We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different and exciting museum”

International Spy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.50*
and up
International Spy Museum
Ranked #89 of 472 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a great idea - a spy museum. You could spend a day here, but most people find one angle to really "dive" into.

Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"james bond"
in 712 reviews
"cold war"
in 206 reviews
"real spies"
in 53 reviews
"gift shop"
in 258 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 163 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 141 reviews
"older kids"
in 55 reviews
"all ages"
in 176 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 51 reviews
"whole family"
in 72 reviews
"great for kids"
in 58 reviews
"two hours"
in 79 reviews
"three hours"
in 47 reviews
"on display"
in 85 reviews
"civil war"
in 44 reviews
"espionage"
in 377 reviews
"gadgets"
in 284 reviews
Filter

4,018 - 4,022 of 4,588 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

My girls ages 10 and 12 loved it. My husband loved it. I thought it was ok. I think because it costs so much to get in for a family of four. The kids loved the tunnel in the ceiling. We did learn some neat things we didn't know. Not sure really small children would get much out of it.

Thank tilyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Hello,

Thank you and your family of spies for letting us spy on.....I mean for spying with us at the International Spy museum. It is cool to learn new things and the International Spy museum gives you a peek into the biggest secret of them all Spying! We appreciate your visit and your review. Keep Spying and have a Great day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We really enjoyed the various displays especially those that showed so many spying artifacts. Who knew spy's used fake dog poop to hide things?
There is so much here that you really need to give yourself a good two hours to walk through all of the exhibits. Younger kids (like 6 and younger) all around us did not seem to enjoy it nearly as much as the adults. There are some interactive things to do but if there is a big crowd, it's hard to get a turn.

Thank BreakingNews58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Hello,

We appreciate your review. Thank you for visiting the International Spy museum. The spy world is often shown in a serious light. At the spy museum we open up the spy world in an educational, interesting and fun way. It is great to hear you enjoyed your spy experience. You are correct you should give yourself time to view all of the real spy history, spy stories and spy artifacts. Thank you for your visit and your review, Keep Spying!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Thought this was a very unique and fun experience. Guests get a classified 'debriefing' and are told to memorize an undercover alias so they can go undercover as a spy! (not really, but it was fun watching people pick an identity from those offered and actually write down the details just in case of a pop quiz...) There are unique exhibits showcasing details of spy work throughout history, specific cases of known spies, spy artifacts, etc. Very interesting and worth a visit!

Thank screennamesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Hello,

Thank you for visiting the International Spy museum and leaving a review about your visit. Real spies do not write their secret identities down so I hope you did not write yours down as you may have learned while visiting the spy museum you do not want to leave a paper trail. The spy world is interesting and at the International Spy museum the spy information we share is 95
% authentic. The spy materials that you viewed was used in real spy missions! Thank you again for your feedback and your visit. Keep Spying and have a Nice day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This museum gives a little history, a little James Bond, a little action, and a lot of fun. There are some activities (not too strenuous) that you can do and there's lots to see and learn. You will learn about the history of spying including some interesting facts about people who might have been spys. We had enough fun that we would go again.

Thank Lazonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing