We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the Capital”

Hillwood Museum & Gardens
Ranked #20 of 431 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hillwood, the grand estate of Post Cereal heiress Marjorie Merriweather Post, sits on 25 acres overlooking Rock Creek Park in northwest Washington DC. Along with a world renowned collection of Russian and French decorative arts, Hillwood also features extensive gardens and special exhibitions.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visiting the Capital”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Story about property and acquisition of russian artifacts is historical. Beautiful gardens. Cafe on site was very nice too!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seyfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    155
    25
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
259 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The best museum we saw the entire week”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I count on tripadvisor to choose hotels, B&B's, restaurants, places to go, so when I saw Hillwood listed as the top place to visit in Washington, I don't know why I didnt put it at the top of my list as I now know I should have. We went there as our last place to see and only had 2 hrs which wasnt enough. Words can not describe this incredible home and breathtaking gardens. It has a collection all in one place that is probably equal to one of the big Smithsonian Museums. The woman who lived there and collected the thousands of items over her lifetime from her great wealth she inherited from her father Mr Post (cereal co) need to be seen and appreciated through a tour with a wonderful docent. Plan on spending 3-4 hrs there and leaving with a feeling of pure joy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's out of the downtown area. Metro supposedly stops about 6 blocks away but it is a residential area so you need some type of GPS if you take the metro. The free audio is well done. Plan to spend at least half a day. The cafe is very good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ylanbubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicely maintained quiet museum with an interesting past”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I liked the historical displays (old wedding dresses) and the grounds. Lots of information about Emily Post and her family. It's hard to believe you're still in a city.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hillwood museum review”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Beautiful grounds & view of DC. Amazing art collections especially the Faberge collection and mansion with all of the owners possessions.

Helpful?
Thank BFJ211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillwood Museum & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Hillwood Museum & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing