We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #40 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked through Priceline and was very surprised when I got this hotel for $100.00 on a Saturday night. They even upgraded us to a Monte Carlo room for free. The only issue was that when we checked in around 4:15pm, they said our room wasn't ready (Check-in is 3:00pm) and they didn't even offer a drink or anything. They just said we had to wait and it ended up being about 40 minutes. The room was great, very big and the free wine tasting was a nice bonus. The location is probably the best aspect of this hotel. Would definitely like to stay here again when in D.C.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Monte Carlo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grt81584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Ggrt81584 - weekends were made for Monaco! Though next time - you may find a better value in a great package deal booking direct with us at Monaco-dc.com! Come see us again - the location won't change - we promise! (nor will our wine hour or the free guest use bikes!)
Thanks for the great comments,
best
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    426
    152
    72
    41
See reviews for
291
533
92
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spent two nights at the Monaco Hotel in Washington DC and loved this hotel! It's in a fantastic location a few blocks from the National Mall and all the museums and is in the historic Post Office. The hotel rooms are smallish, but the high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows make them seem more spacious than they are. The decor is fabulous - a great mix of bright colours and patterns that work well with the historic buidling. If you arrive around 2pm there are freshly baked cookies waiting for you at the check-in counter and in the evenings they have a welcome drinks function - great if you're travelling alone. The staff are friendly and helpful. I ate breakfast one morning in Poste - their on-site restaurant. The food was okay but a rather over-priced for what it was (which I think is the case with most hotels...). I would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Wow KerriBrisbane -
Thank you thank you thank you - we love that you loved us! (and the cookies!) That's a long way to travel for a few nights stay - next time let's take more than a second to get to know you - make sure you book yourself one of our Monte Carlo rooms - small upgrade in price, massive upgrade in space!
Thanks again!
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Verizon Center and many other interesting sites you would want to visit in Washington. Having thoroughly enjoyed the Monaco Hotel in Denver I was a bit disappointed with the Washington hotel. It still needs quite a bit of work to go from "faded" to "classically elegant" IMHO. The sense of scale was all wrong as I walked through the fabulous hallways and staircases to my room with its high ceiling and huge windows that made the furnishings look undersized. This was obviously a very impressive building in its time and you can just see its potential . . . nevertheless you can't beat its location and the service was excellent as usual for a Kimpton property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_in_EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Mark_in_EC,
Well I guess size does matter after all! All kidding aside, I'd love to show you around our National Historic Register "gem" on a future visit - we agree the location is second to none - and the massive scale certainly gave us some fun opportunities when converting to a hotel. Though without all that extra space we might not have room for our award winning Poste Brasserie or Garden Courtyard for fair weather drinks and dining - that's a tasty use of space! Many thanks for your comments,
Best
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was down to DC to visit with friends who had runners in the Rock-n-Roll Marathon and Half Marathon and, although The Rouge (another Kimpton Hotel in DC) is normally our hotel of choice, we were recommended to The Monaco and decided on it. We booked four (4) rooms for the party and, although the rooms were small, they were very nicely furnished and clean in every respect. The hotel itself is small (four floors) and was the former headquarters of the US Postal Service. The corridors are super elegant and set the tone for the luxury that pervades this fine hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and promptly provided extra towels on request. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Clearly, I will be back and one member of our party opined that The Monaco was her favorite hotel in DC. BTW, it is very conveniently located - public transportation is directly accross the street from the entrance.

Room Tip: My party had four (4) rooms located throughout the hotel and all were without issue. Frankly, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobofNewtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wow BobofNewtn - we're so glad you decided to break the Rouge tradition and try out another Kimpton family member in DC (and most of all pleased it was us!) - many thanks for the oh-so-kind words - as you pointed out the location is second to none but the team is what makes the difference! Please stop in and say hello on your next visit - would love to show you around the Grande Dame!
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back at the Monaco again. There's so much to like about this quirky boutique hotel. It's just off-center enough, and in all the right ways. (Given that it's DC, you can choose if it's off to the left or right.) I love the 4th floor - when you look up at your ceiling, it's giant, full of cool moldings and arc shapes. The stairs (who needs an elevator here) are gorgeous with in laid marble you don'd see any more. So many details to appreciate. The service is great, although the staff has changed recently and I miss some of the old faces. Coffee time in the morning and wine hour in the afternoons are friendly and warm. Great location, too. This hotel is a real gem in a city of average hotels.

Room Tip: I love the 4th floor and anything below a Monaco room is kind of small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Jeff B - quirky... well I guess I resemble that remark! I so appreciate your kind comments, and truly miss a lot of the old faces too (I've been here a few years now...) though most of them have moved into other great Kimpton Hotels in the city - spreading that Monaco love to the masses! We appreciate your loyalty, and I know the new faces, like Chef's new menu, will surprise and delight on your next visit.
Cheers,
Ed Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a last minute weekend getaway for us. Having seen this hotel many times when we go out to Chinatown/Gallery Place, it seemed like a great place to stay. The hotel is right across the street from Verizon Center on 7th and F street. There are about 20-30 restaurants all within walking distance. It's a boutique hotel which used to be the US postal building. It has only 4 floors, floor 1 being below street level. The service at the front desk was very good...the person at the front desk told us that our 4th floor room was on the same floor as a wedding and asked if we wanted to be on a different floor. She didn't have to do that and I appreciated it. We ended up on the 1st floor, below ground, and there was a real small window...but that was ok because it was a one night stay. The room was a little small, but had high ceilings and a decent sized bathroom. It was very quiet as well, which I appreciated. The restaurant in the hotel has an amazing reputation, but was so full, that we neve ate there. The walk to the smithsonian museums is 6 short blocks. The hotel is right across from the Gallery Place/Chinatown (red line) metro stop, so if you need to take metro, it's SUPER convenient. There is also another Metro stop, Archives/Navy Memorial (blue and yellow line) 4 blocks away. We drove in from VA, and valet parking is 40 dollars a night. If you live in Northern VA like we do, it probably would be a lot cheaper to take metro (or a taxi to the metro) to get into the city. The hotel has C.O. Bigelow toiletries (soap, lotion, shampoo, conditioner) which did the trick. Room service menu was very reasonable ($10 for sandwiches and burgers), but we chose to eat in Chinatown (3 blocks away). This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the touristy spots or come in to catch a game/concert at Verizon Center. We would come back again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet and dark room to get a good night's sleep, request the 1st floor...it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Lisa B - you had me at Unique! What great comments - I thank you for your time - and you're right, our award winning Poste Moderne Brasserie is very busy, but worth the call for reservations. In the mean time, summer is coming and it's a great opportunity for a NoVA resident to grab a DC outside dining experience second to none! Let us know if we can assist with grabbing a table for you.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a boutique hotel and we expected a lot more than we got for the money. The one saving grace is that the staff are totally awesome. Anything you want they will do their best to see that you get it and with a big smile. The hotel needs more work on cosmetic issues, and the rooms were very small for "king deluxe". We will say, that the food at the reception we attended was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Thomas J - what can I say - I couldn't agree with you more - our staff goes the extra mile so you don't have to (and our great location has something to do with that too). They are really the element that makes this Historic Landmark unique! Many thanks for the kind words,
Ed - Monaco GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,994 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing