We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun stop”

International Spy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.95*
and up
International Spy Museum
Ranked #48 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fun stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a good stop in DC. You get to see the tools of the trade and there are many. Also facts about some famous spy's.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback regarding your visit! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed exploring the ever-changing field of espionage. We hope you will spy on us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,560
    1,361
    671
    263
    128
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BLAH”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Gotta be six to enjoy this one. We read everything...played their game...did well...came away feeling hosed. Just BLAH. Do something else with your cherished time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nantzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Director of Operations at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for spying on us and we truly regret you had a less than exciting experience.
At our Museum exit we ask guests to offer their feedback to a Spy staff, did you have a chance to discuss your experiences with an operative? Feel free to contact me at 202.393.7798. I am unclear what experience you are referring to as we offer several options and want to make sure we respond and address all constructive feedback.
We hope the rest of your visit to Washington, DC was an enjoyable one.
Michael Kruelle
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had a 15, 18 and 23 year old with us and they all enjoyed this museum. It was a lot of fun and there was a lot to see and do. There are many hands on, interactive exhibits as well as interesting facts. Lipstick cases, brief cases, shoes, mailboxes all used for spying. Crawling through ducts and the 007 exhibit make this a really fun museum and I would highly recommend visiting it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveln_Family04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback regarding your visit!
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed exploring the ever-changing field of espionage!
If you are interested in continuing your training in a more interactive experience, we highly recommend Operation Spy, our one-hour intense interactive mission where you take the role of an intelligence officer on the hunt for a missing nuclear triggering device.
We hope you spy on us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great morning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great morning had looking round the museum they showed great interesting spy history and artifacts which showed us how cleaver spy's are. I enjoyed looking round at the beginning of my trip for a cover for myself so I could pretend to be a spy great idea guys.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday-Lady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback regarding your visit! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed visiting the museum and hope you will return soon as we are always looking for recruits like you to participate in Operation Spy, our one-hour intense interactive mission where you take on the role of an intelligence officer on the hunt for a missing nuclear triggering device in a foreign country.
Thanks again for spying on us and we hope you come to save Khandar soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Museum Royale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Any Bond fans in your group? They'll love this museum, which devotes a whole floor to this hero. But there's something for everyone here--history and mystery buffs, young and old. How fun to see tape recorders that could fit in a lipstick case and secret weapons the size of an eyebrow pencil. Besides the fictional spies, you'll learn about real-life heroes--and villains!--from every era. Be sure to allow plenty of time as there are several floors and lots of interactive exhibits here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kekerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback regarding your visit!
We're happy to hear that your family enjoyed exploring the ever-changing field of espionage! We hope your team of spies will visit us again soon to partake in one of our additional experiences, like Operation Spy or Spy in the City.
Thanks again for choosing to spy on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing