We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel to enjoy Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #34 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I always stay at the Melrose for work reasons; I'm a frequent guest there, at least once a month or so. The hotel style, cleanliness and staff service are impeccable. It was remodeled not too long ago, and the décor is elegant and cozy at the same time; you don't feel you're at a "standard" hotel, and sometimes not even the most pricey hotels in DC can offer that. The rooms are quite spacious, especially the suites, which I love. The bathrooms are also pretty. And most importantly, they're always spark clean. Beds are comfy and the linen is of very good quality. The hotel restaurant, room service and bar are all great, with a good menu and excellent service as well. The location is perfect, between downtown and Georgetown, a nice walking distance from everything (the Mall, Dupont Circle, etc.)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariapdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Mariapdm, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We love that you enjoyed the beauty that is our recently reinvented hotel, notably our glamorously chic, art-deco inspired decor. We strive to provide unparalleled service to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible and it is great to hear we could do that for you. Thank you for your loyal service and we look forward to seeing you again soon, Mariapdm!

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rooms don't have coffee makers, this in my opinon was very dissapointing. Otherwise, very nice accomodations. Restaurant food was delicious and waiter service was nice, but the food was very slow in coming out of the kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teenmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you, Teenmom11, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad to hear you took advantage of the deluxe accommodations our recently reinvented hotel has to offer. Our signature farm-to-fork dining at Jardenea promises fresh ingredients and artfully prepared dishes that help make your meal a memorable one. We hope to see you again next time you make your way to DC!

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed a few nights at this hotel hoping for it to be a nice little getaway. It is a beautiful boutique hotel in a great location. The valet was fantastic and friendly. However, we felt that because we are young, the staff was a bit Un- accommodating. It was as if we did not belong and were not welcomed into the hotel because our age. A bit of a superiority complex. Our hotel room heat was broken one entire night. The next morning, the concierge was awesome, apologetic and kind about this issue. However, it was quite overpriced for the experience, which was somewhat negative. Parking for $50/night really?

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfales89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Kfales89, thank you for your eye-opening review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so sorry that you had to experience unsuitable accommodations during your stay with us. Nobody should experience sub-par service and we hope you will give us another chance to impress you with dinner on us at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea, during your next stay.


Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a great hotel, looks newly renovated with modern fixtures. The Melrose is in a great location, near everything at an affordable rate. The staff was over the top friendly and we could tell they cared and wanted us to enjoy DC!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Av8r22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Av8r22, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel features art-deco inspired interiors and spacious guest bedrooms in the heart of the colorful Georgetown neighborhood. We are happy to hear that we helped make your experience in D.C. a memorable one. We hope you visit us again so that you can try our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Melrose Georgetown where my son asked his girlfriend to marry him. He knew that his girlfriend would want to have her mother and our family witness the moment when he "popped the question" We booked two suites and two King Delux rooms for the occasion.The details of the surprise are private, however saying how pleased we were with the rooms, which are very large, newly renovated, beautifully appointed and great value, and how attentive all of the staff were to all of our needs is information which we wish to share with everyone planning a stay in Washington DC for any reason.

Room Tip: These are large sized rooms. When booking a hotel on line, use a site that provides the square foota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you, Dennis N, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your family chose Melrose Georgetown Hotel for this most special occasion. Our hotel staff are pleased to help make every moment count! Congratulations to your family and we hope to see you all again on your next travels.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I am a New York City lawyer and I recently stayed at the Melrose due to its close proximity to my law firm's Washington DC office (literally right across the street). Great place. Very affordable (particularly by DC hotel standards). The staff was very professional and friendly; the lounge/lobby area was nice with downtempo "chill" music piped in at just the right volume level. Nice atmosphere. The room (king bed) was very clean (which is KEY), but slightly on the small side for me (I am 6' 2" 260 lbs), and that's why I gave it a 4 star instead of 5 rating. Seeing as though I was in town strictly for business, i couldn't really experience more of what the Melrose had to offer, but I will definitely stay there again when i'm back in the District.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sawman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Sawman1961, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented interiors boast glamorously chic decor that work to create the relaxed ambiance you experienced. We are so glad we could adequately accommodate for your business trip and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the District.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We planned a vacation with the kids in DC to learn more about American history. Found a great rate for the Melrose Georgetown Hotel on Hotels.com. We have had very good service. The hotel is older but in great shape so clearly well maintained. The location is perfect; on Pennsylvania Avenue just a 5 minute walk in one direction to the trendy Georgetown neighborhood and 15 minute walk in the opposite direction to the White House. I would come back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71BigD08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

71BigD08, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel boasts modern amenities and contemporary, glamorously chic interiors that work to make your stay most enjoyable. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and convenient location. We hope to see your family again on your next visit!

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
1,517 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,244 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 142 in Washington DC
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $119 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing