We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Appointed, Uneven Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #36 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel in Washington DC, not far from the GWU campus. The building and facility itself is beautiful. Modern furniture and conversational groupings make you want to sit and relax in the lobby. The bar was closing as we arrived, I begged for a drink, and the bartender very nicely kept the bar open a bit longer. We had to argue for a king bed, as reserved, instead of accepting the double beds they offered. And we prevailed and received a nice corner room, with lots of space and a view of the church across the street. The room service the first morning (Saturday) was fast and accurate. The second time (Sunday) was the opposite. Over a 30 minute wait and the food delivered was WRONG. I was hungry, ate what he left. Felt a twinge of guilt that I was probably eating someone else's scrambled eggs, then rationalized they got my over easy eggs and English muffin. We had a late check out. However, on two different occasions as we packed to go, two different employees barged into the room without knocking. Fortunately, we were dressed, but twice? Unacceptable. We did complain on our way out the door and they did reimburse us for the breakfast. However, as we pointed out to them, they need to work on their customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
There are newer reviews for Melrose Georgetown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great stay at The Melrose. For a few seconds after we arrived, I was afraid we were going to be treated as 2nd class citizens since we had just booked at noon on Hotel Tonight but after finding our reservation, the receptionist became friendly and helpful. We had a large room with a comfy king bed. The room and bathroom were clean. The location is perfect. Just a few blocks from Georgetown. We felt very safe walking back to the hotel after ten. My only complaint was parking. The website says parking is $38 but "with tax" it was $44. Why don't they just say that?? Nevertheless, we had a great visit and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank redboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank ocapoulat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank squalo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Saixa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaKim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,726 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,194 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $136 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing