We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location; newly remodeled” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #32 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location; newly remodeled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here after a less than perfect stay in the middle of the remodel. This time, the lobby is beautifully decorated in soothing grays, whites and blacks in deco style. The room was great and could have accommodated one other person. The hotel location is fantastic: two blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro Station, two blocks from one end of Georgetown, four blocks from the Kennedy Center. Across the street is a Capital Bike rack where you can rent a bike for the day and leave it at any other Capital Bike rack in the city.

The front desk is friendly and helpful. The only suggestion is that the doormen be more aware of folks coming and going. Having the door held for you is a must as you're handling luggage and is a sign of a well-run organization.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning12385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    347
    84
    23
    23
See reviews for
274
294
53
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a great 4-night stay at this hotel. The hotel is perfectly located just a few blocks from the cool Georgetown neighborhood and within walking distance to the Smithsonian Museums. The Foggy Bottom train stop is also just two blocks away. The room was clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful with recommending restaurants or giving directions. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. From now on when I visit DC I will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We came in for a wedding. A block of rooms was reserved. We felt we received a very good price for such a spacious room in a hotel that was so well located. We were able to walk to lots of different places from the hotel which was very nice. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gale z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCKNOW
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days. The hotel desk and other staff was very courteous. The hotel has excellent facility of easy accessibility. They have installed a chair lift in the Lobby for access to the elevators and assistance is always available for operating it. The hotel room was large, well designed and carefully decorated. Though the beds were rather high, I think it is the norm in the modern hotels. Will recommend it those who visit this nice and civic city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KISHOREK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for five nights during the Cherry Blossom Festival in April 2013 and had a perfect room with lots of space and a "Constitution" wallpaper behind the desk which gave a good connection to being in Washington. Looked like it had been newly renovated and had a perfect air con. Outside the hotel was a seating area where you could have a glass of wine and a cold beer (and we did - it was near 30 degrees Celcius when we arrived). Hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the old part of town and five minutes from the subway and a string of restaurants/bars. We can highly recommend this place and will surely stay here again. And by the way - also a very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to the Melrose, and both times we've been very pleased with it. It was more expensive this time because of the Memorial Day holiday, but it was still less expensive than comparable hotels. The Melrose has a really excellent and professional staff; they are a real asset. The room was very pleasant and clean and spacious, and you can't beat the location. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at the Melrose after receiving a confirmation for their "generously sized 425 sq. ft deluxe double guest rooms feature sitting area, coffee table" for a 3 night stay at 330 dollars plus tax per night. The stay was a disaster. We were given a very typical, very small room that did have one chair squeezed between the bed and a wall. There was certainly no coffee table and no one could honestly call this chair a "seating area". The room was 11 by 15 feet and when I just mentioned to the woman at the desk that our room was certainly smaller than expected, she told me I was wrong -- the room was in fact 425 square feet and the furniture arrangement made the room seem smaller.

Then a terrible smell came in through the vents and we had to change our room the next day. The new room, although certainly not 425 square feet, did have a small "seating area" and it did not not have a terrible odor.

When checking in we were given coupons for a "breakfast buffet". We were given tea or coffee and toast or a horrible croissant with 4 small pieces of fruit. I realized this hotel seems to have an aversion to honesty.

Our reservation quoted parking at $34 -- at checkout we were charged $38.

But the worst part of our stay was when I tried to speak to the same woman at the desk to tell her I would have preferred honesty about the room size rather than being treated like an idiot. She said she never spoke to me and there is another African-American woman working at the hotel. This was extremely insulting to me -- her implication is that I cannot tell one African American woman from another.

The one positive thing about this hotel is the young men at the door -- they were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cloudy_in_Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing