We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited DC during the shutdown...would go here again anyway!”

International Spy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.95*
and up
International Spy Museum
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
Ranked #47 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Kauai, HI
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Visited DC during the shutdown...would go here again anyway!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our trip to the east coast had been planned for months before the federal government shutdown, including our apartment in DC and flights out of the city...so we went, despite the fact that everything we were bringing our son to DC to visit would be closed. Of course, we found ourselves in the spy museum. Tickets were not inexpensive, but I had scored a deal on groupon so keep your eyes open. This museum turned out to be such a pleasant surprise. My 9 year old son, my husband AND my father couldn't get enough of it and probably could have spent all day in the James Bond exhibit alone, but in truth they did a great job, there were plenty of learning opportunities regarding the LONG history of international espionage which I found fascinating. The museum did a great job in developing interactive features throughout that kept the learning feeling more like a fun experience for my son that a history lesson. I would go again on our next trip to DC, though with everything else open will probably spend less time there as I believe our visit lasted about 7 hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJeanneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit the International Spy Museum and provide feedback regarding your visit!
WOW! 7 HOURS?! That's the most that I've heard of someone spending here, but I guess that time flies when you're learning about spies!
When you come back to visit us, I think your group would enjoy our Operation Spy experience. This separate interactive experience tests your spy skills in a live-action, one-hour mission and is limited in the number of spies that can participate in each adventure. Teams must decode phone calls, interrogate suspects, and sneak into secret areas as they take the role of an intelligence officer on a mission in a foreign country. You'll only have one hour to save the world!
Thanks again for spying on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,681
    1,459
    715
    272
    134
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an afternoon!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I went there with my family and we had a blast. The guide was really nice and helpful. The activities are very engaging and have you trying your best to be a spy. I highly recommend it and I'll visit it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pigodraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit the International Spy Museum and provide feedback regarding your visit!
We truly appreciate you taking the time out of your day to save the country of Khandar in our Operation Spy experience! We hope your mission was successful and are happy to hear that you enjoyed saving the world in one hour!
Thanks again for spying on us and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed with 007 exhibit”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very interesting artifacts and exhibits . I was not so interested in the 007 exhibits though as a girl I am not into that and did not watch any of those movies . I went with my husband and my 2 male children ages 30 and 10 . They enjoyed it . We were given a 15.00 military discount . So the price was a little better .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilson977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit the International Spy Museum and provide feedback regarding your visit!
Our newest exhibit, "Exquisitely Evil: 50 Years of Bond Villains," has something to offer to all ages and interests. Even those who are not really familiar with the world of 007 can find it exciting to test their spy skills against him by disarming bombs, encountering sharks, and hanging from high ledges as the world's most famous secret agent does on a regular basis. On the factual end, our exhibit also compares the fictional world of Bond to the factual one with interviews with real agents describing their own "Bond Moment" during their time on the field.
Thanks again for choosing to spy on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must Be a Real "Spy" Enthusiast”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Unless you are really into spy history , this museum is not worth the money . There are many other museums in Washington that are a lot more interesting (and free!) than this one. Although some exhibits are pretty good, there seems to be a lot of repetition, e.g. guns, cameras etc. Also, at the end of the tour, there is a James Bond exhibit which is good if you are a "big" fan of these movies. In addition, we do not recommend for smaller children under 10. They would like it at first but get bored quickly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit the International Spy Museum and provide feedback regarding your visit!
The mission of the International Spy Museum is to educate the public about espionage in an engaging way and to provide a context that fosters understanding of its important role in and impact on current and historic events. We try our best to do this in a way that is accessible to all ages and interests.
Our newest exhibit, Exquisitely Evil is a highly interactive area of the museum which focuses on the villains from the ever-popular James Bond films. This exhibit not only has over 100 artifacts used in the films, but also compares the fictional world of espionage to the factual one. The interactive stations in this exhibit test your skills further and give you your own "Bond Moment." These interactives show how challenging the fictional world of espionage is in the James Bond films, testing physical ability as well as mental spy skills.
Another option for groups with younger agents looking for a more interactive experience is Spy in the City, an outdoor mission where guests will be on the hunt for a mole within our organization using a GPS device.
We hope you were able to enjoy the interactive experiences we have to offer and thank you for spying on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Deny anything, except how great this museum is!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Terrific way to learn about the secret past of the USA. Fun for all ages. Tons of interactive stations from ciphering to surveillance. A whole 007 wing! Great artifacts and exhibits. Gift shop is cool also. Give yourself a lot of time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback about your visit!
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed learning more about the ever-changing field of espionage. Hopefully you will be able to return and try your hand at being a spy in our Operation Spy mission, if you feel like saving the world!
Thanks again for spying on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing