We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly hostel I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Washington Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtown Washington Hostel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most friendly hostel I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked this at the very last minute after having cancelled at a different hostel and couldn't have been happier from the moment we walked in. The whole place was very clean and organised and the rooms were really well maintained. The location is great - 15 minutes maximum from the Union Square/National Mall area. If this gives you any idea, we only stayed in DC for a day and the proximity of the hostel made it really easy to get everything done as it was so close. The best part about this place however was the staff! AJ and the rest of the staff were always ready to help, give advice on things to do, or just hang out. Definitely the most friendly and communal hostel I've been to in the USA. For sure would recommend this awesome place!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotteborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
6
18
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Booked this hostel last minute, and from the minute we checked in absolutely loved it! Staff are easy going, super friendly and helpful! We had heaps of fun over the two nights we were there, and can certainly say that it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in. So hard to leave, I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellavandermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

ADVANTAGE: Late Check in since My train was VERY late. Outstanding Staff and LOCATION!!! Young Partying Crowd. Just not my scene so I moved to a Quieter Hostel. One bathroom was out of order so I had to upstairs to wait in line.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my second hostel experience and I really fell in love with this place. It's an easy walk to Union Station/Metro, a 15min walk to the Capitol, and I really loved the charming neighborhood. All of DC is very accessible from here but you don't feel so suffocated from city dwelling. I found the facilities very clean even when there was a full house. The staff was very nice and helpful and they're currently remodeling both the house and the staff (for the better). Meeting people was very easy in the kitchen and common areas and I felt very at home and comfortable. The price is very good for the location. This place is filled mainly with people under the age of 35 and the quarters can be snug, but I personally wasn't bothered by this. I made many good traveling friends here from all over the world and I would recommend this place!

My only qualm would be the lack of bathrooms. There are only 4 1/2 bathrooms in the house. This is tolerable if you take your shower at night rather than in the morning. If you take up a schedule that's not like everyone else's, you'd be fine.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock, ear plugs, and eye mask and you'll never know you're sleeping in a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time here,was so funny and made some good memory's, mark Levi and Charles are great staff they were super friendly and just generally great guys, would definitely stay in this place again and would recommend this hostel to anyone!
Tom.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights to visit Washington and it was all I needed. Great location , close (by foot) to Union Station and from there you can go everywhere around the city. I liked the atmosphere and the staff , especially the guy who made the pancakes every morning !!
The beds were cosy , clean and they a great atmosphere every day. I would definitely stay there again if I will have the chance to visit D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cezar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you're looking for a budget place to stay in DC. Its in walking distance of union station which grants easy access into all the main tourist sites and George town. Its surrounded by places to get food and a large grocery store. Its a great place for a solo traveller as theres always someone to talk to, I met a lot of interesting people here. You get a good thick blanket to sleep in (unlike most hostels I've stayed in that give you a thin sheet). Also the staff are really helpful and friendly. My only qualm with this place is that there could of been more bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
HI Washington DC Hostel
#1 of 36 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Washington Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Washington Hostel

Property: Downtown Washington Hostel
Address: 506 H St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4338
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Washington Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting Washington DC House is still a 'Washington DC must' for travelers in the know. With a downtown location conveniently situated in a hip mixed use district, Washington DC House is surrounded by a plethora of shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. Washington DC buzzes from early morning until late night. Travelers are connected via 2 nearby metro stations, 3 bus routes, and a bike share program just a block away! At Washington DC House we aim to provide you with comfortable, affordable, and fun accommodations where you can feel at ease and meet fellow budget travelers in a lively and relaxed environment. We provide a unique backpacker experience which offers great facilities including internet, chill out areas, lockers, tourist information, internet access, movie nights, luggage storage, telephone facilities and much more. The rooms in our hostel are large, bright and spacious with modern decoration and interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Washington Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing