We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable with a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable with a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Melrose is an older property recently renovated. It's on the smaller side, which I like, and the staff were friendly. It sits just off Washington Circle and is very convenient to GWU and IMF/WB/IFC, and Georgetown is a short walk over the bridge. The Metro is close by at GWU, and it's on the route of several buses. There is a dining room in the hotel -- mainly used for breakfast -- and a lobby lounge that tends to serve as an evening meeting spot for groups in the hotel. Furnishings are good quality, including linen and towels. I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear indonesia80571,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Melrose Georgetown as well as your positive feedback. Your insight is very valuable to our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    317
    76
    22
    23
See reviews for
242
259
51
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Melrose was home base for my five-day trip to Washington DC. It is a aesthetic boutique hotel, located in a Foggy Bottom, one of the great neighborhoods on the west side of DC. The Melrose is just a few blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, connecting you to the monumental sites of downtown DC. Furthermore, it's a short walk away from the historic neighborhood of Georgetown - filled with shops and eateries.

The room was well-designed; the bed was comfortable. My only complaint would be the sound-proofing. I woke a few times to the sound of someone showering in the suite above.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The fitness centre is great for a boutique hotel.

Overall, a great experience... Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Sync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker33, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you, Ian_Sync, for taking the time to share your feedback about the Melrose Georgetown. We are glad to hear that our associates were friendly and helpful, and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here after a less than perfect stay in the middle of the remodel. This time, the lobby is beautifully decorated in soothing grays, whites and blacks in deco style. The room was great and could have accommodated one other person. The hotel location is fantastic: two blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro Station, two blocks from one end of Georgetown, four blocks from the Kennedy Center. Across the street is a Capital Bike rack where you can rent a bike for the day and leave it at any other Capital Bike rack in the city.

The front desk is friendly and helpful. The only suggestion is that the doormen be more aware of folks coming and going. Having the door held for you is a must as you're handling luggage and is a sign of a well-run organization.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning12385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a great 4-night stay at this hotel. The hotel is perfectly located just a few blocks from the cool Georgetown neighborhood and within walking distance to the Smithsonian Museums. The Foggy Bottom train stop is also just two blocks away. The room was clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful with recommending restaurants or giving directions. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. From now on when I visit DC I will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We came in for a wedding. A block of rooms was reserved. We felt we received a very good price for such a spacious room in a hotel that was so well located. We were able to walk to lots of different places from the hotel which was very nice. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gale z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCKNOW
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days. The hotel desk and other staff was very courteous. The hotel has excellent facility of easy accessibility. They have installed a chair lift in the Lobby for access to the elevators and assistance is always available for operating it. The hotel room was large, well designed and carefully decorated. Though the beds were rather high, I think it is the norm in the modern hotels. Will recommend it those who visit this nice and civic city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KISHOREK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for five nights during the Cherry Blossom Festival in April 2013 and had a perfect room with lots of space and a "Constitution" wallpaper behind the desk which gave a good connection to being in Washington. Looked like it had been newly renovated and had a perfect air con. Outside the hotel was a seating area where you could have a glass of wine and a cold beer (and we did - it was near 30 degrees Celcius when we arrived). Hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the old part of town and five minutes from the subway and a string of restaurants/bars. We can highly recommend this place and will surely stay here again. And by the way - also a very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing