We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You!”
Review of Elisir Restaurant - CLOSED

Elisir Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 11th Between E and Pennsylvania
Transit: Metro Center, Smithsonian
Easton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thank You!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

There are not enough adjectives to describe the amazing meal we enjoyed at Osteria Elisir. Starting with the olive oil and sea salt tasting to the stuffed squid appetizer to the salads to the lamb ragu and duck and spinach pasta, everything was a tasty surprise. We knew immediately that all the glowing reviews were well earned. This is not your everyday Italian restaurant. The service is terrific, the staff knows the menu and is extremely friendly and helpful. A great wine list and homemade desserts (a cookie tray with pistachio zabaglione, I'm still thinking about that) made this one of our most memorable meals, we can't wait go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely upscale italian restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything nice , food, ambience, service, wine list, wine glasses, breads. Open kitchen , you feel and see chef's presence

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sbuerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Good!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The revamped Osteria Elisir is unbelievably good. Took a friend there for his birthday dinner--right after having read the very good review in the Washington Post--and it did not disappoint in anyway.Our guides Byron and Jenna knew the menu well and did a great job pointing out the options--of which there's a wide variety. I had the veal stew--phenomenal. Chef Enzo graciously came over to say hello. This was a treat on all levels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Interesting Italian”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first time here so I can't compare it to the old Elisir, but we all had an excellent meal. Not inexpensive but worth it. The open kitchen is great and looks very efficiently run. The food was excellent all around. Wine list is good but not much under $50.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“An Unhappy Experience..and wine cheaters!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I found this restaurant on Open Table since it was near the theater we we going to on a Saturday evening. Made a reservation..ended up spending more than $200 for dinner. However, the bad management decisions that affected our evening made me certain never to go there again.
First, we ordered appetizers..mine, a salad which came with goat cheese..which I don't eat. I can't tell you the number of times I have asked to substitute the goat cheese with another..never with a problem. I saw that this restaurant had gorgonzola and asked to have that instead. The waiter returned and informed me there would be a $3.00 charge to change to gorgonzola. I was not happy, but had no choice. The salad had 3 one inch squares of gorgonzola..for $3.00 which wasn't worth it for an unhappy customer.
Then I ordered a $14 glass of pinot grigio..I swear that the big wine glass had no more than 1 1/2 inches of wine in it..I complained when the waiter brought it but he just shrugged his shoulders. Later I ordered another and asked him to tell the bartender he was under pouring..the waiter returned with the same amount of wine and said that apparently he had no pull.
I will say that the food was good..we shared a $60 whole sea bass and it was fine. But the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth. I wouldn't go there if I were you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elisir Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing