We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Helpful and decent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #36 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
LUCKNOW
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Helpful and decent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days. The hotel desk and other staff was very courteous. The hotel has excellent facility of easy accessibility. They have installed a chair lift in the Lobby for access to the elevators and assistance is always available for operating it. The hotel room was large, well designed and carefully decorated. Though the beds were rather high, I think it is the norm in the modern hotels. Will recommend it those who visit this nice and civic city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KISHOREK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    370
    86
    24
    25
See reviews for
295
319
56
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for five nights during the Cherry Blossom Festival in April 2013 and had a perfect room with lots of space and a "Constitution" wallpaper behind the desk which gave a good connection to being in Washington. Looked like it had been newly renovated and had a perfect air con. Outside the hotel was a seating area where you could have a glass of wine and a cold beer (and we did - it was near 30 degrees Celcius when we arrived). Hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the old part of town and five minutes from the subway and a string of restaurants/bars. We can highly recommend this place and will surely stay here again. And by the way - also a very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to the Melrose, and both times we've been very pleased with it. It was more expensive this time because of the Memorial Day holiday, but it was still less expensive than comparable hotels. The Melrose has a really excellent and professional staff; they are a real asset. The room was very pleasant and clean and spacious, and you can't beat the location. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at the Melrose after receiving a confirmation for their "generously sized 425 sq. ft deluxe double guest rooms feature sitting area, coffee table" for a 3 night stay at 330 dollars plus tax per night. The stay was a disaster. We were given a very typical, very small room that did have one chair squeezed between the bed and a wall. There was certainly no coffee table and no one could honestly call this chair a "seating area". The room was 11 by 15 feet and when I just mentioned to the woman at the desk that our room was certainly smaller than expected, she told me I was wrong -- the room was in fact 425 square feet and the furniture arrangement made the room seem smaller.

Then a terrible smell came in through the vents and we had to change our room the next day. The new room, although certainly not 425 square feet, did have a small "seating area" and it did not not have a terrible odor.

When checking in we were given coupons for a "breakfast buffet". We were given tea or coffee and toast or a horrible croissant with 4 small pieces of fruit. I realized this hotel seems to have an aversion to honesty.

Our reservation quoted parking at $34 -- at checkout we were charged $38.

But the worst part of our stay was when I tried to speak to the same woman at the desk to tell her I would have preferred honesty about the room size rather than being treated like an idiot. She said she never spoke to me and there is another African-American woman working at the hotel. This was extremely insulting to me -- her implication is that I cannot tell one African American woman from another.

The one positive thing about this hotel is the young men at the door -- they were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cloudy_in_Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel conveniently located. We arrived early and the room was actually ready for us (unfortunately they gave us a room that was still occupied!) they quickly moved us one floor up and all was well. We came back later in the evening to watch our basketball team on TV, but unfortunately the hotel satellite tv system didn't have the channel available. The manager made up for the inconvenience with free deserts delivered straight to our door and free wi-fi so we could watch on our iPad app! The manager deserves praise for making the experience a memorable one! Will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickLee0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights, this place has been totally redone and is gorgeous! In a great location between downtown and Georgetown, easy for the doorman to get a cab if there's not one waiting at their stand. Lobby is very chic, several comfortable seating areas and a small bar. Restaurant was great for breakfast, my eggs over medium were perfectly cooked and the potatoes were delicious and crispy ( love that!). Also saw some outdoor seating. Room was oversized, love the "Constitution" wallpaper behind the desk and the extra plugs they installed on the front side, gorgeous furniture and very good bed. Bathroom door was a little awkward but ok. Incredible shower, great water pressure which is sometimes missing in older hotels like this. Loved the large closet and had a great view of DC. And free wifi!! Staff was very helpful, took care of some unusual requests with a smile. Front desk clerk called me by name several times when I passed by, that was impressive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GsfHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have stayed at quite a few hotels in D.C. over almost a dozen trips. This hotel is quite nice. Apparently it was remodeled recently. It is quite swank when walking into the lobby. I did not interact with the staff much, but they were pleasant enough. I stayed in a king room and it was nice and roomy with a wide open entry way. The carpet is thick, as are the linens. I did not have a street view, but I wasn't there for the view. The temperature was comfortable, as was the bed. The shower water was always hot. The TV didn't have that annoying hotel viewing screen that usually pops up and just took me to the channels. I definitely liked that, because those systems are usually dreadfully slow. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant that I noticed, but the room service menu for breakfast looked really tasty. There is a nice bar if you're looking for that. My co-worker also stayed here and said the wireless internet was dreadfully slow, but your mileage may vary depending on location. I used my 4G Verizon phone as a hot spot, which worked well (cannot be said for all hotels). One thing I would improve would be easier access to electrical outlets. There was no open outlet anywhere near the desk in my room. Even the one behind the desk was fully utilized already and I did not want to unplug the lamp. I have stayed in other hotels that had electrical outlets built into lamp bases, which I love. I did have an outlet near the bed for easy phone charging access though. The only other improvement I would like is some type of towel bar in the sink area of the bathroom. The only thing in the bathroom to hang stuff up on was the hook on the back of the bathroom door in the shower/toilet section.

The price was quite decent for the area (it's all relative). I am not sure if it's really a family type hotel, but I would recommend it for business, solo, friends, or couples travel. All in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing