We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood”
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #80 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
328 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is in a great neighborhood; perfect for a stay in Washington DC. You can do some sighseeing during the day and in the evening come back to this neigborhood for bars, dining and to sleep. The hotel is average. I liked the fact that you can cook your own dinner in the room. I am not impressed by the service. We needed to change rooms (no additional costs, which is good!), because the bed was too old and bended. Be careful and check at check-in!

Room Tip: Choose a king size bed, those are less older than the queen size ones. Choose a room with your own k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    418
    140
    49
    30
See reviews for
329
244
43
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We loved staying here. We received a very friendly welcome upon arrival, and lots of useful advice about how to get around and where to go. The room was huge, clean and comfy and we made use of the laundrette, gym and free breakfast all of which were great. The location is lovely too - right in the middle of Georgetown, near to all the bars and restaurants, and also near the waterfront and the canal. A really wonderful place to stay, particularly for the reasonable price - hoping we get the chance to head back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked a studio through a Travelzoo for $99 a night and half off parking during your stay. Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the hotel was in the middle of Georgetown, only a few steps from all the dining and shopping, and the waterfront! The front desk was extremely helpful, upgrading me to a one bedroom upon learning it was my first visit to GS. They also gave me several excellent restaurant suggestions (Sea Catch!). Although the elevators are a little slow, the room more than made up for it! The one bedroom has a full kitchen, HUGE walk-in closet in the entryway ( seriously could be another bedroom!), a spacious living and dining area with two couches, dining room table and flat screen TV. This came in handy when I wanted to sleep but my other half wanted to watch sports! There is a good sizes double vanity bathroom with above average shampoo, soap, etc. The bedroom is separate with plenty of space for storage and a delightfully comfortable bed and another flat screen. There are plenty of windows to allow natural light in to make it feel more comfortable. In the morning, we were able to take advantage of the free breakfast before heading to the game, which is more than your typical cereal and Danishes. We ate a hearty egg and bacon biscuit, but they had a good selection (even at ten o'clock!). Although the metro is a good walk, it's not unbearable. The room service was prompt and detailed. The only negative that I can mention is that there was construction going on outside our window, so we were woken up by beeping trucks fairly early during the week, but really, you will get that type of noise in any hotel located on the main drag.

Overall, will definitely consider staying here again when visiting DC!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the interior, probably a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessPurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel provided us with everything we needed on our 3 night trip to Washington. The rooms are large, clean and furnished with all the things you expect - large screen TV, free internet connection and a comfy bed. We made use of the kitchen which was equipped with a good fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker and pots. The only criticism is that there is a woeful lack of cutlery and utensils. Luckily I had a swiss army knife to cut up veggies and meat.
The staff are friendly, professional and helpful e.g. arranging transport to Baltimore Airport, directions, etc. An added bonus is the discount to the local cinema complex which is only 5 minutes walk towards the river.
There are so many dining options as well as a Trader Joe's supermarket nearby. Foggy Bottom metro station is an easy 10 minute walk and the tourist bus is at the end of the street. For shoppers, Georgetown is everything you could want in mid to high end retailers.
The buffet breakfast had a wide range of choices including fresh fruit, bagels a number of different cereals though these were a little too sugary for our tastes. A good range of twinnings teas and a 24hour coffee machine were also appreciated.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends planning a trip to the Capitol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks so much for your detailed review! Your tips about the cinema and the grocery store will surely come in handy for others coming to visit Georgetown. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Loved our stay at the Georgetown suites, very spacious suite with separate bedroom. Bed very comfy and room spotless.
Close to harbour and Georgetown shopping with lovely restaurants nearby and quirky shops.
15 minute walk to the metro at Foggy Bottom or a quick taxi ride.
Reception staff were very welcoming and offered assistance without been pushy like some hotels.
Would stay there again if in Washington

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneysg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for posting about your recent experience at Georgetown Suites. I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly and that you took advantage of our great Georgetown location. We appreciate your business and hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have stayed at Georgetown Suites Harbor with my husband in October/ 2012. There was a great experience! The Hotel is located in the best neighborhood in Washington D.C. You can walk on the streets and feel the good things. The Hotel is a little old but, with a old fashion charm. The room is huge, equipped with a little kitchen and a bathroom with bath. The only problem is that the windows aren’t acoustics and, the noise from outside is big. There are two viaducts next the hotel. So, at night, to sleep was a little be hard! The breakfast is ok!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the city. Or book the Georgetown Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A large, hotel with ultra modern suites,professionally staffed reception area and very conveniently located in a premier historic area of Washington.
Restaurants & shops are nearby and a shuttle bus connects to the very efficient Metro.
A generous "Continental " breakfast is included and the business centre with free,rapid internet access and printer was a huge asset for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 231FrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Property: Georgetown Suites
Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing