We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swann House Bed & Breakfast, Washington D.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swann House
Ranked #5 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swann House Bed & Breakfast, Washington D.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Washington D.C. and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Swann House. It is an elegant B&B, built in the 1800s, with wood floors, heirloom rugs and crystal chandeliers. Each room is unique with lovely antique furnishings. It is located close to Dupont Circle and within walking distance to many neighborhood restaurants. Breakfast was excellent with granolas, yogurts, fruit salads, homemade breads and cakes and each morning featured a hot item as well. Isabelle, the general manager, is from France and her culinary skills are magnificent! Coffees, teas and juices are available all day. At 5:00 a small snack along with a carafe of sherry is offered to the guests. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and often went to the courtyard and read by the pool or sat on the spacious front porch and watched the neighbors walking their dogs. Isabelle, as well as Rita, the innkeeper, were friendly and helpful with everything from directions to cabs to suggestions where to eat, etc. A large hotel simply cannot offer the kind of personal service we experienced. We most definitely look forward to our next stay at The Swann House!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    60
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
186
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We spent a week at the Swann House which was a few blocks from our daughter's apartment and conveniently located to the metro. Our flight was delayed so we did not arrive until 10 pm, but the general manager Isabelle made sure we had specific instructions on accessing the front door and the key to our room was waiting for us in the inside foyer as promised. We stayed in 2 different rooms and both were quiet with extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast was varied with many healthy options including gluten free bread, fresh fruit, organic yogurt and soy milk. The pool area and front porch both offered pleasant venues for cocktails or snacks and the neighborhood has many excellent restaurant options within easy walking distance. Isabelle and her staff were so gracious and helpful throughout our stay. It was, hands down, a far more enjoyable experience, than any of the previous hotels we've stayed at in the area - it was truly a quiet and welcome respite at the end of the day. Evie Y

Room Tip: Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors with no elevators. We stayed in the Mary Rose and Nantucket roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We just spent three nights at the Swann House while in DC to visit our daughter who lives only a block or two away. We had previously stayed at the Hilton and the Carlyle Suites, both of which are in the vicinity. These hotels were fully booked, so our daughter told us about the Swann House, with which we were previously unfamiliar. Although it is pricier than either the Hilton or the Carlyle Suites, Swann House will now be our first choice for future visits to DC. The accommodations at Swann House are peaceful, well appointed and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. We stayed in the Robertson Room on the third floor in the rear of the building, and we would be happy to stay there again. Breakfast is served from 7:30 to 9:45 am and is ample. We had different varieties of quiche each morning, along with an assortment of fruit, juices, cereals, hard boiled eggs and breads. There is a small swimming pool in the rear patio which was very welcome. The only disadvantage of the Swann House is the absence of an elevator. If your mobility is limited, you might have trouble negotiating the front stairs up to the porch and the stairs up to the rooms on the second and third floors (there are no guest rooms on the first floor). Swann House is in a very pedestrian-friendly area, close to both Dupont Circle and 14th Street. There are many very nice restaurants within easy walking distance. If you are a walker, it is a little over a mile down 16th Street to the White House and the Mall. If you don't want to walk, you can rent a bicycle from Capital Bikeshare from the stand at 17th and T Street less than a block away. We strongly recommend the Swann House.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

After long walks and navigating the city on a visit with my daughter, I was happy to have a charming well-appointed bed and breakfast to call home.
The room are gorgeous and the house is larger than meets the eye. The pool was absolutely inviting. I arrived and it hadn't been opened as predicted but the staff did manage to have it cleaned and sparkling clean after I expressed disappointment. I loved the breakfast and the attention the staff offered. Get the parking spot if you can. That was especially handy.
Great place in all ways.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have just returned from a delightful seven night stay at this amazing bed and breakfast. The front garden and first floor common rooms welcomed and charmed us. We were greeted by Isabelle and shown to our beautifully decorated room. The breakfast buffet, complete with a freshly made hot entree, homemade bread or muffins, scrumptious granola, fresh fruit, and more, was exquisite! Afternoon tea or sherry, along with a light treat, was the perfect reason to return from our busy days and relax on the veranda before walking to one of the nearby restaurants in this pleasant neighborhood. The service was impeccable. Isabelle made sure that our stay was lovely and memorable. We highly recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast which is conveneniently located in Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My first visit to Washington and top marks for Swann House, everything was just great. Warm welcome and loved my room, "The Lighthouse" Afternoon appy's, breakfast buffet, wonderful. Even the dog park across the street is not an issue.
Location ideal, an easy walk (7 minutes) to Dupont Circle metro, which is easy to navigate.
I will return, and do recommend Swann Inn highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Swann House last May 2013. I cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in two different rooms so that I could have a bathtub for part of the stay. First we stayed in the red room and the room adjacent to it. Both were lovely. The red room was smallish, but worked very well. The breakfasts and other snacks were very enjoyable, too. The innkeeper was attentive to our needs. We arrived late, but all was ready and waiting for us. We would definitely return and recommend to others. It is a little hike to the Metro, but good for you if you are up to it. Gives you a chance to see the lovely gardens and homes in the Dupont Circle area. Swann House landscaping was simply beautiful in the spring while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gardengirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,298 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Property: Swann House
Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing