We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ritz Boutique". Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #49 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“"Ritz Boutique". Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Intimate, boutique feel at this fabulous Ritz property. Location could not be better in the middle of Georgetown with a short cab ride to all of the D.C. attractions. Loved the atmosphere of the lobby after a full day of touring the city. Was the perfect spot to enjoy a relaxing night cap with the family without the distraction of dozens of other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    70
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
114
89
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a unique hotel in a great location. It used to be a factory or a warehouse that the architects turned into a hotel. It's in the heart of Georgetown with a wide array of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Great for swanky pre-dinner cocktails in the bar and lobby. We did not try the restaurant for dinner but our rate included breakfast and it was fine. Truthfully, the dinner menu didn't look all that interesting. We had a nice view of the adjacent church from our room and they had a nice coffee service in the lobby in the morning. Given the opportunity, we would stay there again In a heartbeat. The only reason I give this place a 4 instead of a 5 is because they lack the destination restaurant that most other RCs have.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I think the hotel is beautiful - just across from my favorite little church Grace Episcopal, right in the heart of charming Georgetown and full of smiling faces - but I am wondering why management makes so many bad choices?

"Putting on the Ritz" was supposed to be a night away from the kids, wooing my spouse, wallowing in comfort, and generally realigning my inner mettle before heading back out into the real-life world of commute and paperwork... Why did I leave more worried about this hotel's overhead than my own?

Times must be bad when $500.00+ doesn't even buy you the basic necessities:

1. Don't bother paying for a movie - the TV screen is full of horrible lines and sound is barely decipherable. The dialogue in MEN IN BLACK 3 was beyond my ken.

2. Don't throw away anything - the RITZ can't afford a garbage liner in the living area, nor a waste paper basket in the bathroom.

3. If you want to use wi-fi, better look for an EconoLodge...

4. Bring your own tissues.

5. Don't sit outside, "ie don't smoke", because the RITZ doesn't turn on the outside heaters.

6. Certainly don't expect a clock in the bathroom, nor a bathtub for two, mini tv, extra shower heads etc.

7. Go on a diet - room service gouges.

8. And if you book a "Large Premier Room" -- learn to walk sideways.

I believe that if we had asked for something, or complained, we could have received tissues, outdoor heat, waste paper basket etc. But I think luxury still means staying where someone else has considered the clients' needs before request.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherish_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great rooms, well-appointed, nicely furnished, unique modern old world feel to the entire hotel. Love the lobby lounge with complimentary spiced cider (at times) and oversized wood-burning fireplace with plenty of seating around. You can enjoy a meal in the lounge near the fireplace or head up to Degrees bistro. The food is tasty and rooms are typically quiet. The spa is very nice, quiet and open to guests of the hotel. We typically stay here for a holiday every year and look forward to a tiny bit of pampering.

Room Tip: Get the AAA rate or government rate when on business. Definitely dine at the bistro-it will not let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here during the summer during a power outage in the city. Very nice, relaxed hotel in the city. The rooms and bathrooms are standard Ritz quality. The hotel is laid out differently, however that is because this was an old factory (so I am told). Nonetheless, the location is rgeat and the staff is very friendly and personable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBX2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I absolutely loved discovering this place. After mistakenly going to the R-C in Washington, DC, the one in Georgetown was heaven sent. Loved the atmosphere when you first walk in -- very quiet, serene and cozy. (Appeared to have some English charm to it.) The plus for this first visit were the sauna and steam room (small -- fits like 4-6 people cozily) and the quiet atmosphere. The negatives -- small space for changing/locker rooms, so when there were 6 of us trying to get into and out of the changing area it wasn't easy...but we were all accommodating. The massage was good -- not GREAT -- but good. The hostess and valet were more than professional and courteous. I'd say great experience. But would have to go back to try out some of their other treatments. Bottom line: if you're looking for comfort, quiet and relaxation you'll find it here...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown is situated in a great location within Washington, DC...Georgetown. You will want for nothing during your stay...everything is within walking distance. Great food and shopping all around the hotel. Behind the hotel is an AMC movie theater and access to the waterfront. This is a perfect get-away for couples wishing to take time out of busy life to unwind and reconnect. The hotel offers valet parking...can go in and out as many times as you would like for about $50 per night. However, there is a $10 parking lot across the street (less than 50 feet) away from the hotel...the only downside is that you park at your own risk overnight. There are a couple of other parking garages ranging from $22 to $35 daily...do not park in the garage next door to the AMC theater because it is the most expensive garage for sure. In terms of accommodations...the decor is unique for a Rtiz-Carlton...modern and very warm and inviting. The checkin was fantastic...the valet open and close doors and great you with Sir and Madam. The rooms are in excellent condition. The flat screen TV is accompanied by a Bose entertainment center/system. The bathroom has a nice tub (a little small for two people), but a nice way to get the party started; separate shower and toilet. The bed is very comfortable. The curtains keep out 99% of light and external noise (from street and other guests) was non-existent - we did ask for quiet room upon arrival. The hotel offers a turndown service, which should be standard for all hotels of this caliber, but are not unfortunately. The room is stocked with snacks (you pay for) and there is 24-hour room service. We had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. The service and food was good. I do not think it is worth the money though...but I recommend not spoiling a good weekend, by trying to leave the hotel to get some breakfast after sleeping in from a wonderful night...a little more money will not hurt you at this point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iknowtravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing