We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Europe next to the White House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great hotel. Staff manages to be both friendly and professional. Wonderful location near the White House. The room and bathroom were both large, well-designed and comfortable.

The only imaginable downside for Americans - no coffee in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 359kateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. We pride ourselves in providing luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown, close to all of the main attractions and many of our best local neighborhoods. For your next stay, please request a coffee maker for the room. We have them available for guests who prefer to make coffee at their leisure in the room, instead of taking advantage of the complimentary coffee and tea services offered daily in Le Bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I booked for 2 nights here and enjoyed the location. 100 yards from a tube station and within reach of most important sights in DC. The White House is just 30 seconds walking. The lady at reception gave me an upgrade to a suite which was a very nice gesture. Breakfast was a bit odd, there was no buffet, but an a la carte menu. I was a bit disappointed there was no buffet to chose from, but the food I chose was very good and of very high quality and fresh. Great staff. I will return here when in DC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our a la carte breakfast menu to be fresh and delicious. We hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting our Nation's Capital!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank boboq
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel in DC. We expected quality but the extra touches won our accolades. Our room was small but elegant; mirror door closet , with ample and well designed storage, made the room feel spacious. Quality comfortable furniture, soft decor, well placed lighting ensured our sense of calm and relaxation. The Bose radio and Keurig coffee maker were wonderful accoutrements hubby and I both thoroughly appreciated.Bathroom,with black marble flooring, separate glass enclosed shower, bathtub, two plush robes and slippers, Lanvin cremes, shower gel etc added to the ambience.Staff were pleasant, responsive.We enjoyed the bar lounge where coffee was dispensed daily in the AM. Lastly, the the handsomely decorated well appointed small but complete gym with the highest quality of treadmills, ellipticals, weights ,floor mats, weighted balls and more, the headphones provided and bowls of fresh fruit for post workout had me returning daily for a good workout. Friendly,responsive staff...
All this makes this hotel one we want to return to again .... A perfect base for our daily sightseeing ventures into our capital city.. One observation, this is not a hotel for families with children,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington. Traveling from Chicago, hopefully you were here on one of milder days to enjoy a little escape from the Chicago cold! I hope you will come see us in the upcoming seasons- Cherry Blossom time is a lovely time in the city. You will find that on the weekends we do, in fact, welcome many families, and have numerous children programs in place to make our "petit" guests feel just as welcome!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Enjoyed our first-time, short stay. Contemporary and tasteful. Pleasant and helpful staff. Room service efficient and food tasty. Location very nice --- easy walk to several nice restaurants. Did not note a nearby restaurant good for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for giving us a chance as your hotel of choice in Washington D.C! As you mentioned there are several restaurants in our neighborhood, as well as numerous others in nearby neighborhoods like trendy Logan Circle and Chinatown. As for breakfast, we offer a delicious a la carte option in iCi Urban Bistro, and otherwise, my favorite "breakfast all day" option is Ted's Bulletin on 14th Street. It is an upscale diner with homemade poptarts, delicious tomato soup and the best milkshakes in Washington to top it off! I hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Consistency of product and customer experience seem to be the unstated hallmarks of Sofitel's brand and the Washington DC property is no exception. Great service from the front door to the front desk, spotlessly clean property, and great amenities. Location could not be better for exploring the Museums on the Mall and the nearby restaurants. Rooms are on the small size but more than make up for it in cleanliness, comfort, great bathrooms with separate showers and tubs, and very clean fixtures. Would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to AccorHotels! As a seasoned Sofitel traveler, it means a lot to know that you found the familiar luxury accommodations at our property to live up to your expectations from our sister hotels. We hope to welcome you back to Washington soon, and thank you again for choosing us.

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,146 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#68 of 142 in Washington DC
3,100 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,288 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $213 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing