We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Convenient location for visiting my son at 25th & M. Easy walk from Foggy Bottom Metro (from airport) but 10 block walk to redline Metro if don't want to transfer. Front desk is ok with directions, but not great. Unlike other reviewers, I found the staff very accommodating and friendly, but my needs were few as have been to DC often. Have a lovely restaurant in the hotel for breakfast - limited lunch menu but lots of places to walk to in the neighborhood. We had some problems with the thermostat not functioning and they sent an engineer promptly to fix it. Request room away from Pennsylvania Ave. traffic noise. Got room 618 which had noise from garbage trucks (weekdays only) at around 8 am Beds are very comfortable - lots of plugins and free wifi (slow) can pay extra for hi speed. Large safe -will fit a laptop, but you may have to hunt for it as it is in a drawer below coffee maker. Bathroom is tiny - no towel bars at all. Makes no sense to ask you to save on laundry by hanging up your towel - you can't! Amenities OK - soap, shampoo/conditioner, body lotion,, but no body wash. Qtips/cotton balls a nice touch. Maids come early so if you don't want to be woken up put out the do not disturb sign. Fast elevators, clean and inviting lobby area. Will definitely stay here again. Price is right for what you get.

Room Tip: Room 404 is a lovely corner suite - bedroom is the same as regular rooms, but has hugh living room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you, sunnyj3800, for taking the time to share with us the details of your stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by your broken AC unit, and are glad that our engineer was able to rectify the situation quickly. We hope you had an enjoyable experience exploring Washington, D.C. while visiting your son, and are glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to our nation's capital.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    391
    88
    26
    27
See reviews for
308
336
60
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Didsbury, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at the Melrose in the middle of August for 7 nights on a sightseeing trip t Washington DC. The Melrose was a great hotel! The hotel is less than a block from Washington Circle, and very close to the Foggy Bottom Metro line. It is about a 10 minute walk west into Georgetown where most of the shopping and restaurants are, though there are a few near the hotel. It's probably a 15 minute walk down Pennsylvania Avenue to the White House, and a 15 minute walk south to the Lincoln Memorial.

Based on some of the older pictures on here, the hotel has been renovated in the last few years, and is VERY nice and modernized now. Staff were very accommodating (got a free upgrade as my bag was delayed) and helpful when I needed to change rooms - Wifi in one of the rooms was not working. The suite I stayed in was very spacious, and there was lots of room to store things. The room has a in room fridge, as well as a safe, so it had everything I really needed. Very comfortable beds as well.

You can't really escape the street noise as the hotel front is on Pensylvania Avenue, and backs onto K Street. I didn't find it noisy though - I'd recommend staying on the back side if you can, as I think it was a little quieter there.

Room Tip: You can't really escape the street noise as the hotel front is on Pennsylvania Avenue, and backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Greg N, we appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our convenient proximity to much of what draws visitors to DC, and hope you enjoyed your sightseeing trip. Thank you for your compliments of our recent renovation - it is good to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A friend and I met up in DC for a long weekend and we couldn't have been happier with this hotel. It's a beautiful boutique hotel with gracious, helpful staff and in a perfect location. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are beautifully decorated and most comfortable. Could use a few more plugs for charging electronics but we made it work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcaseynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you, pcaseynh, for your choosing to stay with us during your long weekend. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we are glad that you had a comfortable stay during your visit to Washington, DC. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent 2 weeks there. The hotel is conveniently located, well maintained and an excellent friendly staff. Very clean and just what you need in terms of services and amenities to keep the high quality/price ratio high. A boutique hotel to be recommended for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Elie A, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and some kind words about your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time that you are in Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Melrose over this past weekend. It was a great experience. the location is great for restaurants and nightlife. I would recommend this hotel especially at the Priceline Express Deal price that I got.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpsteier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear jpsteier, thank you for recommending Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable weekend stay and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at the Melrose while staying in DC on a business trip. The hotel is very convenient to K Street business, George Washington University, the Metro. An easy walk to may attractions. The hotel has a nice lobby, courteous staff, and relatively good food in the hotel dining room. I found the food to be a bit pricey for what you got, but then again it is D.C. My room was clean and comfortable. I received a very good rate booking this hotel along with my flight on Expedia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you, leom5558, for staying at Melrose Georgetown Hotel during your business trip to Washington, DC. During your next stay with us you should consider stopping by Jardenea Lounge from 5-7 p.m. for $5 drinks, $5 appetizers and $5 off your meal at Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

In town for business in foggy bottom the melrose is a very comfortable and convenient hotel in the neighborhood! Not a big chain hotel nor too boutique, it is a very good option for tourists and business people alike! upon arrival there was a doorman and check in was easy and fast. Therebseemed to be a large group arriving at the same time but staff coped well, and i was not stuck behind 30 individual check ins! The stairs in the lobby to getvto the elevator are annoying but no key card necessary to get to my floor. Room was spacious and clean. Big king size bed, ample towels and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Nice towels and linens. Modern furnishings, free wifi and big tv screen! Ipod dock clock and hairdryer. In room fridge but no mini bar. Lighting was good and seating was good for work at desk or relaxed reading/tv! Spacious! Room overlooked the street but was soundproofed! Shower hand held with good pressure!

I had dry cleaning done which was prompt and efficient. Housekeeping was swift and thorough. The guest service telephine response was always prompt. I had room service one night and was very pleased. The gym is 24/7.

Overall a good stay and i would return and recommend. The grocery store next door is fine for water and basics, the coffee shop two doors down perfect for coffee and breakfast snacks. I didnt eat in the restaurant but it seemed to be busy. The lobby is a bit chilly and breezy butbthe bar is small and open. A good place to meet and grab a beer or sip a wine however it is not cozy nor intimate.

Staff were friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. Ratesvwere competitive and i would say value for money!

Room Tip: Upper floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Chris_Battersea, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are glad that our associates were able to provide you with efficient, prompt service and that you were able to enjoy much of what our hotel has to offer. We hope you will let our associates arrange a reservation for you at Jardenea restaurant so you can enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant during your next stay with us.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,588 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,453 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,778 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing