We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, restaraunt ok but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, restaraunt ok but pricey”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at the Melrose while staying in DC on a business trip. The hotel is very convenient to K Street business, George Washington University, the Metro. An easy walk to may attractions. The hotel has a nice lobby, courteous staff, and relatively good food in the hotel dining room. I found the food to be a bit pricey for what you got, but then again it is D.C. My room was clean and comfortable. I received a very good rate booking this hotel along with my flight on Expedia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you, leom5558, for staying at Melrose Georgetown Hotel during your business trip to Washington, DC. During your next stay with us you should consider stopping by Jardenea Lounge from 5-7 p.m. for $5 drinks, $5 appetizers and $5 off your meal at Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    379
    87
    26
    25
See reviews for
303
329
57
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

In town for business in foggy bottom the melrose is a very comfortable and convenient hotel in the neighborhood! Not a big chain hotel nor too boutique, it is a very good option for tourists and business people alike! upon arrival there was a doorman and check in was easy and fast. Therebseemed to be a large group arriving at the same time but staff coped well, and i was not stuck behind 30 individual check ins! The stairs in the lobby to getvto the elevator are annoying but no key card necessary to get to my floor. Room was spacious and clean. Big king size bed, ample towels and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Nice towels and linens. Modern furnishings, free wifi and big tv screen! Ipod dock clock and hairdryer. In room fridge but no mini bar. Lighting was good and seating was good for work at desk or relaxed reading/tv! Spacious! Room overlooked the street but was soundproofed! Shower hand held with good pressure!

I had dry cleaning done which was prompt and efficient. Housekeeping was swift and thorough. The guest service telephine response was always prompt. I had room service one night and was very pleased. The gym is 24/7.

Overall a good stay and i would return and recommend. The grocery store next door is fine for water and basics, the coffee shop two doors down perfect for coffee and breakfast snacks. I didnt eat in the restaurant but it seemed to be busy. The lobby is a bit chilly and breezy butbthe bar is small and open. A good place to meet and grab a beer or sip a wine however it is not cozy nor intimate.

Staff were friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. Ratesvwere competitive and i would say value for money!

Room Tip: Upper floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Chris_Battersea, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are glad that our associates were able to provide you with efficient, prompt service and that you were able to enjoy much of what our hotel has to offer. We hope you will let our associates arrange a reservation for you at Jardenea restaurant so you can enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant during your next stay with us.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I don't normally stay in this part of town but was very pleased with the location and proximity to my business meetings. Staff were impeccable-genuinely attentive and personable. The room was nice and spacious. Marble bathroom floors, modern decor. Love the lobby vibe!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaks827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Kaks827, we are happy that you enjoyed your venture into our part of Washington, DC! Thank you for choosing to stay with us while attending your business meetings, as well as your kind words about Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have stayed at the Melrose a number of times and have always thought it to be a good value. They recently remodeled the lobby (and at least the room I stayed in). The look is modern and warm. Its only a short walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you, Mark L, for choosing Melrose Georgetown Hotel as your go-to hotel in Washington, DC. Each of our rooms benefited from our massive renovation, and we are glad that you found your updated accommodations satisfactory.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and was very comfortable. The rate was pricey but most everywhere in DC is expensive. The valet parking was great and very helpful staff. The drinks at the bar were good and the lounge area was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi DRStamp, thank you for your kind words about Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are glad that you found our valet service and hotel associates helpful, and that you were able to enjoy Jardenea Lounge. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved this hotel! Stayed for one night at beginning of September with two adults, two children (13 & 10) in our party; family friendly, helpful staff; good location about a 20 minute walk from the White House and 30 minutes to George Washington Monument and Lincoln Memorial. Lovely decoration in rooms that were clean and comfortable. Flat screen TV, safe, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in room. Reasonable room rates obtained from booking.com. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Family room had two double beds, so slept four comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwaelodgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Gwaelodgang, we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was great, spacious clean and comfortable. We arrived on 1st day of government shutdown and the staff couldn't have been more helpful about what would be open and what was effected. It was a few minutes walk to Georgetown, shops and waterfront. Wonderful sitting at Nicks on the waterfront having a glass of wine in the evenings. We didn't use hop on hop off buses as so many things were closed were we were likely to 'hop off', instead we used the circulator bus which stops just up the road from the hotel, $1 a time , Capitol Hill, Rosslyn, Eastern Market, Dupont Circle etc. We walked to the White House, about 20 minute walk. Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment on food or restaurant service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westie034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear westie034, thank you for choosing to stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel during your recent visit to our nation's capital. Our associates consistently aim to deliver individualized service, and we are glad that even in the midst of the government shutdown, you were able to enjoy your visit. We hope you will be able to enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea, the next time your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing