We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #36 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, good value.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel located in Foggy Bottom is a great little place. Service was adequate, I would not say excellent for its level. The beds were just ok as well. However having booked on hotels.com for a great rate, it fit with the very low rate paid. Not worth more than $150 per night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kgavin102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear kgavin102,we appreciate your feedback about your stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We place high value on our guests' comments and assure you that we will look into the points that you have addressed. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you once again find yourself in Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    376
    86
    26
    25
See reviews for
300
325
56
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked in The Melrose for 7 nights. Lovely boutique hotel on Pennsylvania Avenue within walking distance to Lincoln Memorial, Kennedy Centre for the Performing Arts, shops & restaurants in historic Georgetown and the Potomac riverfront. Easy walk to Foggy Bottom Metro station to get around DC and Virginia. Rooms are large, excellent food at the Jardenea restaurant and signature drinks from The Lounge (try the selection of martinis!). Staff are extremely friendly and helpful with everyone professionally attired. Enjoyable overall stay!

Room Tip: We liked being at the hotel front with view to the street and park across. One morning we watched t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Jeanette B, it was a pleasure to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Thank you for your compliments on Jardenea, Jardenea Lounge, our associates and hotel accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again the next time that you visit Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Convenient location for visiting my son at 25th & M. Easy walk from Foggy Bottom Metro (from airport) but 10 block walk to redline Metro if don't want to transfer. Front desk is ok with directions, but not great. Unlike other reviewers, I found the staff very accommodating and friendly, but my needs were few as have been to DC often. Have a lovely restaurant in the hotel for breakfast - limited lunch menu but lots of places to walk to in the neighborhood. We had some problems with the thermostat not functioning and they sent an engineer promptly to fix it. Request room away from Pennsylvania Ave. traffic noise. Got room 618 which had noise from garbage trucks (weekdays only) at around 8 am Beds are very comfortable - lots of plugins and free wifi (slow) can pay extra for hi speed. Large safe -will fit a laptop, but you may have to hunt for it as it is in a drawer below coffee maker. Bathroom is tiny - no towel bars at all. Makes no sense to ask you to save on laundry by hanging up your towel - you can't! Amenities OK - soap, shampoo/conditioner, body lotion,, but no body wash. Qtips/cotton balls a nice touch. Maids come early so if you don't want to be woken up put out the do not disturb sign. Fast elevators, clean and inviting lobby area. Will definitely stay here again. Price is right for what you get.

Room Tip: Room 404 is a lovely corner suite - bedroom is the same as regular rooms, but has hugh living room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you, sunnyj3800, for taking the time to share with us the details of your stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by your broken AC unit, and are glad that our engineer was able to rectify the situation quickly. We hope you had an enjoyable experience exploring Washington, D.C. while visiting your son, and are glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to our nation's capital.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at the Melrose in the middle of August for 7 nights on a sightseeing trip t Washington DC. The Melrose was a great hotel! The hotel is less than a block from Washington Circle, and very close to the Foggy Bottom Metro line. It is about a 10 minute walk west into Georgetown where most of the shopping and restaurants are, though there are a few near the hotel. It's probably a 15 minute walk down Pennsylvania Avenue to the White House, and a 15 minute walk south to the Lincoln Memorial.

Based on some of the older pictures on here, the hotel has been renovated in the last few years, and is VERY nice and modernized now. Staff were very accommodating (got a free upgrade as my bag was delayed) and helpful when I needed to change rooms - Wifi in one of the rooms was not working. The suite I stayed in was very spacious, and there was lots of room to store things. The room has a in room fridge, as well as a safe, so it had everything I really needed. Very comfortable beds as well.

You can't really escape the street noise as the hotel front is on Pensylvania Avenue, and backs onto K Street. I didn't find it noisy though - I'd recommend staying on the back side if you can, as I think it was a little quieter there.

Room Tip: You can't really escape the street noise as the hotel front is on Pennsylvania Avenue, and backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Greg N, we appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our convenient proximity to much of what draws visitors to DC, and hope you enjoyed your sightseeing trip. Thank you for your compliments of our recent renovation - it is good to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A friend and I met up in DC for a long weekend and we couldn't have been happier with this hotel. It's a beautiful boutique hotel with gracious, helpful staff and in a perfect location. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are beautifully decorated and most comfortable. Could use a few more plugs for charging electronics but we made it work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcaseynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you, pcaseynh, for your choosing to stay with us during your long weekend. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we are glad that you had a comfortable stay during your visit to Washington, DC. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent 2 weeks there. The hotel is conveniently located, well maintained and an excellent friendly staff. Very clean and just what you need in terms of services and amenities to keep the high quality/price ratio high. A boutique hotel to be recommended for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Elie A, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and some kind words about your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time that you are in Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Melrose over this past weekend. It was a great experience. the location is great for restaurants and nightlife. I would recommend this hotel especially at the Priceline Express Deal price that I got.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpsteier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear jpsteier, thank you for recommending Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable weekend stay and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
1,409 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
1,560 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing