We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay Minor Hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay Minor Hiccups”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Overall I had a wonderful 4 day stay at the Sofitel - however there were a few negatives. The water pressure in the shower was sub par, personally I like to feel the water instead of just getting wet. Secondly, the t.v. in the room was pitiful. There were only a handful of HD channels, the other channels had static, and the remote worked half the time. Lastly, parking is $52 per night.
The positives - the staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. I cannot rave about them enough, everyone I came into contact with seemed like they genuinely cared. The room is comfortable and clean. The location is excellent, you are a few blocks away from EVERYTHING. You can be in front of the White House in less than 5 minutes.
I would definitely come back or recommend this hotel. I also suggest trying the "bread basket" - "Le Parisan". Loved the fresh croissants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CakesALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am thrilled to know that you appreciated our personal service, and that you enjoyed our location and your dining experience. I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your in room amenities. I am not sure if you spoke to any of our Ambassadors about the complications with your television and remote, but our Engineering team is always available to assist should something like this occur. I apologize for the inconvenience and can assure you that this is atypical of our standards. We will be sure on your next visit to offer you a flawless stay.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    790
    153
    63
    20
See reviews for
667
1,293
185
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel for a trip to Washington, easy walking distance of numerous memorials and museums. The hotel staff are very friendly, very large room, turn down service at night with free bottles of water and free coffee served each morning in the bar in takeaway cups, we took ours back to the room. The lifts are excellent , we were on the 9th floor and never had to wait more then a minute for a lift to go up or down.The coinierge service was excellent and full of knowledge and helpful tips.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steveburton1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital! I am happy you were able to enjoy our convenient location as well as our accommodations. We certainly hope you will be able to join us again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I love Sofitel. The Sofitel experience is worth the money they chatge. This hotel is ideally situated, close to absolutely everything. There is a subway station nearby. Plenty of restaurants, coffeeshops and the sights of the city are all within walking distance. Next time I'm in DC, I'll stay at Sofitel.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the street. No view but very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaaage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Tack! I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Maybe for a getaway from the long Norwegian winter!?

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is in a good location near the White House. There was some confusion about my promised upgrade but the manager Matt satisfied me with a junior suite, My major complaints are about the amenities, Single sink in bathroom, small closet, not enough hangers , tiny lamp shade on huge lamp showing a lack of attention. The prices for food and drinks are outrageous and the overnight parking $44 per night! Staff was extremely nice and helpful so that made up for a lot!

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank particulartraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I am glad you were able to settle into one of our spacious junior suites, and that you enjoyed our central location, in the heart of downtown Washington D.C. Like with most city hotels, parking tends to be limited, and so we offer the convenience of in and out parking with 24 hour access to your vehicle at a price less than our neighboring luxury hotel properties. On your next visit, be sure to request a room with a large closet, and we certainly can provide you with additional hangers, just ask!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

First, I should note that the location of this hotel is excellent. A block away from the White House and walking distance (or short cab ride) to most of the DC attractions. However, what struck me the most is the service. I came for vacation with my wife and 2 kids. I booked through one of the travel websites (travelocity, I think) and I didn't realize that I booked a king room bed. The hotel stuff, seeing that we had kids, upgraded us to a suite for free without us even asking. Thank you--we had a great stay in DC and at your hotel. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As you experienced with your family, we have many services and accommodations that are perfect for children, and we very much welcome families to Sofitel. I am happy to know we were able to adapt your room type to best suit your needs, we always do what we can. For the future, I highly recommend that you call the hotel when you find a good deal on a third party website. More often than not we can match the rate, and then you can be positive that the room type is exactly what your family needs instead of having unexpected surprises on arrival! Not to mention, it is always nicer to speak to a real person who can make your stay extra special. We hope to see you again soon, with the holiday season arriving, it is just a short drive or train ride from New York to enjoy some delicious hot coco and seasonal festivities!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Washington DC. The hotel was in a nice location and access to various monuments and attraction was very good. The food at the restaurant was ok, as my pasta was undercooked but they offered me a complimentary dessert which is always a bonus. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juju-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing Sofitel for your visit to D.C. Our Executive Chef, Franck Loquet, crafts each menu item to fit the season, with only the freshest ingredients available, so I am sorry to here your entrée was anything short of spectacular. I can assure you this is atypical of an experience at iCi Urban Bistro, and do hope you will join us again on your next visit to Washington. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing