We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Open Space To Dine In”
Review of The Hamilton

The Hamilton
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/26
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #100 of 3,840 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: F Street NW
Transit: A short walk from either the McPherson Square or Metro Center station along the Red, Orange and Blue Lines.
Description: The Hamilton is a 37,000 square feet, 500-seat restaurant and live entertainment venue offering three dining rooms, three bars and a sushi bar. The restaurant offers seasonal and regional American cuisine, for brunch, lunch, dinner, dessert, as well as a sushi menu. The Hamilton Live is the lower level 300-seat live music and entertainment venue offering nightly entertainment from local, national and international musicians.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Hamilton's is a large lofty elegant restaurant. They also offer a music venue downstairs. The menu is diverse and the food is above average. I had crabcakes which were very good but not as good as Old Ebbit Grills for the same price and a block away. Although, Hamilton's should be part of your dining choice while in DC.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buckeyenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 2,409 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2020

Good food well served in a fun environment. We have already recommended it to several friends who will be visiting DC. Nice selection of items on the menu.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Everything we had was good. Four of us met for dinner and ordered drinks and a variety of food. Service was very prompt. One person had filet mignon with brussels sprouts, another had a salmon filet with cream sauce and vegetables and two of us had the special menu with crab soup, beef bourguignon and bread pudding for dessert. This is a fancy restaurant next to the Willard Hotel with a wood mahogany interior. Prices are not cheap but not unreasonable considering the quality of food served. The restaurant was crowded even on a sunday night. Even the bread with butter was good. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

We ate here for lunch during restaurant week. They were very busy, but our server was still wonderful. It took a while to get our entree, everything else went well. The bananas foster milk shake was amazing. We had the fish and chips, which was also fabulous with a malt vinegar aioli. We will definitely go back next time we are in town.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank musicgal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Even if you just go in to sit at the bar, you'll love the ambience. I had a taste for Crawfish Etouffee, but that wasn't a part of the menu. However, Kortue Sammy, my waiter, recommended the Blackend Catfish Etouffee. I'm not one to follow the recommendation of the waitstaff, but I'm sure glad that I did this one time. That dish was EXCELLENT! It was just like Crawfish Etouffee, but it included a piece of blackend catfish. It was DELICIOUS! My waiter, Mr. Kortue Sammy, you'll want to ask for him. If you want 5-star service, you'll definitely want to ask for him. The gentleman made my dining experience even more pleasurable. Thank you Kortue for a very memorable experience. By the way, the restaurant is a 2-block walk from the Metro Center station.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hamilton also viewed

 
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing