We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Hillwood Museum & Gardens
Ranked #19 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hillwood, the grand estate of Post Cereal heiress Marjorie Merriweather Post, sits on 25 acres overlooking Rock Creek Park in northwest Washington DC. Along with a world renowned collection of Russian and French decorative arts, Hillwood also features extensive gardens and special exhibitions.
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful estate home with equally beautiful gardens. The docents were extremely good. It is not hard to get to from the Metro. If you use the directions given on the website, you can't go wrong. It is actually a pleasant walk. There is so much to see. The cafe is very nice but I would reserve ahead .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AprilFool27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    154
    25
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hillwood Gardens is a Hidden DC Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a quiet and beautiful trip away from the hustle and bustle of the city activities. Not really for children. A beautiful mansion, owned by Marjorie Merriweather Post, of the Post Cereal Fortune, and acres of magnificent gardens. Spring and Fall would be the perfect time to visit. It is in the Van Ness area of DC. You can take the METRO there and then walk or I suggest taking a cab up to the mansion. You can also drive to the mansion. We used the audio tour of the mansion and gardens and it was just a lovely visit and very interesting. Weekdays are less crowded than weekends. You can find all the information about the mansion on their website.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, RI & Poincian, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, nice way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The home of Marjorie Merriweather Post is a delight to tour. The audio headphones are easy to use and allow you to roam freely throughout the house and grounds. While we visited there was a special display featuring the Romanov family of Russia. The walking trails throughout the gardens were also part of the audio tour. Visit in the spring when the azaleas are blooming, though I imagine the summer rose garden must be beautiful as well. This is an attraction you will enjoy and is well worth the time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find and get to - BUT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

So worth it. The artwork, Faberge eggs and the general tour are VERY different from those you will see elsewhere - and it is all in a HOME! The gardens are a delight. Wish I'd gotten there a little earlier in season.

To avoid getting lost, I'd almost suggest a cab. We spent 45 minutes "wandering" - wasted time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LittleTank8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Gorgeous way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We got there before 11am on a sunny, warm Saturday. The parking spaces were going quickly. With the suggestion donation, you can choose any activities - just take a self guided tour with the nice maps provides, get a docent-led tour of gardens and / or home, and use of the audio guides. I liked that it was all included and you are not charged $4 for this and $3 for that, etc. the grounds are simply gorgeous, with lots of nooks and crannies. There are lots of places to sit and just take the beauty in. We picked up a sandwich and a salad at the cafe and found a nice table for lunch. At the cafe, they also have picnic blankets they'll loan you, which I thought was so accommodating. You can sit anywhere, with your own picnic or their food. The mansion was very nice, showing off Ms Post's various collections. I loved the accessibility of the rooms, being able to walk right through the kitchen and service areas, as well as all the personal spaces. There were a few little kids and strollers it it was mostly non-kids enjoying all the gardening work done by others! I will definitely return. Not sure about buses, but this is not accessible by the metro train. But, I don't think it would be more than a $10 cab ride from the Cleveland Park metro stop for two people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillwood Museum & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Hillwood Museum & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing