We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too bad - really bad”
Review of Georgetown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Suites
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a review particularly about the 29th street location (G'town suites has two hotels in G'town). I have stayed at both places several times, and both hotels are way overdue for a renovation. But if you like the 80s charme and don't mind cooking your pasta on a quarter century old stove, the 30th street location is actually OK. Big rooms and all basic amenities available. But the "Harbor front" location is just plain bad. Dirty, broken, smelly; with a matching attitude from staff (stains on floor, broken door knobs, filthy carpets, broken bulbs, chipped cairs/desks, corridors that had the pleasure of soaking up 25 years of cooking smell, room doors with 2 inch gaps, windows that don't slide open, and staff that just don't seem to care.) Although their staff move between locations, their attitude seem to be worse on 29th street. The locations are fantastic, and Georgetown is obviously a great place to stay, but it deserves better than this. Especially for long term stays, and for $200+ a night, G'town suites on 29th street is just plain awful.

Room Tip: 7th floor on 30 th street location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thanks for sharing your comments. I'm so sorry you didn't have a good experience at Georgetown Suites Harbour. We treat both our buildings as one hotel, and we have one staff to work both buildings. I aploogize if you found the staff anything less than friendly. We like to pride ourselves on our personalized customer service. I'm sorry you didn't experience that. I would love to hear from you to get details on the room you stayed in, so we can follow up on the maintenance issues listed. Please fee free to email me directly Pam@georgetownsuites.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 995 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

we stayed two nights here while in town for the George Washington Regatta. I liked the small kitchen as i had brought food to feed our crew and needed a stove and frig and the dishwasher was a big plus! The bed was comfortable! our view was a busy street and a dumpster but we were only about a block from the boat house and so it was all good. we were given on check -in coupons to several restaurants, if you bought one entree you got one free! We used our coupon at the blue moon and it was an excellent choice! the rooms could use a little updating but it was clean and comfortable. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on Georgetown Suites. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our two for one dining card. We like being able to offer this discount as a way to encourage our guests to support the local restuarants in Georgetown. We hope you will stay with us next time you are in DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The location is just perfect, steps away from famous M street of Georgetown and a short ride to downtown DC and all attractions (take the circular bus from M street). The rooms are spacious, spotless clean, kitchen has everything you need. Two LCD TVs, on ein the living room and the other is in the bedroom, so that my husband can stay up all night watching TV while I can have a good night sleep. The bed and pillows are from the Heaven, so soft and gentle. The staff at the front desk is very helpful and always smiing. Breakfast has many varities (only negative thing eas the small size of the breakfast room), served all day complimentary coffee and tea at the lobby. What else can I say, everything was perfect and I felt like I am at home. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and loved our location in the heart of Georgetown. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in the 30th Street building. The decor is a bit dated, no-frills, but there are so many good features to the hotel that I could overlook that.

The location is fantastic and I liked being on a quiet side street, a half block from the action.

I was fortunate to be upgraded to a one-bedroom suite, which was huge. The bed was great, shower perfect. The TV worked really well and the free wi-fi was excellent.

There was a huge crowd at breakfast, so it was a little cramped. I landed up taking the food up to the room and no one objected.

The staff members were all very attentive and friendly. I used the business center to check e-mail, which was convenient.

The only down side was the long wait for the elevators.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks for sharing your comments on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your room upgrade, and noticed our friendly staff. We are working hard to constantly update the furnishings and decor in our suites. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent location, on quiet street but two minutes to M Street and within easy walking distance to the centre. Grocery store and public transport on the corner.

Room was very large and well-equipped, well cleaned almost every day for the week I stayed there. Gym is small and not very well equipped (best to go very early). Business centre also small but this never posed a problem.

Decor was dated and made it look like an old college dorm (although not in the rooms). Staff were OK, competent enough and neither friendly nor unfriendly.

Quite expensive for a week but given the location and facilities it might be hard to do better. Probably just about value-for-money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CypLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The lobby looks like a college dorm room, but the rooms are so huge that makes up for it. We had 1 bedroom with a king bed and a full bathroom, a separate room with a double bed, a full bathroom in the hallway, living room and full kitchen. It is perfect if you are traveling with a family or large group. The rooms are very clean and there are even Bath & Body Works products in the rooms. The people who work at the front desk are pretty incompetent and overcharged us for parking so just double check your bill. There is a continental breakfast that I did not take advantage of. The rooms are not super modern, but immaculately clean and perfect for our needs with all of the space. We could walk to everything in Georgetown so that was very convenient. There is no valet or taxi service, but taxis were were easy to hail just by calling first or walking to the end of the block.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience at Georgetown Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize about the billing error, and am glad it could be corrected quickly. It sounds lke you took advantage of our spacious suites and great location. We hope to have you back as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I reserved a suite with a kitchen for 3 nights there. First night my wife called down to the front desk to request some pots for cooking and boiling her tea. The person she talked to was rude and only sent up one pot. On the last night we both seen a mouse. So she called down to the desk again and they moved us to another room. That morning we find a cockroach in our bath tub. This will be the last time we ever stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atedeschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrswelliver, Director of Sales at Georgetown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly service, I"m sorry that you found our staff anything less than friendly during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#120 of 141 in Washington DC
61 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,614 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
596 reviews
Dupont Circle
Georgetown Inn West End
Georgetown Inn West End
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
120 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Suites

Address: 1111 30th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $124 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Georgetown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Suites is an all suite hotel located in the heart of Georgetown. Georgetown is a quaint neighborhood in Washington, DC with lots of unique boutiques and restaurants. We offer studio, one and two bedroom suites along with 2 bedroom townhouses and a 3 bedroom penthouse. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast daily, free wireless internet and free local calls. Georgetown Suites consists of two buildings, located a half block apart. Our Harbour Building is across the street from the Washington Harbour complex on the Potomac, which offers several waterfront dining options and a brand new outdoor ice rink. Our 30th Street building, is right off of M Street, just steps from the many shops and restaurants in Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Georgetown Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing