We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Stay at a Historic Treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Stay at a Historic Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We've stayed at Kimptons for years, and there's very good reason. Each property has the absolute highest level of customer service. The Hotel Monaco is no exception - from the moment we checked in, we were warmly greeted by name. It was my husband's birthday - we were upgraded to suite with a bottle of champagne! We had our two toddlers with us, and each were given fresh from the oven cookies! The hotel staff knew this was a special weekend for us, and they went out of their way to make it extraordinary.

Equally as impressive is the marvealous historic treasure in which this wonderful hotel resides - from the ornate ceilings to the marble staircases - American History Buffs - this hotel was made for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC2NYC2LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    458
    167
    79
    47
See reviews for
321
583
93
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I'm a little partial to Kimpton brand hotels because they always seem to offer great service and amenities. Hotel Monaco is no exception. It's located in one of my favorite DC neighborhoods, Penn Quarter, and is close to a ton of wonderful restaurants and attractions. It's within walking distance to a number of museums. The hotel is actually in a historic post office building, but the interior is more modern. The rooms have wonderfully high ceilings that are a rare find in a hotel. Parking is on the pricey side, but their valet is convenient since parking is always at a premium in that area. There's also a metro stop across the street.

Room Tip: I prefer staying on floors 3 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahaddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a nice, historic venue that is conveniently located to the Verizon Center (across the street) and several museums in DC. The tall ceilings give the illusion that your room is large, and the walls are substantial so noise was not a problem at all. The bathroom is slightly cramped and the lighting is lackluster but all in all this is a great city hotel. The only complaint was that the bar did not stay open late enough to serve the post-verizon center show crowd so we had no where for a nightcap after a concert. Luckily, if you are a Kimpton In-touch member, you get a raid the mini bar coupon which gives you a nightcap in your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorbysva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Co
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are big fans of Kimpton hotels. We recently stayed at the Philadelphia Monaco, which is just superb in every way, including a remarkable location across the street from Independence Hall. A few weeks before that, I stayed at the new Monaco in Phoenix, which is very modern and thus different in its architecture from many Kimptons, but it also was terrific..And we have stayed in many others of like caliber over the years. The DC Monaco is another nicely done renovation and application of an old building. it's not as impressive as the one in Philadelphia and the "deluxe" room I had was smaller than I've come to expect, but still, with one glaring exception, is a very good hotel in an appealing location.
The exception is the restaurant incorporated in the hotel and called Poste. Its kitchen was, on two separate occasions, a disaster in terms of accuracy, paying attention and speed of service. It falls far short of the usually high standard reflected in Kimpton restaurants.Its management needs to be either retrained or replaced. Eat somewhere else, like Jaleo which is across the street or Tosca which is a couple of blocks away, by way of example only. DC is not short on good restaurants. Fore-warned is fore- armed, as they say. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouldertype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Came to town to catch a capitals game for the weekend and take in a couple sites.

Bad:
-Parking price is the steepest I've seen in my travels.. Your paying a decent penny to stay at a nice place like this and they charge you $40 a night to park?! C'mon!
-I was issued two holds on my bank account if over $600.. I knew they'd place a hold on extra incase I used room service or whatever but I was issued double. It was an accident and they apologized the funds were released but after I got home.. It was more an inconvenience than anything.

Good:
-LOCATION IS EXCELLENT.. Right across the street from Verizon center and like three blocks from the mall we parked at the hotel and didn't get back in the car until we left was able to walk everywhere. The hotel restaurant is a little pricey but there are tons of restaurants and bars nearby its great.
-Room was clean no complaints.

A little more pricey than I'm used to but you get what you pay for and aside from the joke of a parking job everything about our stay was top notch. Would/will recommend and definitely stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportstraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Entering the Monaco, snow was gently falling, guests were gathering for the lobby wine reception, and two delightful ladies greeted us at the front desk. It was our first trip back to Washington together in 4 years and were taken by how much we missed this lovely historic hotel. As we turned to leave for our room, we joked about which program we would watch, Downton Abbey or the Super Bowl? They warmly suggested that we join them to watch the Super Bowl in the lobby.
When we arrived at our room, we opened the door to a fabulous suite - and 2 TV sets! We rushed back to the lobby to ask if a mistake had been made and were reassured that it was to be our room that night! It took our breath away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolftrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had stayed at the Monaco a couple of years ago and was impressed - my stay a couple of weeks ago prompts this post: The building is a gorgeous, historic structure which provides unique "twists" to the whole experience (incredibly high ceilings in rooms, beautiful and quirky interior spaces, great design and furnishing details, views out windows of surrounding pillars, very large rooms and bathrooms, etc.). Most impressive are the staff, each of whom are friendly and accommodating in a way that is sincere and real (versus forced and artificial). Don't get me wrong - they are not over the top or intrusive - but realistically caring. I know many only post on-line comments when complaining about something: I felt that my recent stay was so enjoyable that I had to share.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in 2 rooms total, and both were great. As this was business trip, I was not ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchitectNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing