We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown) (Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
First Family Package
Ranked #48 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here with my mum in the Spring for a girly city break and we weren't disappointed. The hotel staff are attentive and professional and can't do enough for you. It's definitely a business hotel, as you can expect in the capital of the US, so i think we got extra attention being the only people there who clearly weren't putting the trip on expenses.
We had a bit of confusion when booking in, as we had booked a room with 2 double beds and had been booked into a room with 1 king bed. I have a feeling they thought we were a same-sex couple on paper, as my married name is double-barrel with my maiden name and we were both Mrs. This was resolved quickly though and they were very apologetic. The doormen are very friendly and professional and even helped my mum put some extra shopping in her suitcase in the lobby before we left for the airport.
The room was clean, spacious and quiet, with the most amazing pillow top mattresses! I'd had a stiff neck for a week before going away and it had gone by the end of our stay. The service does go above and beyond, but sometimes you do just want to be left alone - especially if you want an afternoon nap!
Georgetown is a great location for shopping and just wandering around. It's a really pretty area with a lot of history, but is a cab ride away from the main tourist area. We would get a cab to the museums in the morning, then come back and get cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcakes (as seen on tv), which is a couple of blocks away from the hotel. The best museums we visited were the Crime museum, Museum of American history and the Native American museum (which does amazing vegetarian food!). Our only let down in DC was that the reflecting pool is being renovated, so is empty and surrounded by wire fencing. This was a bit of a disappointment as it ruined the view from the Abe Lincoln memorial. It is an exceptionally clean city though and you can walk just about anywhere once you're in the main drag.
We ate near the hotel in the evenings and there's plenty of places to get food. Our favourite was a place called "Clyde's", which is a pub/restaurant which has that "St. Elmo's Fire" feel about it, as do a few of the restaurants in Georgetown. Nice food at a decent price, with a great atmosphere.
All in all it was a great trip at a lovely hotel and my mum can't wait to go back again with my dad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amycakes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    70
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
113
89
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel located in a former brick factory, is a excellent place for a weekend in the Georgetown/D.C . area. Close enough to visit the the sites and still have access to the stores and restruants in Georgetown. Good Spa and the food in the hotel restruant and lobby is also good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joedonchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We felt welcomed and cared for from the moment we entered the Ritz-Carlton until the moment we left. At check in we were greeted with bottles of water and hot towels - what a nice touch after traveling! Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge!

I would definitely stay at the Ritz in Georgetown next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmbkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
392 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic location off a main street through Georgetown. Restored industrial building, very cool lobby. Nice rooms. I had a corner suite which was HUGE. I'd stay here again....excellent service as is expected from the Ritz

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is a boutique hotel. 80-something rooms, but to get to ours was down stars underground back up and finally in. Single restaurant/bar. Decent drinks food, but although the bartender was awesome, table service was not slow and not attentive, and the wine was warm -- which to their credit they took care of. Very nice lounging area with servers -- expanded lobby type thing. In-room breakfast was average. Typical awesome ritz service. But...just kinda boring hotel.if it was anything but a Ritz it probably would get another star --- but for a Ritz, it wasn't all that.

Room Tip: 106 was our room. Didn't seem like the best, but it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The site of an old incinerator provides a warm homelike welcome to its guests. The staff were superb and the rooms quiet and restful. The refreshments available on Friday night were a special treat. A place I will return to.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLass2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Far and away the best high-end offering in Georgetown and probably DC. Located in the heart of Georgetown on a quiet side street the Ritz feels more of a small boutique hotel than a large chain (best of both worlds). Quiet, elegant lobby with all the Ritz touches that one comes to expect from the brand. We were in a large 2 room suite (bedroom and living room) with very large master shower/bathroom and 2nd powder room in living room. Funiture and fixtures were new, overall room appeared to be brand new and very clean.

We only stayed on a Saturday night in late September - and didnt use the spa or any of the other facilities available at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courchevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing