We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly, helpful staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, helpful staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October with our two children. We arrived prior to our check in time and the reception staff went out of their way to get our room sorted as quickly as possible and had us in early, which was wonderful. Room was a really good size on the 8th floor. Two double beds, large lounge area. Spacious bathroom and loads of space to put your baggage (four large suitcases). Very clean. We were there when the government shut down had just started, but the staff made sure we had other options to visit. Location is great, just a couple of blocks from the White House and easy walk around to the Lincoln Memorial, WWII Memorial, Washington Memorial, Reflective Pool etc. We also walked from the hotel up to the Capital Building, Newseum and Spy Museum (all worth a visit). For us though, the level of assistance and friendliness from the staff always make a difference and we were really well looked after here. The staff made the kids feel welcome at all times. This was the last stop on a four week trip for us so we were a little tired, thus choosing to eat breakfast and dinner at the hotel each day/night. This was an easy choice anyway because the food was so good, especially the breakfast. Great choice and even a second menu with healthier low calories choices should you wish. Concierge was great with organising taxi for us to take us and our many luggage items off to the airport. Probably only issue, was the beds were a little squishy, but still slept ok. Will definitely stay here should I visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Overall it seems you enjoyed your visit and you mentioned one of my favorite parts of the restaurant- our Delight Menu! It is menu created by our Executive Chef Franck Loquet, that focuses on calorie conscious options while not sacrificing flavor. Just like the regular a la carte menu, the Delight dishes change seasonally and are a delicious choice for healthy dining. (Plus then you can save the extra calories for those croissants!!)

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,087
    785
    152
    63
    19
See reviews for
664
1,286
185
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

At the beginning of October, I stayed 9 nights at this hotel. Here is my review:

PROS:
- warm and friendly welcome (and farewell)
- shortly after arrival, the room service brought some pralines and a bottle of water
- very clean room (including bathroom)
- airconditioning can be switched off
- although there is a 3-lane street in front of the hotel, there was no traffic at night and I slept all nights without being woken up by traffic noise or noise coming from other hotel guests.
- staff is very friendly and very helpfull
- fast internet
- Coming back to the hotel room in the evenings, a small bottle of water was placed next to the bed (but not each day).

CONS:
- nothing

This hotel belongs to the french group ACCOR; for breakfast crossiants and pain au chocolat were also offered. They were really good :-)

The hotel is in the neighborhood of the White House.

I will definitely choose this hotel again when I am travelling to Washington DC in a few weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmopolit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your extended stay in Washington D.C. I hope you will consider us your home away from home for your travels to the city and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is in a great location - the White House is only a few blocks away. It's also within easy walking distance of other attractions. There is a metro station located about a half a block away, as well. The hotel was nice, but I wouldn't say it was all that luxurious. I just didn't get any sense of luxury staying here - it was fine, I have no complaints, but nothing really gave it that luxurious feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lp617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I am happy to know you enjoyed the convenience of our downtown location. I am disappointed, however, that you did not feel the same luxury that most of our guests rave about. From our personalized service and European decor, to the delicious cuisine and Lanvin bath amenities, we pride ourselves in providing luxury accommodations for our guests. And that is not to mention the heavenly MyBeds in each guestroom! I am confident that when you return, you will have a true Sofitel experience.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was in DC for business and stayed at the Sofitel Washington DC. Beautiful hotel, courteous and helpful staff, in a great location (15th and H, NW; right by Lafayette Square, the White House, and Farragut West metro -- blue and orange lines). The food was quite good, and the ambiance on the terrace in the evening for meal and/or drinks is chic and enjoyable. Service was fabulous; when I had trouble with the wi-fi, they promptly sent up a technician who assisted me in a professional manner -- and gave me a tip of how to sign in so I wouldn't get charged a fee!
My room was quite large and very quiet -- probably because I was not facing the street. Tastefully decorated.
Comfortable accommodations, would probably stay here again the next time I am in town for business in DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalDenizen8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your business trip to Washington D.C. We strive to provide luxury accommodations to suit your professional needs, as well as a comfortable environment to relax when time permits! Consider joining Le Club, our complimentary loyalty program, so that you may start accruing points and earning benefits for all of your travels.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time. Good location, nice bar. Clean room friendly service.
Room has a nice view of a roof and air conditioner. Next time will make sure to ask for a room with a street view. Rooms are quiet

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel Washington D.C. I hope we will remain your hotel of choice when you visit the city, and definitely do not hesitate to book a luxury king room next time so you have a view of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel, staff was friendly and attentive, and is in a good location in Washington DC, walking distance from the White House and all the monuments.
our room was not huge, but well presented and decorated.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovecraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to our Nation's Capital! I hope you enjoyed touring the city, and that you will join us again soon.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing