We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai Food and Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Serow

Little Serow
Ranked #276 of 3,188 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Second time at Little Serow and had another great food experience. No need to repeat other reviews with the process to get into the restaurant and how it is set up but definitely be in line by 500 PM if you want to eat that night. Honestly that is part of the charm and on this particular night I was right on the border for the first seating and got the LAST seat available! So that was cool. Food - very authentic Thai food, spice is there big time but a layered heat that slowly builds instead of crushing you right up front. Menu changes each week so check on line to see what it looks like but normally a good soup to start and end with a beef dish as your seventh dish, on this night some expertly spiced and prepared beef ribs. Most pleasantly is the matching beer and wine list, all designed to accompany the 7 course dinner and to offer a nice retreat from the spice and heat. The girls greeting the guests and servicing the tables are great, friendly and knowledgable about the food and beverage. They do a great job. And a cool eclectic soundtrack. This is not a place to eat all the time but if you love adventurous food and dont mine some serious heat I can't recommend any place better in DC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jrhaynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    28
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting food and concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Little Serow isn't everyone's cup of tea, but if you are interested in trying unfamiliar food from Northern Thailand, this is the place for you. No reservations, have to stand in line about an hour before you want to eat. Maximum parties of four people. Family style, no substitutions at all, fixed price of $45/pp. We had snake head fish, which freaked us out, until we actually tasted it and it was delicious. Chicken livers, with crispy rice cakes, and the best pork ribs any of us have ever tasted. Everything was very favorable and very spicy. Only complaint was it was so loud and the music was blasting, everyone had to yell the entire time and couldn't understand what the charming waitress was explaining to us as the dishes arrived. A unique experience for sure especially for foodies, who want to try something completely different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Before our recent trip to Washington DC for a birthday weekend, I researched TripAdvisor for a different type of restaurant and I found Little Serow. It sounded great and per the information on TripAdvisor we anticipated a wait. It opens at 5:30 and closes at 10:30 pm. It is hard to find and does not have an outdoor sign with it's name on it. After some effort we found it and arrived at 7:15 pm, three and a half hours before closing. We went inside. Much to our horror, we were told there were no more seatings available and we had to leave. We asked for help with a taxi and we were told they could not because they did not have a phone with which an outside call could be made!!! The restaurant needs to tell people if they do not arrive by a certain time, they will not be seated. It was a horrible experience. We told our concierge about our bad experience and urged him not to recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyLuvsDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Little Serow is a true hidden treasure not far from Dupont Circle in Washington, DC. It's in an unmarked door, down a few stairs on the east side of 17th Street. If you're in that area at about 5:00 p.m., you will see a line snaking down the sidewalk because they take no reservations and it's first come first served. The menu is a fixed menu of about 8 courses and is posted online each week. The food is spectacular but it's very spicy, so if you don't care for spicy food, don't try this since there are no substitutions allowed to the menu. I had never eaten "northern Thai" before and have been back to this restaurant three times. I always try to take out of town friends there for a special treat when they visit. Excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank King J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great, great, great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ok, LS does things very different and probably is not suited to many diners. But, If you have an open mind, are flexible, and really love Thai food, Little Serow should not be missed!

First, there's no phone, no reservations, no sign, no ordering of food. Basically you get there and stand in line on the sidewalk until they open at 5:30. We got there at 5 PM on a weeknight and had about 25 people in front of us. It's a small restaurant, so if it fills up by the time you get to the door you will be rolled over to a later dining time interval. When we got to the door, we asked if we could have a later time slot. They said sure and took down our cell phone number so they could text when it was close to our estimated time of 7:30. (we walked up to Hanks Oyster bar for a fun happy hour).

At the restaurant we chose to sit at the bar which was awesome. The waitresses are all dressed in vintage dresses, are friendly, attentive, and will explain each dish as it arrives. they will also recommend various wines/beers to pair with the specific dish.

There is no menu to choose from. You basically get the 6 or 7 dishes on that nights menu at a fixed price of $45 per person (not including drinks). inside the restaurant is dark and romantic.

Only suggestion would be that they choose music that better suits the atmosphere. At times it was a little loud and made conversation difficult. It also didn't flow with the romantic vibe the rest of the place gave off.

Also keep in mind that some of the food is spicy. It is what it is, no modifications. I thought it was the best Thai I'd ever had.

I'll definitely be going back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thinkshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Serow also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Little Serow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing