We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great service !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #41 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The rooms are very small, and we got a room without a window, but the service was great. We called to make reservation the receptionist said that there are no room available. But when we showed up, they said they do have rooms available. Our receptionist was outstanding (i forgot her name, but she has curly hair). Great location, but the hotel is more for business than families.

Room Tip: Don't book through hotwire, you'll get a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for recognizing the great service at reception Liat M - I'm glad that everything worked out with your stay. (though a bit puzzled - we don't have any rooms without windows!) We'd love to have you back - and I'd recommend a Monte Carlo guestroom - they are super spacious and one of the best values in the city - give it a try next time.
Cheers,
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    439
    155
    75
    43
See reviews for
308
568
92
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Churchton, Maryland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed a few nights in this hotel this week, and thought the staff was exceptionally friendly, even by Kimpton standards. From the check-in to wine hour, to hunting something down in the middle of the night, every one I encountered was genuinely warm, and actively sought to make our stay a good one. The building is gorgeous -- the original US Post office and then the Tariff Building. They've done a gorgeous renovation that honors the historic architecture while keeping the "look" they're known for. My favorite of the Monacos.

Room Tip: We had an even-numbered room, which put us on the outside (street view) of the building. I expect th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aww Janebeard, very high praise indeed, my favorite of the Monaco's is about all I can ask for. Thank you so much for your review and for being a loyal fan - I'd love to say hello on a future visit!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thanks to their support of the Washington Area Bicyclists Association, I won (paid good cash as a donation) a night's stay at the Hotel Monaco figuring I'd treat my wife to a night on the town. Well did I ever earn major points! Our stay was a seamless and luxurious treat from check-in before dinner to a delicious breakfast at Poste (in the hotel) and check-out. From the amazing decor to the super plush rooms (amazing high ceilings you won't find in many hotels), we loved our night of luxury. "Wild side" bathrobes with giraffe and zebra prints were a fun touch. But the best surprise was the quiet - it was the best night's sleep we've had in weeks! Thanks to Greg Winger and all the team who helped arrange our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
An amazing review Jeff M - many thanks for staying with us - and for supporting our friends at WABA! As an avid cyclist and user/appreciator of the DC bike commuter routes, we know they do great work in support of the community. (Did you get to check out a Kimpton bike?) I'm glad Greg was able to help you out and get things just right - hopefully we'll see you again for another fantastic staycation!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed last week with my 2 sons (12,16). Staff were fabulous. Very friendly and helpful! We didn't go to the restaurant -way to pricey-but found lots of local places much more reasonable. Room was nice BUT my son has terrible allergies and being on the bottom level (below street level) he really struggled with coughing and congestion. I'm sure it was the carpeting in the room. Other than that our stay was great!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for a great review Robin1614 - as an allergy sufferer myself, I can empathize with your son. Unfortunately this time of year in Washington is world famous for our allergy season - and I know firsthand what that is like with the high pollen counts. We hope you all come back when things are a little more seasonable for you!
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

First disclaimer: I am a huge fan of the Kimpton chain of hotels. Being an Intouch member (free sign up), gives you free Wi-Fi access, $10 credit for the restaurant/minibar and a morning paper of your choice. Generally, the service and quality of the hotel exceed other chains relative to price, decor, restaurant/food choices, lobby amenities, valet parking, etc. But, what sets this particular hotel from all others in the DC area is the exceptional location. The Smithsonian Art Museum is across the street, the Spy Museum is next door, the White House is 8 blocks away, and Shake Shack is on the next corner. The immediate surrounding neighborhood is safe and full of cool shops, cafes, etc. The hotel staff is also so friendly and accomodating. We were immediately upgraded to a larger room at no additional charge when I didn't receive an online request for a room upgrade. There's no place I'd rather choose to stay in the area for my young family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CristinaP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
First off CristinaP73, I am a huge fan of people who are huge fans of Kimpton Hotels! Many thanks for your loyalty and recognition. We truly do have the best location of any Kimpton anywhere (but don't tell the other hotels that!). I appreciate the kind words, and we hope your family always will stay with us at Monaco DC.
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

A great Kimpton hotel in a magnificent building. This hotel is located in the old post office of washington dc and the hallways are huge as well as the rooms. The height of the ceilings is beyond spectacular. The service in this hotel is great and there are super friendly people at the front desk. As an inner circle member i am sure i will come back to this hotel. The only thing that could be better is the amount of dust behind the bed. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. Being able to sleep in such a building is just amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and appreciation of our Grande Dame Emmanuel V. We hope you do indeed come back again soon.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was a really great place to stay, beautiful historic post office converted into a charming hotel. Amazing location 2 blocks from the Mall!, really friendly staff, great service, stylish and charming. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We cannot wait for you to return either Annemarie W. Thank you for the kind words, and especially recognizing our staff, whole make all the magic happen (that isn't related to location anyway!)
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
The Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing