We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe & Comfortable--We Love Swann House!”
Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swann House
Ranked #6 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Safe & Comfortable--We Love Swann House!”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I had our third visit to Swann House last weekend. As usual, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was even better than ever. We visited the wax museum on 10th and F; easily walked to Metro from Swann House and took us within two blocks of museum. Always nice to stroll around DC and explore new places. It's a great place to stay if you want to feel safe and comfortable, with easy access to the Nation's Capital. Many fantastic restaurants nearby. We're already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, the staff is very discreet and you'll have lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    60
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
187
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Added a few extra personal days to a business trip that coincided with the spring Cherry Blossom Festival. This was a wonderful place to stay! Beautiful mansion, helpful staff, very clean, and great location. Lovely balcony overlooked the dog park.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed in the Nantucket room while visiting friends in DC. We booked last-minute and it was the only room available. While the room is snug (as advertised on their website), on the 3rd floor, and limited off street parking, the experience was very nice. Bed & pillows very comfortable. Continental breakfast buffet included hot entree. Mid-afternoon snacks and sherry was tasty. Holiday decor was festive. Staff were very friendly. Good location / easily walkable location next to Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theMunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband, my 23 year-old autistic son, and I had a wonderful 4 night stay at Swann House in Washington DC. Since there were three of us we stayed in the Serengetti Room which has a living room and two bedrooms which was just perfect for us. The accomodations are very luxurious and very, very clean. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks were wonderful (particularly like the artichoke and spinach eggs, the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, and the walnut & blue cheese torte with raisin bread crackers). The Dupont Circle neighborhood is very picturesque and has many shops and restaurants which are easy to walk to (Rosemary's Thyme restaurant is the closest and the food was really great!). The metro was only about 4 or 5 blocks away and was also an easy walk. If you love history, don't miss Woodrow Wilson's house which is a little further than the metro, but is also walkable from Swann House (the tour of the Wilson house is extremely informative and well-done). We met three of the staff at Swann House, Anna, Megan, and Debra, and they were all very helpful, warm and welcoming. We would love to someday go back to Swann House and will definitely recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for five nights in September and what a welcoming, comfortable,peaceful place so near to Washington's many places of interest. We were late in arriving due to Rail problems but our room was warmly lit, with relaxing music playing, an inviting feather bed and a welcome letter waiting for us. Our room was Il Duomo which was beautifully appointed and luxurious with the most amazing en-suite.The breakfast was excellent and the amenities first class with helpful friendly and accommodating staff. If you want to experience the many attractions of Washington which are easily accessible, but want a quiet neighbourhood for dining and relaxing after a busy sightseeing day Swann House should be your choice.,

Room Tip: The second floor room Il Duomo is just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The perfect choice for our small & intimate wedding…the staff was warm and accommodating, the house and our room were lovely. We enjoyed a nice fire in our room on our first evening and a champagne toast on our private deck on the afternoon of our wedding. Rick, Deborah & Anne were attentive and very responsive to requests. Breakfasts were excellent, and the afternoon snacks with sherry were a nice touch. Though the house was close to capacity during our stay, we only saw and heard guests at breakfast. We were there on Halloween night, and even got to hand out candy to the trick-or-treaters (lots of fun!). DuPont Circle is a great neighborhood for walking and exploring and the Swann House is within walking distance to lots of good restaurants (try Floriana for great Italian). We would recommend Swann House and would stay there again if in the area!

Room Tip: Jennifer Green room has a two person steam shower, lots of natural light in the vanity area, a firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldw30341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a delight to visit Swann House. We spent 4 delightful days being thoroughly pampered. Everyone was there to make our stay memorable. To find somewhere in Washington that offered breakfast as well as a bed was a bonus add to that the wonderful afternoon refreshments and the pre dinner sherry what more could anyone want? I don't know if or when we may return to Washington but I do know that if and when we do we shall certainly include Swann House in our itinerary.
Thank you
.Beryl & Vic Dyer

Room Tip: We were only staying 3 nights and had the Lighthouse room I would suggest that this may be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,060 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,080 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
6,667 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,094 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Property: Swann House
Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing