We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant way to get around DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Bikeshare

Capital Bikeshare
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capital Bikeshare offers access to a fleet of over 2,500 bicycles located at over 300 stations across Washington, D.C., Arlington, VA, Alexandria VA, and Montgomery County, MA. 24-hour and 3-day passes are available for purchase at any station throughout the system. Annual memberships, 30 day memberships, and daily key memberships are available for purchase online. Passes and memberships include an unlimited number of trips within your access period and the first 30 minutes of every trip is free.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant way to get around DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend were in DC in April 2013 and used these bikes. It's a fabulous way to get around to all the main sites and I would highly recommend it as it is far better than a bus and there is a lot of ground to cover on foot if you are only there for a short stay like us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    56
    10
    14
    68
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice on Summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The capital bikeshare are very practical if you like to feel the ambiance of the city. It's better than subway, first because it is very less expensive and also because your outside while travelling between monuments.
We enjoy very much our day pass !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemclemB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best way to get around the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have used these very accessible modes of transportation to enhance our sightseeing experience in the downtown and extended areas of DC. My husband discovered this unique, cost effective, "enjoy at your own pace" way to travel around the city during the busy Inauguration and again when we visited the city in the Spring! We were able to go places and experience sights that we would not have seen from a car.
It was a totally amazing riding directly down the center of Pennsylvania Avenue, from the White House to Capitol Hill, since they had removed the traffic lights in preparation for the Inauguration. We explored the National Mall and Smithsonian Museums, the Washington Monument, Reflecting Pool, Lincoln Memorial, around the Tidal Basin with its many meaningful monuments, to the Jefferson Memorial. In the Spring, we explored the Arlington National Cemetery.
It is easy to use the pick-up and drop-off kiosks, with many stations a short distance from one another. The bikes have three speeds and are simple to maneuver. I highly recommend giving this a try, because I am not a cyclist and had so much fun each time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BraintreeTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good way to get around - but don't expect to find a bike every time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

First off: hats off to any city that's doing its bit to promote this kind of transport system. Washington's heart is certainly in the right place. $7 for a day of travel around the sights of the National Mall and further afield to Arlington and Georgetown is certainly good value. To clarify: you have 30 minute window to get your bike docked into another station, not the 90 as one review has it, though you do get a 'safety' 15 minutes if you find all of the stations full when you reach your destination. Given that the metro is $2.70 a ride (when including the paper card) you can save yourself some money and sore feet with the bike.

The bikes are simply and easy to ride, and you can get a reasonable shunt going if you're so inclined, though I'm not sure why you'd want to unless you're a DC commuter heading into work, and then why are you reading this?

Here's the health warning: there are lots of tourists and bikes can become a premium in certain places (the Lincoln Memorial for example) so you can't expect to rock up and find one. The app is good, but doesn't update strictly in real time: by the time you reach the station the bikes might be gone. Some people are quite canny at dropping a bike then swiping for another 30 minutes, so pairs of bikes are sometimes hard to come by.

Personally, I wouldn't plan a day around using a bike, especially if you have are under time pressure to get back somewhere, but if you can afford to be a bit more relaxed this might be a fun, and useful, bonus attraction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank duffa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
195 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Greatest thing ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be a better way to explore DC. Download the Capital Bikeshare app for $1.99 or, even better, SpotCycle app for free. You can see where you are and find locations of CB bikes. There's even a timer so you can stop < 30 minutes. Best to carry your own helmet on a daypack. Simply brilliant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Bikeshare also viewed

 

Been to Capital Bikeshare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing