We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pennsylvania Avenue tour”
Review of DC Walkabout

DC Walkabout
Ranked #71 of 146 Tours in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are proud to be Washington DC's only Audio/MP3 walking tour company. Just download and play!Our audio/mp3 tours are available anytime, day or night, 24hrs a day. We currently offer our much-publicized American Scandal, Haunted History and Lincoln Assassination tours, with Capitol Hill, the National Mall, and the Tidal Basin audio tours on the way!Narrated and filled with stories, interesting facts, music, and sound effects, our audio walking tours are a great way to learn about both DC and American History in a rich and engaging way. Check us out!
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pennsylvania Avenue tour”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Amiable and conscientious tour guide, but the content of the information conveyed anout Pennsylvania Avenue was limited in depth for anyone with even a little familiarity and lacked a theme or themes to focus the guide's anecdotes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJK175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean W, Owner at DC Walkabout, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It is not everyday that we have someone on the tour who has been living in or near DC for 40+ years, being thoroughly engaged in the community as well as an avid lover of history. We commend you for your astute level of knowledge - but must disagree with your assessment the Pennsylvania Avenue tour is without theme; it is clearly thematically consistent as it details and walks through time whilst narrating the rich and exciting history of the avenue. The theme is the Avenue incarnate - its birth, its growth, its highs and lows, its successes its failures, its meaning to DC as a whole, and its breakthrough into modern day, with both the beautiful and the gritty sides revealed.
The magnetism of this part of downtown Washington DC is primarily focused in the direction of out-of-town visitors as well as families, but even the keen citizens of our nation's capital come out regularly for the tour. Perhaps the heart of the tour was not given an opportunity to shine in your eyes and ears - this could be due to the fact that you decided to not stay with the group for a large portion of the tour. This is America, free choice reigns supreme, but let not the fact you missed half of the tour cloud the truth of many of the interesting anecdotes along the way, for while your knowledge surpasses that of most visitors as well as even most amateur historians, rest assured there is exciting knowledge to be soaked up in stories on this tour that include:
-The most famous duel in American history
-The White house and all of its architectural eccentricities, including when it has been attacked, burned, rebuilt, renovated, redecorated, trivia, etc.
-Presidential assassination attempts, their stories, and locations
-The Great Depression and how Penn Ave was affected
-Modern day protests (as frequently the tour has to navigate around and through major protests, given the location)
-The rise and fall of the American Streetcar
-Jokes between Canada and the United States
-Gambling and the 19th century and the story of how that affected Congress
-A couple of Civil War era entries into the American Lexicon that originate on Penn Ave
-The Navy Memorial, its grand design, and the significance of the US Navy
-The location of where the Declaration of Independence is on display
-The FBI and its origins, nicknames, etc.
-The Old Post Office and its significance, its breathtaking sights, and its story (both past and future - wink wink)
-The route of Presidential Inauguration parades and the specific history behind them
-The original map of DC and how it came to be, and what happened to its creator
-The story of "The most cursed Man in America"
-John J Pershing Memorial and how the USA came to be regarded as a world superpower
-Where did our National Anthem first become a song? (Hint, its on the tour)
-And really, that is just scraping the surface, which gets us excited just writing about it, much less the opportunity to see for yourself while being guided by a local guide/historian, and for FREE at that.
Naturally, as an amateur historian who has lived in the area for so long, you have read, researched, visited, and even lived a portion of the history on the tour - which can only bring about one solid conclusion to our mind! And that is, you would be a great tour guide yourself - many tour guides in DC are also retired and have a wealth of knowledge to share, you are clearly one of those who could be great at it. Remember, for thousands of years stories have been passed down by oral tradition, from Native American tribes to Greek tragedies, from American folklore to Homeric Epics and even Shakespeare - and that is what we love about history and why we do what we do!
Good luck in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent, Informative & Entertaining!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I did the American Scandals tour with Sean and it was a great way to spend a Friday night! The tour starts in Lafayette Park closest to the Hay-Adams (sight of many high jinks from the Iran-Contra scandal) then makes its way through the park to the White House, past Treasury, then a well paced stroll down Pennsylvania Avenue, end up in front of the U.S. Capitol building. Sean is a friendly, knowledgeable, and entertaining tour guide. This tour is free, so please be sure to tip at the end 'cause Sean is working for tips. This is a walking tour; bear in mind that the walk from start to finish is about 2 1/4 miles, so wear comfortable walking shoes. I've lived in DC a few decades now and I've been lucky enough to travel the world over. DC is now my adopted hometown and I still like to do the "touristy" stuff. There were many locals on this tour as well, so apparently I'm not alone in my interest in seeing the sightsandlearning the history. I give DC Walkabouts my highest recommendation; it's great for locals and visitors alike.

As a side note, Washington DC is a beautiful city at night. The Capitol is typically quiet but it's all lit up and you can see all the way down the National Mall to see the Washington Monument.

Helpful?
Thank sojourner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!! Great walk, great pace, and great guide.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

It was a well balanced pace, and the Big 5, was a great tour. Love the info about FDR as well as the others and the unique story the guide knew!!!

Helpful?
Thank Coach_Nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Merrick, New York
1 review
“Really Entertaining Tours”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I did 2 tours with DC walkabout - Big Five and Capitol Hill. Both tours were awesome. The guide new everything about the story behind each monument as well the the story of the people they commerate. Sean did a great job at blending the textbook knowledge as well the historical gossip. I would definitely recommend DC walkabout to everyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Walking Tour!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the DC Scandals walking tour. The guide, Sean (who's darn hot too!), was casual, funny and very thorough...he did a great job introducing us to the various DC sites (White House to Capitol) and the various scandals associated with them. I actually knew of most of the scandals, but I'd never been close to where they took place and his description matched what I remembered of them.

Highly recommended as an off-beat tour of DC!! And you sure can't beat the price...but, be sure and tip your guide!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC Walkabout also viewed

 

Been to DC Walkabout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing