We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF MICE!”
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #88 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2008

While the location of this hotel was convenient for college visits, it was not worth the MOUSE we saw dashing under someone's door upon returning to the hotel about 11 pm one evening. (Subsequently, we noted a section on "extermination" in the hotel's literature -- to notify them if we saw a problem. Had we known that they had a rodent problem in advance, we would never have booked here.)

Prior to our arrival, the hotel "bumped" us from their main property to their "Harbour" location, due to overbooking. We had booked our reservation about a month in advance, and they called to notify us of the change about a week before our arrival. As it was too late to secure another reservation in the area, we agreed, but were disappointed that our room was in the basement of the second location.

Parking was difficult if you planned to use your car while there -- many parking "gymnastics", especially when we were bumped to the second location.

Very disappointed in this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Moneypenny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 984 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2008

I stayed at Georgetown Suites for four nights with three members of my family, so the separate rooms were very nice to have. Location is excellent, and there was no noise from traffic. Continental breakfast was passable, nothing spectacular. Having garage parking available was great, and was included in the package that we had booked under. We had a problem in that our room was not cleaned one day. We had been out all day and returned at 6 PM to find the room not cleaned. I called the front desk and was told it would be taken care of before 8 PM. We were not going to stay in the room anyway as we had reservations for a show so the later cleaning was not a problem. However, when we returned about 11:30 PM, the room was still not cleaned. Clean towels were brought very quickly and the next day, the front desk manager promptly reduced our room charge due to the inconvenience. One other minor problem involved the sofa bed in that half of the springs at the foot of the bed were broken and if you sat on that portion of the bed, you fell through to the floor. It did not impact our sleeping (just had to be careful with your feet). The front desk manager said it would be taken care of immediately (we did not report it until check-out).

All in all, a nice hotel at a great price in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pagetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I stayed in the Georgetown Suites for 2 nights (Fri and Sat). The rooms were very clean, slightly 80's feel about them but they were very comfortable.

The location of the suites is great, just off M street and all that Georgetown has to offer.

I would defintely recomend this hotel as somewhere to stay. My only gripe was the air conditioning was very loud, the 2nd night I had to sleep with ear plugs in.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank jamtart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I am extremely picky. I need 2 things in particular: space and cleanliness. I can't stay in a regular hotel room with a snoring husband and two teens, so I looked around. I stayed at the Georgetown Suites for 2 nights, and wished I could stay a whole week. We stayed in a townhouse which looks like a regular hotel room until you open the door to a 2 floored little house with full kitchen, dining, and large living area and bathroom. Then upstairs there were 2 bedrooms and two more bathrooms. It was immaculate. And the staff was great also. We missed the continental breakfast the first day. The kitchen staff let us in and we were able to stock up on bagels, muffins, etc even though they were in the process of putting everything away. All this in walking distance of the water and close enough to major attractions. Look no further. There isn't anywhere better than this!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bono34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Family of three with 5-year old stayed two nights on a 4th floor King 1-bedroom suite that was clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated with neutral colors and modern, minimalist-style furnishings. Delicious continental breakfast (served 6:30-9 am) and underground parking was included in $190 nightly rate. Conveniently located off M street in Georgetown, but an 18 minute walk to closest Metro stop (Foggy Bottom Blue Line) to see downtown sights.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MATraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

The hotel was decent for a group of friends on a fun trip to Georgetown. It served it's purpose - walking distance to restaurants/shops, good price, large shareable rooms. However, the front desk staff was rude and the hallways on our floor had a stifling, unbearable fishy smell. While the secure parking deck is a plus and worth the $20, they ended up charging my card $60 and I am still trying to sort that out.
The rooms are outdated looking, but the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mgralnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

I stayed at the Georgetown Suites for four nights while on a business trip in DC. I had a studio suite with kitchen. The room was large by hotel standards, very comfortable and always kept clean thanks to the efficient cleaning staff. I particularly appreciated the free wireless internet, although the connection could be spotty at times.

While Georgetown may not be the ideal location for business travellers, it had a lot to offer in terms of shops and food. Nonetheless, it was fairly convenient to take a bus between the hotel and downtown once I had that figured out.

Some of the hotel staff were gruff, but others were absolutely lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank septreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,585 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
58 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
588 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,802 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $115 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing