We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing oasis in the midst of the area”
Review of SiTea

SiTea
Ranked #109 of 142 Coffee & Tea in Washington DC
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
VA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing oasis in the midst of the area”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Sitea Tea Room atmosphere is extremely relaxing and inspirational. It is a very small intimate setting with warm, rich, vibrant colors and aesthetically pleasing textures. There is a calming eastern religion spiritual theme to the environment as well. The cozy couches and chairs as well as a window nook make the space ideal for one-on-one conversations or individual tranquility. The unique blend of exotic international, rhythm and blues and jazzy music elevate the atmosphere.

The tea service is exquisite. It is very personalized and unique. The tea is presented beautifully with care. The tea blends are absolutely dreamy. SiTea is definitely a pleasant experience worth having for people who appreciate tea in an urban locale.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srbrown39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I happened upon this priceless tea shop and cafe on my way to a friends home near the Takoma Metro station.

I suspect many things have changed since the last couple of reviews posted here more than a year ago. The neighborhood has undergone quite a gentrification and has a fresh new look. The tea shop itself offers food such as samosas, soups, muffins and other items.

Like the other reviewers, I can't say enough about the customer service and the ambience of this place. It's as if you have stepped into another world upon crossing their threshold. I felt transported to Morocco or India or a love child of both.

Upon entering I was greeted with sample of the tea of the day, a chai made with almond milk. I was told I could choose from any of the numerous teas on the shelf but after tasting the sample my tongue was convinced I had to have the tea on tap. I paired that with a Samosa (and I have been to India and this was very authentic!) And a cup of Jamaican jerk chili. Although I have not visited Jamaica, I would imagine this to be how chili would taste there. It was rich and well-seasoned. I left impressed and satisfied -- just what every traveler needs.

PS – they also have very strong Wi-Fi which came in handy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JokersWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great addition to the neighborhood-but it needs something more”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Don't let the location stop you from trying SiTea. Scary-looking shops with bars on the windows, mean-looking folks scowling from a nail salon, drunks and homeless in a park across the street. Don't leave anything visible when you park your car. Okay, that is out of the way...this is a great residential area by the Takoma Metro, but this block of commecial properties is like the Lost World...time has moved on but they are stuck in decay and dis-investment. Sad, sad, sad.

Dane is the sweetest guy in the world and the tea and service are great. Nice atmosphere, wireless, convenient. Now, get something comfortable to sit on, please!

How about some foods to pair with the tea? Source it locally? Work some cross-promotions...anything.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraftsmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
170 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Unique Retreat for Conversation and Tea”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Not your usual noisy, rushed tea/coffee stop but a unique warm retreat for quiet conversation while sharing remarkable tea mixtures made in-house. The decor and setting create a private North African British living room, with sofas and chairs that create spaces that can be used by couples or small groups. Silk pillows and subtle fragrances from the teas add to the relaxing setting. The charming African American hosts and owners help you to select your tea from the mixtures displayed in a shelf along one wall. Try the Teatini - an iced tea served in a big martini glass with special sugar crystals on the rim. Their special spiced pistacios eaten one at a time created an explosion of flavors on the tongue. The sweet potato cupcakes were good too. Entering here is like going thru a Hobbit Hole door into another world along an otherwise unremarkable dark block of small Takoma storefronts. A fun place to go in the evening after dinner, not far from the Takoma metro stop. A great place for couples who enjoy being pampered in unique settings that mix exotic teas with DC African American heritage and flair. More like NYC than DC.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SiTea also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to SiTea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing