We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The River Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arc The. Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
725
442
98
29
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
442
98
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmolton brown toiletrieswhite housefoggy bottom metrogreat hotelminute walkpennsylvania avetrader joeskennedy centerroom was spaciousm streetlincoln memorialwithin walking distancelobby barwhole foodsloved this hotelwould definitely stay here againfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute boutique hotel conveniently located to Georgetown. Only blocks away from shopping and eateries. The hotel is very clean and modern. The staff is extremely friendly. Valet is $45 / day but is worth it. Valet staff is super helpful. We traveled with young children and they enjoyed the computers in the lobby. But there are not too many family friendly amenities here. Free Wifi in the room was convenient. We did not dine at the little restaurant but we did order in-room breakfast and it was good but of course expensive.
We did experience problems with the Central air unit. It was a warm fall day and we could not get the room to cool down. But it wasn't that big of a deal. Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel !

Stayed: November 2013
Thank seetheworldb4ureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the trouble that you experienced with your AC unit, and assure you that we will look into the cause of this issue. We invite you to enjoy a meal at our signature Jardenea restaurant the next time that you stay with us.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This boutique hotel located in Foggy Bottom is a great little place. Service was adequate, I would not say excellent for its level. The beds were just ok as well. However having booked on hotels.com for a great rate, it fit with the very low rate paid. Not worth more than $150 per night.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank kgavin102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear kgavin102,we appreciate your feedback about your stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We place high value on our guests' comments and assure you that we will look into the points that you have addressed. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you once again find yourself in Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked in The Melrose for 7 nights. Lovely boutique hotel on Pennsylvania Avenue within walking distance to Lincoln Memorial, Kennedy Centre for the Performing Arts, shops & restaurants in historic Georgetown and the Potomac riverfront. Easy walk to Foggy Bottom Metro station to get around DC and Virginia. Rooms are large, excellent food at the Jardenea restaurant and signature drinks from The Lounge (try the selection of martinis!). Staff are extremely friendly and helpful with everyone professionally attired. Enjoyable overall stay!

Room Tip: We liked being at the hotel front with view to the street and park across. One morning we watched the gardeners planting tulip bulbs very methodically.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Jeanette B, it was a pleasure to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Thank you for your compliments on Jardenea, Jardenea Lounge, our associates and hotel accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again the next time that you visit Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Convenient location for visiting my son at 25th & M. Easy walk from Foggy Bottom Metro (from airport) but 10 block walk to redline Metro if don't want to transfer. Front desk is ok with directions, but not great. Unlike other reviewers, I found the staff very accommodating and friendly, but my needs were few as have been to DC often. Have a lovely restaurant in the hotel for breakfast - limited lunch menu but lots of places to walk to in the neighborhood. We had some problems with the thermostat not functioning and they sent an engineer promptly to fix it. Request room away from Pennsylvania Ave. traffic noise. Got room 618 which had noise from garbage trucks (weekdays only) at around 8 am Beds are very comfortable - lots of plugins and free wifi (slow) can pay extra for hi speed. Large safe -will fit a laptop, but you may have to hunt for it as it is in a drawer below coffee maker. Bathroom is tiny - no towel bars at all. Makes no sense to ask you to save on laundry by hanging up your towel - you can't! Amenities OK - soap, shampoo/conditioner, body lotion,, but no body wash. Qtips/cotton balls a nice touch. Maids come early so if you don't want to be woken up put out the do not disturb sign. Fast elevators, clean and inviting lobby area. Will definitely stay here again. Price is right for what you get.

Room Tip: Room 404 is a lovely corner suite - bedroom is the same as regular rooms, but has hugh living room area for meetings. Is quiet. Rm 618 - is away from Pennsy. Ave., but had morning noise from garbage collection and no view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you, sunnyj3800, for taking the time to share with us the details of your stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by your broken AC unit, and are glad that our engineer was able to rectify the situation quickly. We hope you had an enjoyable experience exploring Washington, D.C. while visiting your son, and are glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to our nation's capital.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at the Melrose in the middle of August for 7 nights on a sightseeing trip t Washington DC. The Melrose was a great hotel! The hotel is less than a block from Washington Circle, and very close to the Foggy Bottom Metro line. It is about a 10 minute walk west into Georgetown where most of the shopping and restaurants are, though there are a few near the hotel. It's probably a 15 minute walk down Pennsylvania Avenue to the White House, and a 15 minute walk south to the Lincoln Memorial.

Based on some of the older pictures on here, the hotel has been renovated in the last few years, and is VERY nice and modernized now. Staff were very accommodating (got a free upgrade as my bag was delayed) and helpful when I needed to change rooms - Wifi in one of the rooms was not working. The suite I stayed in was very spacious, and there was lots of room to store things. The room has a in room fridge, as well as a safe, so it had everything I really needed. Very comfortable beds as well.

You can't really escape the street noise as the hotel front is on Pensylvania Avenue, and backs onto K Street. I didn't find it noisy though - I'd recommend staying on the back side if you can, as I think it was a little quieter there.

Room Tip: You can't really escape the street noise as the hotel front is on Pennsylvania Avenue, and backs onto K Street. I didn't find it noisy though - I'd recommend staying on the back side if you can, as I think it was a little quieter there.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Greg N, we appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our convenient proximity to much of what draws visitors to DC, and hope you enjoyed your sightseeing trip. Thank you for your compliments of our recent renovation - it is good to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews