We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Swann house - A great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swann House
Ranked #5 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Swann house - A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Swann House is a beautiful mansion, with wonderful amenities and a friendly helpful staff. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We looked forward to breakfast as it was always different and interesting. Swann House is a short walk to the Dupont Circle metro station and it is easy to get anywhere in the city from there. Because we had a very early flight the day we left we missed breakfast but the staff was kind enough to pack us some snacks to take on the plane. We also enjoyed having tea and coffee available throughout the day. We would stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seniorvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    59
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
181
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We only had one night in Washington DC, and we are very glad we stayed at Swann House. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL room, excellent bathroom, helpful staff and great location. Would highly recommend it for anyone.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I had our third visit to Swann House last weekend. As usual, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was even better than ever. We visited the wax museum on 10th and F; easily walked to Metro from Swann House and took us within two blocks of museum. Always nice to stroll around DC and explore new places. It's a great place to stay if you want to feel safe and comfortable, with easy access to the Nation's Capital. Many fantastic restaurants nearby. We're already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, the staff is very discreet and you'll have lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Added a few extra personal days to a business trip that coincided with the spring Cherry Blossom Festival. This was a wonderful place to stay! Beautiful mansion, helpful staff, very clean, and great location. Lovely balcony overlooked the dog park.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed in the Nantucket room while visiting friends in DC. We booked last-minute and it was the only room available. While the room is snug (as advertised on their website), on the 3rd floor, and limited off street parking, the experience was very nice. Bed & pillows very comfortable. Continental breakfast buffet included hot entree. Mid-afternoon snacks and sherry was tasty. Holiday decor was festive. Staff were very friendly. Good location / easily walkable location next to Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theMunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband, my 23 year-old autistic son, and I had a wonderful 4 night stay at Swann House in Washington DC. Since there were three of us we stayed in the Serengetti Room which has a living room and two bedrooms which was just perfect for us. The accomodations are very luxurious and very, very clean. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks were wonderful (particularly like the artichoke and spinach eggs, the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, and the walnut & blue cheese torte with raisin bread crackers). The Dupont Circle neighborhood is very picturesque and has many shops and restaurants which are easy to walk to (Rosemary's Thyme restaurant is the closest and the food was really great!). The metro was only about 4 or 5 blocks away and was also an easy walk. If you love history, don't miss Woodrow Wilson's house which is a little further than the metro, but is also walkable from Swann House (the tour of the Wilson house is extremely informative and well-done). We met three of the staff at Swann House, Anna, Megan, and Debra, and they were all very helpful, warm and welcoming. We would love to someday go back to Swann House and will definitely recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for five nights in September and what a welcoming, comfortable,peaceful place so near to Washington's many places of interest. We were late in arriving due to Rail problems but our room was warmly lit, with relaxing music playing, an inviting feather bed and a welcome letter waiting for us. Our room was Il Duomo which was beautifully appointed and luxurious with the most amazing en-suite.The breakfast was excellent and the amenities first class with helpful friendly and accommodating staff. If you want to experience the many attractions of Washington which are easily accessible, but want a quiet neighbourhood for dining and relaxing after a busy sightseeing day Swann House should be your choice.,

Room Tip: The second floor room Il Duomo is just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#57 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Property: Swann House
Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing