We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun afternoon with the family”

International Spy Museum
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$19.50*
and up
International Spy Museum
More Info
$73.75*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Washington DC Wine-Tasting Tour by Pedicab
Ranked #49 of 460 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The museum was more crowded than I anticipated, so I was glad we had heeded the advice to purchase tickets online ahead of time. There was a lot to see and we did spend several hours there. Our kids, ages 6, 10, and 13 enjoyed it as much as my husband and I. Lots of fun, interesting history and a different type of museum than many of the others in DC. The kids enjoyed the interactive exhibits - there was a lot to do for all ages. Very young children might be bored, but our 6 year old loved it and talked about it for a week after.

1  Thank sksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello

Thank you and your Spy Family for Spying with us. We appreciate your feedback. We recommend two hours to view the museum. The International Spy Museum features the largest collection of international espionage artifacts ever placed on public display and guests can take longer than the recommended viewing time to get the full Spy experience. We are the the only public museum in the United States solely dedicated to espionage. Our museum mission is to educate the public about espionage in an engaging way. Thank you again and Keep Spying...We will Catch you later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,044 - 3,048 of 4,468 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The International Spy Museum is certainly worth a visit, though I would point visitor to the Smithsonian museums on the National Mall (Air and Space, American History, etc) first. That's not to take away were ample interesting attractions on display here, I appreciated the display of spy gadgets (exploding pens! killer umbrellas!) and, especially as a James Bond fan, the movie memorabilia. The museum's coverage of espionage did at times feel a little broad, but overall it was a great way to spend an afternoon and a recommendable experience.

Thank Fredwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello

Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and taking the time to provide feedback about your visit. We have our interactive James Bond exhibit Exquisitely Evil: 50 Years of Bond Villains. What is Cool about our Bond exhibit is how we relate the James Bond movies to today. My Bond Moment has actual Spies telling their experiences from actual missions and explaining how they were like scenes from a James Bond movie. We have over 250 real life Spy materials through out the museum, many of these artifacts were used in real missions. Thank you again for your feedback and Spying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This museum explores many aspects of spying. Although not very in-depth, it gives a good, broad overview of the many aspects of espionage and illustrates many with historical examples. Discount tickets can be obtained at goldstar.com. The museum is busy, with many people in each exhibit room. Nonetheless, you can go at your own pace and take the time to wait and see/experience each exhibit. In some rooms, the lighting is too dim to read when video is playing, and you will need to wait for opportune moments. Overall, a great attraction.

1  Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello

Thank you for visiting the International Spy Museum and providing feedback about your visit.. The International Spy Museum is the only public museum in the United States solely dedicated to espionage and the only one in the world to provide a global perspective on an all-but-invisible profession. It is Great to hear your vist was a pleasant experience. Thank you again for your visit and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My 8 year old son and I really enjoyed our visit. There is a wide array of things for all ages. Granted, my son like the hands-on stuff better than other exhibits where you simply read facts. You start off the museum by choosing an alias. Throughout the museum you can answer questions and see how you do up against the interrogators. The entire floor devoted to James Bond was the highlight of the museum. Try to go early - lots of school groups took the place over in the afternoon.

1  Thank OriginalFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello

Thank you for your Fun comments and taking the time to Spy with us. We have over 250 real life Spy materials throughout the museum. The mission of the International Spy Museum is to educate the public about espionage in an engaging way by exploring the craft, practice, history, and contemporary role of espionage. We are glad your visit, was a good experience. Thank you again for your feedback and Spying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a neat place, however I felt it was overpriced. I took two teenage girls who did like all the interactive activities. I think I probably enjoyed it more than them.

Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello

Thank you and your two teenage girls for Spying with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your International Spy Museum mission. The International Spy Museum is a privately owned and operated museum completely independent of tax money or government funding. Your admission fee, together with retail and membership revenue, supports the Museum's research, exhibitions, and educational programming. Keep Spying and We will catch you later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing