We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UH-MAY-ZING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Did not want to get out of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in...in a hotel!!! just arrived from Alaska...at night...slept until noon the next day...stayed for 3 days...absolutely beautiful hotel and hospitable staff

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brumbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,200)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,470 - 2,476 of 3,200 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed at the Sofitel DC for a week while on business and had a very enjoyable stay. Here are the pros and cons, as I saw them:

-Rooms: The rooms are very elegant and well appointed. I had a King size bed and there were individual reading lights on both sides of the bed. For a hotel in a historic district, the rooms were also larger than you might expect.

-Location: The hotel has a great location near the White House and downtown DC area.

-Value: I booked on Priceline.com and got a great rate.

-Room service: The hotel has an extensive (but expensive) room service menu. They also had one of the fastest room service delivery times that I've encountered.

-Dining areas: There is an outdoor bar area that was very nice.

-Friendliness: All of the staff was very friendly.

Cons:

-One of the individuals answering the room service line had some difficulty understanding English.

-I had an individual mistakenly knock on my door as I was getting ready for bed to deliver some toiletries that were apparently supposed to be delivered to another room.

-Unlike most hotels of this caliber, there was no complimentary newspaper at the door in the morning.

-Accessing the Internet was an additional $9.95/day.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would gladly return, particularly given the price. However, the hotel does fall a short of doing the "little things" that would earn it a 5-star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JPinJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here, the first time we liked the hotel but had some problems with poor service, especially at breakfast. This time, service at breakfast was still not quite there but was much better than on our last visit.

I would not hesitate to return here and have already recommended this hotel to friends. The rooms are lovely, spacious, very well equipped and very quiet. The bathrooms are luxurious and the food is excellent. Rates vary but generally you can get really good value for money.

What tops it off though is the location - one block from the White House so everything is on your doorstep!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We got this hotel from Hotwire. What a score! We LOVED this hotel! Everything was amazing! Aftewr driving 10 hours to get to DC we arrived to a comfortable room with a cozy bed, flat screen TV & more! Excellent location to all the sights and restaurants. The only thing I could complain about was the breakfast....too expensive for what you get, but that's pretty standard at most hotels these days. The toast came cold & unbuttered and the butter was also cold so it didn't eeven melt on the toast. When we asked for softer butter and warm toast they came back with the same toast re-toasted, so now it's burnt and the same cold butter. Otherwise, a great experience overall! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. We'd booked through Expedia and had a reasonable deal for the time of year. We booked the "Chic Picnic" offer which gave us a guaranteed late check out time of 4pm (useful as we had a late night flight and the hotel was busy) and a delicious hamper of picnic lunch.

What we liked....

- Location was very convenient for the downtown sights and we liked that we could walk to so many places.
- Our room was quiet (10th floor and a corner room so lots of windows) and very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
- Bathroom was large with a tub as well as a big shower and the bathroom products were L'Occitane.
- Good housekeeping.
- Helpful concierge and front desk.
- "Business centre" with PCs useful for checking email or making online bookings.

What we didn't like....

- Service for breakfast in the restuarant was slow and the hostess not very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel for the 4th of July weekend. We found the Sofitel provided us a great experience at a reasonable price. The location was ideal being near to all of the festivities and the room was well appointed and very comfortable. There is great dining nearby as well so much is within walking distance. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooHereandthereoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Washington Sofitel is my favorite hotel in my favorite city. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are on the small side but definitely comfortable and romantic. The bathrooms are spa-like. It is located near the White House, metro station, and museums. What more can you ask for? Although it can be expensive, watch for deals on Hotwire.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,896 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $238 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing