We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the parking.”
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #74 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Watch out for the parking.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay. suite was large, clean and had wonderful air con. All staff we interacted with seemed lovely. Especially the tall man who checked us in and recommended some local restaurants. Very good location for dc. 2 min walk to bus stops etc.


However..... Being British I feel it's cheeky to ask for more money for parking. $30 per day? Seriously. I assume when my mother in law to be booked it she was aware of this but I think it's a con really.

Additionally if you have an oversized car ( we were 4 adults and 4 cases driving in from a stay in new York so we had a large suv thing) the car won't fit in their garage. It has a max height of 6 ft which thanks to pipes etc internally is maybe 5ft 10. Our car is about 6ft 2. Thankfully theres a car park behind the stone cottage on the main road and we negotiated with them... And they were cheaper.

Overall a lovely stay. Got charged accidentally for parking but was resolved before we were even on the main road.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twistedpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments about Georgetown Suites and our employees. We pride ourselves on our friendly service, so I'm glad you were able to experience that. We do have height restrictions on our parking garages, and they are listed on our website. I'm glad you were able to find an alternate location for your taller vehicle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    426
    141
    49
    30
See reviews for
339
246
44
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Thankfully, this hotel was already booked, as we would not have found it being tucked away off the street if we were just looking. Good value for room although the parking is a bit steep, thanks to tripadvisor however we had a voucher for $15 off the parking which only made it $15 a night to park. Thank you tripadvisor. If you walk down the street you can get on the tour bus around Washington, which is a must if you wish to see everything. The reception staff were great and could not be more helpful, good business centre, good room, spacious and clean and good breakfast with a nice selection of foods including hot bacon, cheese and egg rolls. A very nice touch was the coffee machine in the lounge area serving unlimited coffee etc all day long. A very good hotel in an excellent location, would definately come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel location was great. Only a minute away from Georgetown's main street. The location was conveniently tucked away, so there was no excess noise pollution. Lincoln memorial park was not too far away, about 20 minutes by foot.

The room (suite) was well maintained, plenty of space and clean. Everything we needed was there. The internet connection was fast and reliable. The only downside was the ventilation noise during winter. It can get quite noisy. The main door too needs a quick fix because it does not shut quietly without slowly closing it.

The service level was expected. Fast, responsive and friendly.

The continental breakfast assortment was good. Enough variety for the day's start. However, some items could be left out or better quality products procured (the hard boiled eggs and mozzarella stick) because the quality was too synthetic. The availability of hot beverages all day was definitely a plus.

Overall, the hotel was consistent and quality very good. Would definitely recommend it and would be glad to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heilouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We could not have found a more convenient location to end our bicycling trip from Pittsburgh to Washington, DC. After one carefully takes the C&O Towpath/trail to its near end (at the end of lock 2 just before lock 1) to 29th Street and turns right, the hotel in one block down on the right. There couldn't be a better location with the added plus of M Steet nearby with its shops and restaurants.
The suite was spacious and reasonably modernized with a small kitchen. We thought this was a pretty good choice. A thunderstorm struck just after our arrival and caused a water leak in the hall outside of our room and flooding of our bathroom floor. We mopped up the floor with our bath towels and notified the front desk. Someone promptly came up and suctioned the water and brought new towels. We thought that was very good service.
Then, we noticed the toilet was wobbly and loose and the air conditioner fan ran all night, but the bedroom did not cool down. The next morning, we informed the front desk and when we returned from touring, everything was fixed and we enjoyed the rest of the stay.
The evening before our departure, I noticed one of the diet Cokes I had placed in the refrigerator was icy. I immediately checked and turned down the control that had been turned to high. I noticed I was too late because two of the diet Cokes had exploded. C'est la vie!
We had a great vacation and enjoyed our stay anyway. With a little more training of their staff to proactively prevent the above experiences, I think the Georgetown Suites could easily be marketed to cyclists making the Pittsburgh to DC trek with one one modification. The bikes need to be allowed in the guests' suite. We have stayed at Hiltons and Westins and have always kept our bikes in our room. Biking is becoming increasing more popular. The bikes are expensive and easily stolen out of garages in large cities. Advertising this accommodation in the Greater Allegheny Passage/C&O Towpath Trail Book would be good for business! The hotel is a good value for the area.
Steven and Diana

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 601 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is very well located just off Georgetown's main street. Buses are a short walk away and further 10 minutes or so will find the Foggy Bottom Metro station. The suites are big, bright, clean and have a full kitchen although they are probably overdue for a renovation. Breakfast is included and it's about chain-hotel average. Parking is available on site but costs a hefty $30 / day premium. The wireless internet worked well and the staff were friendly and helpful. Parking aside, the clincher for this hotel is excellent value for money considering the location and facilities.

Room Tip: Much more economical parking is available at other nearby garages - all within a short walk of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is not a elegant place to stay, but rather a really practical one. The rooms all have full kitchens, which make it possible to have breakfast as well as other simple meals in the hotel, rather than having to go out to restaurants all the time. In addition, the hotel offers breakfast (included) in a breakfast area by the lobby. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms clean and the amenities pleasant. My only complaint would be the dark, rather old-looking hallways. The hotel is also well located: just three blocks off M Street, the main street in the Georgetown, so you are in walking distance to many restaurants, shops and even the bus stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEK-PTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room here was fantastic. Very large, with a comfortable king size bed. The kitchen facility was a great help and the complementary breakfast was excellent! The staff were all very friendly and helped us out a number of times with finding our way to attractions. Would definitely stay again, just wish there was a pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#117 of 141 in Washington DC
54 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
532 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,483 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
231 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Property: Georgetown Suites
Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing