We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #39 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The site of an old incinerator provides a warm homelike welcome to its guests. The staff were superb and the rooms quiet and restful. The refreshments available on Friday night were a special treat. A place I will return to.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLass2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    72
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
119
91
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Far and away the best high-end offering in Georgetown and probably DC. Located in the heart of Georgetown on a quiet side street the Ritz feels more of a small boutique hotel than a large chain (best of both worlds). Quiet, elegant lobby with all the Ritz touches that one comes to expect from the brand. We were in a large 2 room suite (bedroom and living room) with very large master shower/bathroom and 2nd powder room in living room. Funiture and fixtures were new, overall room appeared to be brand new and very clean.

We only stayed on a Saturday night in late September - and didnt use the spa or any of the other facilities available at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courchevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent two days for a short DC trip with the kids. We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Washington DC the last time we visited and although it was a beautiful hotel with great service and is within walking distance to the national mall, it was not a great fit for us. This time around, we chose the Ritz Carlton in Georgetown thanks, in part, to the Fine Hotels and Resorts Program with American Express. The hotel is beautiful and the service is 5 star all the way. We arrived in the late afternoon and was greeted by very friendly staff. They even treated my daughters to fresh made s'mores and milk as we were checking in which was an instant hit with the kids! Oh and when we arrived in our suite there was a complimentary fruit & cheese plate for us to enjoy, what a treat for me!

The location in Georgetown is great. Just a very short two block walk and you're right in the middle of Georgetown's shopping area. The only downside for some but not for us, is the location from the National Mall. It is a good 10 minute taxi ride to/from the museums. On a side note, we noticed that the taxis fares varied to/from Georgetown to the National Mall. The Ritz Carlton concierge told us that there are some taxi drivers that will purposely take the long route to make a little extra fare so he told us to always tell the driver to take the short route via constitution ave (I think that was the street but double check with the concierge to make sure).

Our overall experience at the Ritz Carlton did not disappoint, from the moment we stepped out of our taxi on the first day to the moment we said goodbye, they really made an effort to make us feel extra special. Kudos to the staff and management at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aznycmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family of 4 spent Labor Day weekend at this quiet, boutique-like Ritz-Carlton. Talk about location, it is just one block away from M Street and Wisconsin Avenue, the heart of G'town, but yet, it is on a side street, so it is very quiet and unassuming. We had a one bedroom suite on the west side, so we had to walk thru the brick hallway that resembles walking thru an old castle. Our room was very large, and the bathroom was incredible, the shower could fit all 4 of us! Plus it was nice to have an extra half bathroom. We arrived late and were planning to enter Georgetown to find dinner, but it started to rain, so we ended up eating dinner in their lobby area. The waiter was very nice, as he provided the restaurant menu (restaurant was closed) instead of the lobby lite fare menu. Service as usual was excellent and the people were very nice (no snobbery at all). The weather was quite hot and humid, and the front desk kept insisting we take their bottled water. Besides being close to Georgetown, the hotel is one block from Washingtown Harbour, so it was ideal for my son and I to take a water taxi to Nationals Park to watch a baseball game. In addition, we brought our bicycles, so down by the Harbour, we were able to get onto DC's bike paths, and we spent an entire day riding our bikes to visit the monuments, museums and Hains Point. The next morning, I went by myself and rode on the C&O towpath and then continued on the Capital Crescent Trail all the way up to Bethesda. The hotel is a great location place to bike without riding on the streets. We did have some minor issues:
- When we returned from biking, we were unable to enter our suite. The electronic key was not working. We had the front desk people, the security, and finally maintenance crew come in to replace our lock. They continuously apologized and comp'd us with a free movie and a free drink in the bar. It took them over 2 hours to fix our lock
- For some reason, one of our bikes was slightly damaged as the rear wheel was not on (the quick release knob was released). The bellman had a room off the main entrance to store our bikes, but I am not sure if they or the car valet know how to handle bicycles because how could the quick release get used? Had to visit a bike shop to re-align the wheel (when I just put the wheel back, it was chafing on the brakes, so I must have misaligned it. It was a quick fix at the bike shop
- We had the bed and breakfast package, but for some reason, our last breakfast was fully charged as it was tallied under as a lunch (instead of breakfast). When we got home, we had to call the hotel to get it resolved.
Still, these issues did not deter us from having a wonderful stay at this hotel. We think this hotel is better than the Ritz Carlton in Washington DC or the one in Pentagon City (and even those hotels are just as nice and friendly and cordial too)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figmentsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the Ritz in Georgetown for our 30th wedding anniversary this summer. First, I will tell you it is very difficult to find this secluded hotel. When we phoned, they told us to look for the 200-foot-high smokestack. Unfortunately, there were a couple of smokestacks in Georgetown, but we eventually found it, tucked away so discreetly we had to ask if we were at the right place when we pulled up!

Upon arrival, we were welcomed into a very dark lobby that is carved out of the old incinerator that was the building's original use. Our suite was exceedingly large, with a lovely marble bath and a separate half-bath off the living room. We had requested a balcony room, but instead we got a somewhat below-street-level room with a view of a public party area. A view of the river would have been nice!

The rooms were very quiet -- no street noise, no hallway noise. The staff was outstanding -- again, very discreet but every wish was anticipated or fulfilled immediately.

This hotel seemed very popular with foreign businesspeople. We did not have a chance to eat in the restaurant, but we did have a lovely "Happy Anniversary" cupcake tray in our room upon arrival. I did not try the spa either, but we did spend a lot of time walking in Georgetown, and of course, in Washington. What was nice about this hotel's location was that you felt you were out of the fray, but just a short half-block away was M Street with all its shops and restaurants and easy walkability.

In reading other reviews, I have only one thing to say -- there was a hotel van???? They never offered use of it to us, even though we were going short distances. They always called a cab for us, even when we inquired if there was a house car. Humph. We did notice that the business people were treated more respectfully than we, a couple of schlubs from Texas who just wanted to have a lovely anniversary trip!

In conclusion, the hotel was nice, but I'm not sure I'd stay there again. There are a lot of fine hotels in the DC area. We spent a lot of money to be treated indifferently. I'd recommend it for business travelers who are well dressed.

Room Tip: You can request a room with a view. Good luck. Our basement room was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Right in the middle of Georgetown, this hotel is in a place where you'd never expect it to be. gotta hit the very nearby cupcake shop if you stay here. Definitely more of a modern style Ritz. Bathroom was fantastic and the room was nice with a good bed. Stayed here 4 nights for business. One issue is that I did ask for a room on a high floor with a decent view, and instead got put in a room on the ground floor with a view of a walking path. Possibly they were really filled up. While relaxing in the lobby a few times a waiter approached me without hesitation asking if I'd like a drink. That was nice. However, I did walk a fair distance with a small bag to the hotel and I was visibly tired, yet the person checking me in never offered me a water, which was given to other folks without them asking. So that was a faux pas. Also close to the B&O canal which I suggest folks visit if it was open. A ton of great restaurants of different prices and tastes which are great very close. It is a little far from the closest metro stop but the hotel van will take you there or anywhere else within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurningSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The lobby was not was I was expecting, but I loved the modern feel. The food was fabulous, staff amazing and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The only problem is that I was only there one night. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMcJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing