We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cherry Blossoms almost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Cherry Blossoms almost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Well there were a few glitches when we checked in but they were taken care of. The room was clean and spacious. I would return t this hotel again. The staff was responsive once I told them of the problems


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Iaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do everything in our power to set up a perfect stay from the start, but we are also aware that some unexpected elements can impede this, and we pride ourselves in adapting and being flexible to remedy any situation that involves the satisfaction of our guests. I am pleased to know you found our Ambassadors to be responsive and attentive to your needs and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,088
    787
    152
    63
    19
See reviews for
665
1,287
185
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We just got back from a 6 night stay here that was very nice. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful. The beds and pillows were perfect for weary traveler folks like us. Only complaint were the slippery marble floors in the bathroom. We ate breakfast and dinner at their Ici Urban Bistro- breakfast we felt was expensive but the dinners were very good. Excellent location - 2 blocks from the White House, easy walk to Metro and Old Ebbit Grill, The Hamilton and POV lounge at the W. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 1102 has a view of the top of the Washington monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital. I am pleased that you seemed to make use of your six nights getting to know the local restaurants in our neighborhood - there are so many! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The rooms are very comfortable, with very good bathrooms and good towels. The bed was very comfortable, and the pillows soft and supportive. All told, the hotel is in a good location, just across from the White House and represents a good base to visit DC from.

Room Tip: I cannot help on choosing a room, but they should all be to a high standard of finish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. I am glad you enjoyed the accommodations of the hotel. I invite you to contact me directly regarding your comment on breakfast as we would be interested to know any details of your experience so that we can continue to work towards providing flawless service and delicious meals in iCi Urban Bistro.

Thank you,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The sofitel is relaxed, yet sophisticated with a nice atmosphere and in an ideal location. Dinner in the restaurant was good without being mesmerized by the service which was disappointing (considering the none busy period i dined at). The rooms are pretty much perfect, good sized and even had a bath which you dont always get at inner city hotels. The gym was on the small side but adequate by making up for the lack of space with multi-purpose machines. Free bananas and headphones was a nice touch. Would definitely recommend/stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. Our guest feedback is essential to us to continue to develop and deliver the luxury service that we are known for. We have shared your dining experience with Patrick Lacassagne, our Food and Beverage Manager, who will be sure to reinforce the quality of service with our Ambassadors in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back and I am confident you will enjoy your stay even more thoroughly next time!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Sofitel hotel, again we were not disappointed lovely room and fantastic food, very close to the White House and the Metro. Anna even sorted the room we stayed before... Everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electrician22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
It was such a treat to have you back again!!! 614 will forever be your room to us! We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the upcoming rennovations and I am confident you will still find new things to visit in the city. You still have the Dulles Air and Space Museum to see next time. Take care until then.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me and my partner have just arrived from a 3-night stay at Sofitel Washington D.C. Location was excellent, as we were in D.C. to watch Cher concert and wanted to stay in a place close to main tourist attractions and the Verizon Center (where the concert took place). Metro station is just 1 ½ block away. We arrived on Thursday morning (around 08:30 am) and all we wanted was a room after a long flight from Rio. Surprisingly, we didn´t even have to ask for an early check-in. The front desk receptionist was happy to inform that our room was already ready for us!! By the way, the whole staff of the hotel was very, very friendly and helpful during our stay. Room was very spacious, with a very comfortable king size bed. Bathroom was very spacious as well. The only downsizes were that one day they forgot to clean the room (we didn´t have fresh towel nor soap the next morning) and the free internet wifi is very slow sometimes. Overall, these small downsizes did not spoil our excellent stay and I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to D.C.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilian_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Muito obrigada! I hope you enjoyed the concert! As you experienced, we are located a convenient walk to the Verizon Center for concerts and local sporting events. I look forward to welcoming you back to Washington D.C. and thank you again for choosing us.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice and spacious. Very handy for White House and The Monument. Anna Guest Services was extremely helpful in clarifying things. Also Carlos the HR Manager was always friendly and obliging. Of course the bell boys were exceptional, especially Chris. Wasn't wrapped about having coffee and tea available in the morning till 10.30 in the bar. Also think paper cups were tacky. There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Would be good to have the coffee and tea available all day. Restaurant was quite small and had to wait in the bar at times and a bit cramped.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you and assist you throughout your stay. On your next stay, we will be able to send you a complimentary coffee maker or tea kettle to the room so that you can enjoy a hot drink outside of the hours of the complimentary morning service in Le Bar. That said, we can also always provide you with a proper coffee cup, we have many guests that like the convenience of a to-go option as they head out in the mornings. I hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing