We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, it was great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The service was very friendly and prompt, the rooms very nice and clean, and the valet very convenient. The location is just superb. A minute's walk and you are at the White House, and a few minutes later (maybe 10-15) you can be on the Mall.

Negatives? It was 100 deg. F in DC and the room never really got cool enough. I should have complained, but I thought that when the sun went down it would get cool. It didn't. If you have that problem, make sure to tell the front desk.

I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zipp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,200)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,633 - 2,639 of 3,200 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

Even if the French theme may go overboard at times - I think this hotel is really good. Charming and attentive service. Rooms are well taken care of and well equipped. Comfortable bed. Fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JakobBengt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I stayed at the Sofitel to break up a business trip and I couldn't have been more pleased with the change of pace that the Sofitel offered. The furnishings are refreshingly modern and my room was fantastic. It was extremely quiet with plenty of space. The beds are soft and perfect for sleeping in. The bathroom was fantastic with a glassed in shower and nice bathtub with provided robe. I never ever feel comfortable enough to take a bath in hotels - but didn't hesitate in this hotel. Wish I could have extended my stay here and is one of the few hotels in DC that I will continue to keep booking.

Perfect location - within walking distance to the Old Ebbitt Grill for dinner and close enough for walking to the White House and the monuments.

Also, my room ended up being the handicap accessible room and it had a doorbell and extra shower without a step-up.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank msucheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Just wrapped up the weekend in D.C. at the Sofitel. Have stayed at several Sofitel's previously (mostly in France and Asia).

Pro's

- Location is fantastic. Right around the corner from the White House, walking distance to the Mall (close to Washington Monument), close to Reagan National Airport, restaurants, banks, convnience stores all nearby. Also a quiet part of the city so light sleepers need not worry here.

- Hotel Bar - when they want to Sofitel really can design a great hotel bar (Chicago Sofitel is great example and this was no exception). Nice vibe, great (and friendly) service, big plus for the hotel.

- Service throughout the hotel was very good. Check-in, Concierge, Bellman, Restaurant, Bar -- all provided great service.


Con's

- Amenities in the room were minimal (shampoo, conditioner, hand soap). At $350 per night I would have at least thought they would give a toothbrush and some mouthwash.

- Bed was sunken; woke up with a backache.


Overall, I may try the Hyatt next time as it was nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gilgameshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel on Aug 3-5 for an anniversary getaway. I booked this hotel in particular because it was rated #1 on Tripadvisor at the time I planned the trip. The hotel was very clean and the bathroom did not disappoint. The separate tub and shower were wonderful and the bed was more comfortable than ours at home. My husband's only complaint was that we did not have a top sheet for the bed, just a comforter, and the size of the room was a bit small. I joined the Sofitel member program thinking that would get us an upgraded room, as advertised, but apparently you have to be a "gold" member to receive most of the perks including the upgraded room.

The location could not have been better. There was a Starbucks on the opposite corner and it was only a short walk to the Mall area. Old Ebbit's Grill is about a block away and the food there was excellent and reasonably priced. We really did not see anyone in the hotel restaurant, but that may have been because it was during the weekend and the hotel seemed to cater to a more business crowd. We ordered late night dessert (cheesecake and chocolate mud pie) for room service one evening and it was really good and quick.

Overall, it was a nice stay. I had hoped our anniversary would have been acknowledged since it was mentioned when I booked, but I guess we are not that lucky when it comes to occassion upgrades, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitywhisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The hotel room is nicely decorated and is a good size for a big city hotel room. Bedding is nice and the bathroom has a separate glass shower and bath tub.

Location is very close to the White House. I found that I could walk to most places in 15-20 min or easily take the metro. The metro stop is only one block away.

I joined the Sofitel frequent guest program prior to my stay. My room was automatically upgraded, there was welcome note from the mgr, a coupon for a free glass of champagne at the bar, and a small box of chocolates to greet me. All very nice touches!

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KrisMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Simply the best hotel in the area, rooms, food , service and location were all 1st class.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank calimerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,896 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $238 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing