metro. Ideal for business and pleasure.Fasinating converstation and helpful tips about DC.Walking distance to good eating places..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
Capitol Hill Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 36 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Cardozo Guest House
#10 of 36 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celia's Place

Property: Celia's Place
Address: 3rd and C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celia’s Place offers the closest access to the National Mall, the Smithsonian and the Monuments. Located at 3rd and Independence Ave SE, for tourists or researchers the home is literally across the street from the Library of Congress. Visitors can walk there or to the U.S. Capitol, Supreme Court, Folger Shakespeare Library and Theatre, the National Gallery of Art, Botanic Gardens, Air and Space Museum and the new American Indian Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing