We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret for business travel in DC”
Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swann House
Ranked #6 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Unbelievable accomodations...great showers (with really hot water)...quiet surrondings...comfortable beds...wireless internet and great breakfast food...and if you are leaving early in the morning the staff will bring your breakfast to your room the night before....my mother didn't treat that good! Save room.."I'll be back"
JT - Pittsburgh PA

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylorPittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 393 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stop looking and just book here ... Charming, lovely and centrally located .... amazing staff and excellent breakfasts ... It's just it! If you are a B&B person you will really love this place and if you have never stayed at a B&B this will make you want to ... we have a sressful life in NYC and we wanted a really relaxed stay to go look @ awesome art ... I cannot recommend Swann House and their staff highly enough .... hotels could learn from their amazing service ...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrapplejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We loved staying at the Swann House. We were upgraded to the Jennifer Green room upon our arrival, and it was absolutely delightful. I had read online that some guests loved staying there so much that they ended up not wanting to leave, and I thought "yah, right...you're in Washington DC, you're not going to want to stay at your hotel" but we did indeed end up sitting out on the front balcony watching the people go by and the dogs playing in the dog park across the street one afternoon, and it was so relaxing it ended up being one of my best memories of DC. The location is great, not too far to most attractions and near enough to a metro station for the things that are farther out. There was a great vibe in the neighborhood that we really enjoyed. The breakfast was delish, and the room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. We ate breakfast out on the front porch two of the three mornings we were there...great way to start the day!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We had the Bridal Shower Tea here. The perfect place! My friends were impressed with how beautiful everything looked! Food was delicious and presentation exquisite! Everyone had a great time. I am so glad we selected the SWANN HOUSE. A very special day!

HEARTFELT THANKS TO THE SWANN HOUSE- Especially Mary and Rick.
Susan Dyes

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanJ325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Fantastic accomodations and super friendly staff with wonderful service. Location was great, room was incredible and very clean. Breakfast was superb, sherry offering at night was a great touch! By far the nicest B&B we have stayed at anywhere in the country. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctcouple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

If you're looking for a fabulous place to stay in the heart of DC's Dupont Circle, Swann House is it! My family & I stayed in their wonderful 'Serengheti Suite" and loved it! The staff is warm and so helpful with providing information of all of DC's sights & attractions. They even made the most delicious peanut butter cookies I have ever had for my two sons!! Plus, their breakfasts are incredible!

The rooms are stylish and inviting and super comfortable, loved the feather down bed! I would go back again & again and highly recommend staying there, we loved it!

Kipling Gottshall
West SImsbury, CT

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiplingSimsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2009. It came highly recommended and I wasnt disappointed. The check in was smooth, the staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They have all different rooms in many styles and I went for 'The Lighthouse' which is a really small room, and one of the cheapest but it was extremely cozy and charming. It certainly isnt the cheapest hotel and I wouldnt have paid much more for a larger room, but all the rooms looked lovely. There is free tea/coffee/bottled water for all guests and they leave snacks on the side every afternoon so you can help yourself to afternoon tea, and a huge lounge area. Continental breakfast is served which is also very nice. They also have a lot of local information and restaurant recommendations. The only downside would be it is on a main road, and we were at the front of the house so it could be quite noisy during the day/evening but we were never woken up at night as things quietened down. We toured around for a few weeks in different hotels on the East Coast, and on returning to the UK, my husband commented that this was his favourite hotel. Its very comfortable and has a lot of charm.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam2957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,285 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,171 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3206
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $194 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing