We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a good experience at a unique property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a good experience at a unique property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although a regular at Kimpton Hotels, this was my first at this property in DC, usually staying at the Palomar on the other side of town. Housed in a huge former federal office building/post office, the huge public spaces, columns, marble and woodwork of 120 years ago make this a unique spot. My room was spacious, beautifully equipped as always, spotless, with 15' ceilings and a huge window about as high as the ceiling. The hotel is quiet, the front desk staff attentive, and remember your name, the staff pleasant, and the food at Poste quite good. The hotel is close to museums, the Mall, Capitol and major Federal office buildings, as well as Union Station. For the price and value, why pay more in my view? Another hit for the Kimpton franchise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    423
    150
    70
    40
See reviews for
288
524
92
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful cute hotel! Flew in this past weekend for my brother's 50th birthday and stayed here overnight. Killer location with a very professional staff. Everyone was pleasant and extremely helpful. Only negative was the waitress at restaurant when we had breakfast. Her service was slow and she would disappear for long period of time. What made up for her terrible service was the excellent quality of food. Nevertheless, it was a great time. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, VA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed recently for a night in the town (DC) to see the Wizards. We were a group of 3 families (1 couple; 2 families) traveling. My rating is mixed.

5 stars:

Location - great for Verizon Center, metro, shopping, etc.

Room was nicely decorated & comfortable, including bed. TV - nice flatscreen; bathroom clean & pleasant. For price (paid through Amex points), I have no complaints about room.

Bar (Poste): (Fri night in January after 10:30) was hoppin' - if you don't mind being late 40s amongst a bunch of 20-somethings... & service was good.

3 stars:

Service - Mediocre at best. No one seemed happy to be there. While I understand they are working, aren't they supposed to make you feel more welcome? Also when I called to find out about rates for a family of 5 (we were 3 families traveling), the first customer service rep was not very friendly and implied we couldn't put 5 in a room because of DC fire code. However, when I called Sales Agents in morning, it was no problem.

Elevator - cold.

Hotel Space - a bit weird. It is an old building so it's cool in that sense, especially the wide hallways, but it's a maze; hard to navigate. More signs would be appreciated. Restaurant bathroom is far from dining area. My kids liked the design/decor of the lobby, etc, but I thought it needed some warming up. Strikes me as too eclectic or something - can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe too much green? This is just my personal opinion though, as many in our party did like it. I forgot to take room pics but am attaching some lobby pics.

Restaurant - Bar at night was fine as I said above & service was good then, but I was less than impressed at breakfast. Made the mistaken assumption that you could eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant (Poste Brasserie), but when we got down there the hostess asked if we had a reservation - just me & my 2 kids at that point. I told her no & she said that they were "fully committed at this time." I had to ask about the bar seats since she did not offer that, and then she agreed that was fine. But of course then service was slow. After 15 min waiting for waitress she said she'd be with us to take our order, but we didn't even have menus yet. I think the hotel needs to provide a small buffet for people staying at the hotel if they cannot accommodate guests in the restaurant. On a good note, the food was good.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are below the lobby level, level 2. We were on floor 3 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbyD428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The corridors are so magnificent that every evening, after a long work day, I feel I am heading to a ballroom rather than to a hotel room. The corridors are long, wide, with deep beautiful carpets, high-backed benches spaced out on each side, and glittering chandeliers! It might sound superficial but, to me at least, it gives the Hotel character so sorely lacking in most major hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms on either the 7th Street or 8th Street side means you can exit through the side doors and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at The Moncao in January for three nights. The staff were very good. We found a great cup cake shop! And hotel did happy hour which in Winter they served mulled wine/cider by the fire which was lovely. Very central so could walk easily to places. Big very comfortable bedrooms (we had 3) and huge hallways (apparently used to be Post Office).the reception and concierge were all very pleasant and helpful, nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fun hotel in great location - close to metro and eats - - as well as museums, Verizon Center. Could work for families if you get large enough room. Very quiet hotel....very good service. I'd rather stay in this location than on the HIll or closer to Pennsylvania Ave. I've also stayed in the Dupont area, but adds too much time to get back and forth to the hill or downtown when you stay up there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from elevators and "front" of hotel. higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simnznc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Perfection begins at the top. The administrative staff at the Monaco have every minute detail of service executed to perfection by the staff members. Each of the staff is thoughtful, pleasant, helpful and prepared to assist you during each aspect of your stay. The hotel is spotless, the room immaculate and well appointed, the amenities are numerous and the experience exceeds most expectations. The location is centralized for any DC excursion. The Monaco is the number 1 choice for the discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Each room is equally as enjoyable, whether overlooking the street or the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mln347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,987 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing