We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Washington Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Downtown Washington Hostel
Holderness, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you want to be treat like a child, then this hostel is for you.
Upon arrival we were bombarded with rules, such as no shoes (unnecessary in my opinion) and additional rules such as no stealing - inappropriate and unnerving.
Security lacking, only a code to access the front door, anyone could just follow you in and your room does not have a personal lock.
Most of staff very helpful and considerate. Housekeepers charge into your room early hours to empty the trash, that is only housekeeping you receive and also unhelpful when informing them of showers being cold. Not the cleanest of facilities either.
For the amount of rooms and guests in them, the quantity of bathroom facilities is lacking. Some do not have toilets and others are out of of bounds for a large portion of the day so that the hostel can do laundry.
Wi-Fi was advertised, only certain areas within the building that this was accessible - not ideal.
Would not return out of choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
6
17
57
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koronowo, Poland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Realy good location, very close to union station and national mall. It's very cheap so don't expect any luxuries - 3 bed room was very small, not big enough to place your luggage ( you have to put it under the bed), room walls were very thin so you can hear everything form other rooms.There aren't enough bathrooms - sometimes you have to wait. Kitchen area is realy small. But the staff is realy kind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly, clean + quiet. The common room was away from the rooms + was like a home away from home with a huge comfy couch to chill out on. Highly recommend this place. The burgers at the bar 'Big Board' across the road were delicious. Thanks to AJ for suggestion.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jillsfoodntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The rooms are TINY, there was hardly space for me to climb to the top bunk because the beds were so close together. The security is poor, there is only a code for the door and the room doors do not have locks on them and the doors are often left hanging wide open so anyone could come in at any time. The beds were very uncomfortable. There was only one bathroom on a floor of 4 or 5 rooms (of more than 4 people each) and the bathrooms were not clean and missing tiles on the walls. The location is the one redeeming factor, you can walk everywhere from the hostel, but it's not worth it. The shoes off policy is annoying and unnecessary, especially in the kitchen area where sharp knives and boiling water is being used. Although the quiet hours are 10pm-10am, the cleaner would burst into the rooms at 9 or earlier to vacuum while guests are sleeping and then leave the door hanging wide open. Overall it was not a good experience and I would never go back to this hostel!

Room Tip: Stay in a room with more beds - they have more space to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REH123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked this at the very last minute after having cancelled at a different hostel and couldn't have been happier from the moment we walked in. The whole place was very clean and organised and the rooms were really well maintained. The location is great - 15 minutes maximum from the Union Square/National Mall area. If this gives you any idea, we only stayed in DC for a day and the proximity of the hostel made it really easy to get everything done as it was so close. The best part about this place however was the staff! AJ and the rest of the staff were always ready to help, give advice on things to do, or just hang out. Definitely the most friendly and communal hostel I've been to in the USA. For sure would recommend this awesome place!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotteborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Booked this hostel last minute, and from the minute we checked in absolutely loved it! Staff are easy going, super friendly and helpful! We had heaps of fun over the two nights we were there, and can certainly say that it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in. So hard to leave, I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellavandermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

ADVANTAGE: Late Check in since My train was VERY late. Outstanding Staff and LOCATION!!! Young Partying Crowd. Just not my scene so I moved to a Quieter Hostel. One bathroom was out of order so I had to upstairs to wait in line.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,995 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Washington Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Washington Hostel

Property: Downtown Washington Hostel
Address: 506 H St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4338
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Washington Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting Washington DC House is still a 'Washington DC must' for travelers in the know. With a downtown location conveniently situated in a hip mixed use district, Washington DC House is surrounded by a plethora of shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. Washington DC buzzes from early morning until late night. Travelers are connected via 2 nearby metro stations, 3 bus routes, and a bike share program just a block away! At Washington DC House we aim to provide you with comfortable, affordable, and fun accommodations where you can feel at ease and meet fellow budget travelers in a lively and relaxed environment. We provide a unique backpacker experience which offers great facilities including internet, chill out areas, lockers, tourist information, internet access, movie nights, luggage storage, telephone facilities and much more. The rooms in our hostel are large, bright and spacious with modern decoration and interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Downtown Washington Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing