We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Getting better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #34 of 139 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Getting better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

In the past I have raved about this place and panned it big time, so I am back again (mainly for the location) and it is time for an update.
Well the refurbishment is progressing and I actually got a refurbed suite on the 5 floor this time. First impressions are good and to the uninitiated eye the grey decor and modern furniture is very pleasant. But if you remember the old rooms and look closely you will see that it is just a very good paint job, that probably won't last too long. Look even closer and you can see where the old bathroom fittings were (the tiles are the same).
The bar stools have still not been replaced and the selection of beers and wines is woeful.
But the friendly atmosphere remains, you can't change the great location and the rates don't seem to have gone up significantly (which is what seems to be driving the recent reviews).
So things are on the up and the chances are I will keep on coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Gutsypants,

Thank you for returning to the Melrose Georgetown Hotel for another visit. We are glad to hear that you were able to experience one of our renovated guestrooms. We are constantly continuing to make improvements, and encourage you to return soon and enjoy our improved amenities and friendly atmosphere.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    358
    85
    23
    24
See reviews for
284
308
54
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
596 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have just spent three nights in this hotel, and I return home with a wonderful feeling. This hotel is nothing more, nothing less than what I need.
Perfect and friendly service, nice interior decoration, excellent location, beautiful rooms, delicious continental breakfast, wifi ...
The airco in my room was leaking, but staff had it repaired as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us, Gonzalo de Berceo. We are sorry to hear that your air conditioning system was leaking, and are glad that we were able to rectify the situation quickly.

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

When we arrived they had no reservation in their System and it took quite some time for us while they Managed to give us a New room.
All in all. The Hotel was really nice and Not that far from the City. Just 8 minutes to walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Melrose is an older property recently renovated. It's on the smaller side, which I like, and the staff were friendly. It sits just off Washington Circle and is very convenient to GWU and IMF/WB/IFC, and Georgetown is a short walk over the bridge. The Metro is close by at GWU, and it's on the route of several buses. There is a dining room in the hotel -- mainly used for breakfast -- and a lobby lounge that tends to serve as an evening meeting spot for groups in the hotel. Furnishings are good quality, including linen and towels. I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear indonesia80571,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Melrose Georgetown as well as your positive feedback. Your insight is very valuable to our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Melrose was home base for my five-day trip to Washington DC. It is a aesthetic boutique hotel, located in a Foggy Bottom, one of the great neighborhoods on the west side of DC. The Melrose is just a few blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, connecting you to the monumental sites of downtown DC. Furthermore, it's a short walk away from the historic neighborhood of Georgetown - filled with shops and eateries.

The room was well-designed; the bed was comfortable. My only complaint would be the sound-proofing. I woke a few times to the sound of someone showering in the suite above.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The fitness centre is great for a boutique hotel.

Overall, a great experience... Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Sync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you, Ian_Sync, for taking the time to share your feedback about the Melrose Georgetown. We are glad to hear that our associates were friendly and helpful, and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here after a less than perfect stay in the middle of the remodel. This time, the lobby is beautifully decorated in soothing grays, whites and blacks in deco style. The room was great and could have accommodated one other person. The hotel location is fantastic: two blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro Station, two blocks from one end of Georgetown, four blocks from the Kennedy Center. Across the street is a Capital Bike rack where you can rent a bike for the day and leave it at any other Capital Bike rack in the city.

The front desk is friendly and helpful. The only suggestion is that the doormen be more aware of folks coming and going. Having the door held for you is a must as you're handling luggage and is a sign of a well-run organization.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning12385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a great 4-night stay at this hotel. The hotel is perfectly located just a few blocks from the cool Georgetown neighborhood and within walking distance to the Smithsonian Museums. The Foggy Bottom train stop is also just two blocks away. The room was clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful with recommending restaurants or giving directions. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. From now on when I visit DC I will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 139 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 139 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 139 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#41 of 139 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing