We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Escape Mechanism”
Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swann House
Ranked #6 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Swann House on the first leg of a two week jaunt around the southeastern part of the U.S. I have nothing but positive comments to relay in this review. The manager Rick was very helpful - both in instructions for touring Washington and in restaurant recommendations which were wonderful (Rosemary's Thyme was especially delicious). Also, the Innkeeper Elizabeth was wonderful. Our room, with it's own balcony, was very romantic and cozy and the whole essence of the "backyard" was one that leant itself to being in a villa in Tuscany. What a way to see Washington - the price is substantially lower than any hotel in or around the immediate Washington area - it's within walking distance of numerous restaurants, the Metro, etc. I would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone visiting D.C. who wants elegance and convenience and doesn't want to spend a fortune to obtain it.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cream0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 395 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2006

We stayed at the Swann House in May 2006. We found our accomidations very nice. The location is great (One should consider staying in a neighborhood rather than downtown as the hoods stay alive at night.). Our room was spacious and clean. The hosts were very accomidating.

I would stay at the Swann House again. We already miss being there. Washington is still as exciting as ever - just watch for drunk congressman taking a run at you!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYSExxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Monica, CA
17
Reviewed April 12, 2006

First off, I must praise the staff for being so helpful and accommodating. Plus, the location is ideal (What a lovely neighborhood!) But, if you are a light sleeper, you might want to look elsewhere. My husband and I could hear every step taken in the room next to us (The wood floors are squeaky), and we had to wait for the conversation in the room above us to end before we could fall asleep (A little past midnight). It wasn't that the other guests were loud, it was just that even reasonable conversation and movement was very audible. I know that there is nothing the staff could have done to make the walls less thin, but it was so frustrating to be at the mercy of other guests before we could sleep. If you are a hearty sleeper, however, I am sure you will enjoy the hospitality of the Swann House.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

Very pretty bed and breakfast in a great area of Washington DC. Handy for metro (but also ideal for walking into town). Beautiful rooms and great service. Very friendly staff. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

2  Thank love2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2005

We stayed at the Swann House for 5 nights in September while touring Washington DC. We were very pleased with our room and the location of the lovely Swann House. We thoroughly enjoyed leaving the hub-bub of the city and returning to the DuPont Circle area! We were a short and very pleasant 10-minute walk to the metro which got us nearly everywhere we wanted to go. DuPont Circle is a lively & safe area with lots to see and do; we were very comfortable walking back to the inn even late in the evening from the metro or local restaurants. The staff was very pleasant, helpful & eager to please. The breakfasts were adequate but nothing exceptional. If we return to DC again, we'd definitely stay here!

6  Thank DaveSacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
870
Reviewed August 16, 2005

I visited Washington from Florida for a full week in July, and took along my grown niece and nephew, who had never been there. Being a young woman traveling without my husband, and being in charge of a 19 year-old and a 20 year-old made me research extra dutifully to find a very safe place with every amenity possible. The Swann House didn't disappoint and in fact exceeded my expections. We stayed in the Safari Room, which is actually two bedrooms with a connecting bathroom. There were plenty of plush towels, the a/c kicked *** (we were there during the horrific heat spell of the summer), we didn't have to lift a finger. Breakfast was SUPERB every day, we enjoyed the pool, and we were pleased to be in a simply wonderful part of town - upscale, clean, safe, easy to get around. The DuPont metro stop was only a few minutes by foot and it got us everywhere. We didn't rent a car (unnecessary in DC), but if you drive there, Swann House even has parking. Make your reservation here with no hesitation. Nathan and Rick are top notch and I can't wait to go back with my husband. There's no way I'll go anywhere else - unless there's no room here.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2005

Everything about this lovely inn is first-rate -- the old-world ambiance, convenient DuPont Circle location, helpful and extremely personable staff, cozy feather beds, sherry and brownies in the afternoon, the delicious breakfast in the Inn's lovely Victorian dining room (with the option of sitting at one of the cafe tables on the front porch; unfortunately, the weather was iffy for our stay) and lovingly maintained gardens. The perennial beds in front were spectacular. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. It was extremely convenient to be able to park right in front of the Inn and not have to worry about garage and/or valet parking which can be an expensive hassle. Nathan's recomendation for lunch (a Cuban/South American restaurant two blocks away) was perfect. We can't wait to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VAmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,171 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
708 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3206
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $264 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing