We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience International Spy Museum
from $18.20
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $13.50
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
Reviews (4,879)
Filter reviews
4,602 results
Traveler rating
1,863
1,541
762
289
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,863
1,541
762
289
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviews james bond cold war real spies gift shop interactive exhibits a lot of fun older kids all ages hands on activities whole family great for kids two hours three hours on display espionage gadgets identity
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,602 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

interesting and informative history here. Would love to see more interactive experiences though. Very well put together and easy to find

Thank tkuntz2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Agent tkuntz2530,

Thank you for sharing your Intel! It is our mission to educate the public on the history of espionage in a fun and engaging way for all. So, you may be happy to know that in mid-2019 we are moving to our new location at L'Enfant Plaza with all new exhibits and interactives. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to DC and that you will spy again with us when we are at our new home.

Ashley McDowell
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Lots of fun and information. Good for all ages. Remember that you are always being watched. Look up...
Great tools and exhibits

Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Agent Chris J,

We're so glad to hear that your mission was a success! It is our mission to educate the public on the history of espionage in a fun and engaging way for all ages. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to DC and that you will spy again with us soon!

Ashley McDowell
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with one 5 and one 7 year old. We paid roughly $35 and spent about 35 minutes...not a fabulous value. There was a short intro film after which we were released into a small group of rooms that had various artifacts, photos etc., of little interest to either child. The kids’ major attraction was an air vent which they could crawl.

In a city such as Washington, where there are numerous museums that are well-staffed and curated, this was a disappointment.

Thank nina20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Agent nina20007,

Thank you for your intel. I regret to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. Our mission is to educate the public about espionage and intelligence in an engaging way. While our museum content is intended for guests aged 7 and up, we have multiple interactives (such as the air vent) in addition to family missions that help them understand the world of espionage. Did you have the opportunity to speak with a member of our staff before you left? We appreciate your feedback, and if you have any additional concerns, please feel free to reach out to us directly with the information below.

Thank you for spying with us.

Liz Clapp
Guest Services Manager
202.393.7798
Guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having said that, I must admit that the am not a James Bond fan. Therefore, I think the museum will appeal more to some people and less to others. It’s also tougher to enjoy if you are there with young children - 12 and younger. Most children will not be that entertained by this museum because there’s a lot of reading and displays of different spy gadgets. There are a couple of items that children will like such as crawling through a duct and hanging on to some James Bond thingy. If you are alone or with other adults who are interested in spy types of things, then you will probably enjoy it.

Thank FecFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Agent FecFam,

Thank you for sharing your Intel! We try to blend fun and engaging interactives to further our mission to educate the public on the history of espionage. If you have kids make sure to pick up an exciting Family Spy Mission at the front desk that you can participate in while looking through our exhibits. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to DC and that you will spy again with us soon!

Marc Buckhanon
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recognising the large number of free high quality venues in Washington, this one was a bit disappointing as regards content and was also quite expensive.

Thank KenzieLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Agent KenzieLondon_UK,

Thank you for sharing your Intel and we're sorry that your mission was not a complete success. Though as a private museum, we don't receive government funding and must charge admission in order to maintain our exhibits. However, there is a discount if you purchase tickets in advance on our website. You may be happy to know that we are moving to a new museum in mid-2019 at L'Enfant plaza. This new museum will have all new exhibits and interactives and is much bigger than our current location, giving us more room to explore the history of espionage. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to DC and that you will spy again with us when we are in our new home.

Marc Buckhanon
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

In DC to visit friends and we (3 Adults and 2 Teenagers) tried out this museum. First it is not a free museum so look for discounts for the tickets. There are many displays, information boards, videos, and hands on activities. We visited around noon on a Saturday and the museum was very crowded. I would recommend going during the week when there are heavy crowds and you have time to go through all the various displays. Well worth the visit, but just not when it is crowded.

Thank gatoreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Agent gatoreed,

We're glad to hear that your mission was a success! We blend fun and engaging interactives with historical exhibits to further our mission on education the public on the history of espionage. If the museum ever gets too crowded, you can always leave and come back at a better time as your tickets are good all day. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to DC and that you will spy again with us soon!

Ashley McDowell
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our least favorite of all the sites we visited while in DC. There is a lot to see but it is very repetitive and seems outdated in this day of ultra sophisticated snooping devices. How many hidden radios, cameras and listening devices can you look at before they all become a blur.

Thank Lms48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Agent Lms48,

We're sorry that your mission was not a complete success. We currently have the largest collection of artifacts on display and we try to blend this with fun exhibits and interactives. You may be happy to know that we are moving to a new location in mid-2019 that will have all new exhibits. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in DC and that you will spy again with us when we move to our new home.

Ashley McDowell
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So I had been before and might be willing to go again in 15 years. Some of the displays are fascinating and I would love to have seen more on spying through the ages. Heck AMC did a whole tv series on it. It was heavy in the cold war, which is what msny people think of they heyday of spying, so I get it. But how about more of what spies do now and how they do it?
Also, ninjas aren't spies. they are assassins. they do not need multiple displays. local ninjas 347 won't care if they get less play.
The biggest gripe I had: about half the museum was dedicated to james freaking bond. james bond is not a spy. he's not anything. he's imaginary. i did not go into the district on a busy day to learn bond trivia.

Thank 329erichk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Agent Erich K, Thank you for sharing this Intel. While our bond exhibit goes over the historical influences that are the basis for many bond villains, we will keep your thoughts in mind as we continue to improve our museum. Due to the sensitive nature of intelligence, we cannot display information until it has been declassified for several years. Information about current spies or spy tradecraft are not permitted to be displayed to the public. You may be happy to know that we are moving to a new museum in mid-2019 at L'Enfant plaza. This new museum will have all new exhibits and interactive and is much bigger then our current location, giving us more room to explore the history of espionage. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to DC and that you will spy again with us when we are in our new home.

Ashley McDowell
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This very fun museum let you become a double agent. In the process you will see and learn many things from the real world of spying. A most fascinating place. If you go now you will also catch the James Bond exhibit!!

Thank Claudia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Agent Claudia E,

We're so glad to hear that your mission was a success! It is our mission to educate the public on the history of espionage in a fun and engaging way. Our Bond exhibit goes over the historical influences that were the basis for many bond villains. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to DC and that you will spy again with us soon!

Ashley McDowell
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went on a Sat afternoon, and the venue was packed. We bought tickets there, and were able to get in line to begin the tour. We’re traveling with our daughter who’s in a wheelchair, and we got around fairly well by elevator. Everyone loved the gift shop, and got some cool spy stuff.

Thank Mis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Agent Mis4,

We're so glad to hear that your mission was a success! It is our mission to educate the public on the history of espionage in a fun and engaging way. If the museum ever does get too crowded you can always leave and come back at a better time as your tickets are good all day. We hope you enjoyed the rest of our visit to DC and that you will spy again with us soon!

Ashley McDowell
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews